Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 59

Thread: Playing TS files with mvpmc

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    151
    Hi Martin,

    I think we need to bribe Sub (sorry, donate) for the TS skip functionality -- the speed is just a dream and I'm convinced that sound and picture are better as well! The ability to boot into emualation is just the icing on the cake...

    @Sub -- any suggestions?

    Late Regards from Frankfurt,
    Dane
    - Dane

    Cheap Medion Minitower, but it's quiet enough
    - Windows 10x64
    - Digital Devices dual DVB-C PCIe
    - TerraTec Cinergy C PCI HD on a PCIe x1 Adapter (yes, it works!)
    - Kodi front end, NPVR back end

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,879
    Quote Originally Posted by daneo View Post
    Hi Martin,

    I think we need to bribe Sub (sorry, donate) for the TS skip functionality -- the speed is just a dream and I'm convinced that sound and picture are better as well! The ability to boot into emualation is just the icing on the cake...

    @Sub -- any suggestions?

    Late Regards from Frankfurt,
    Dane
    I hope so too but considering how much things have improved since I asked about improved TS support in just one year http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?t=30098 I am pleased with the progress.

    Martin

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    3,022
    We have finally got around to playing with SD .ts recordings with 1.3.11 using the <MvpTranscodeTS>false</MvpTranscodeTS> option & mvpmc.

    One very odd observation we have come across so far is if we play back a SD .ts recording on the MVP the timeline is showing as 1 minute (this has happen with all recordings tested so far) but on the PC the timeline shows up correctly we can skip (both back & forward) perfectly. If we rename the recording to .mpg then on the MVP it show the correct timeline & skip fine, Huh?? What is the difference with the way it handles (.ts) mpg's & .ts files?

    Damn, on reading this thread I now think it is probably a GB problem not passing the information onto mvpmc. Hmm wonder if I set up a postprocessing batch file to rename from .ts to .mpg if the recording will still show up in the recording screen? Time to play some more I guess.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,879
    In the other thread on this http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?p=296151 sub said "I did add logic to allow it to pass a .ts file through unaltered, but its still only a half-arsed solution at best. (since there is no knowledge of the stream duration or current stream position etc, and no skipping etc)."

    I can't see simply renaming it helping but I thought that was you had trouble doing that before.

    Martin

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    3,022
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    In the other thread on this http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?p=296151 sub said "I did add logic to allow it to pass a .ts file through unaltered, but its still only a half-arsed solution at best. (since there is no knowledge of the stream duration or current stream position etc, and no skipping etc)."
    Well there is something different as to how mvpmc handles (or gb passes) .mpg & .ts files as the EXACT SAME file reacts quite differently depending on the extension?

    I can't see simply renaming it helping
    But it does?? & that is what is puzzling me & making me ask stupid questions (& I guess not just excepting that "that's the way it is" <grin>)

    but I thought that was you had trouble doing that before.
    Yes it was me, but at that stage we couldn't pass .ts files straight to the mvp sub had just said he would include that function in the next version so I didn't spend much time trying to figure a way around the problem as I just decided to wait for the next version, also sub has added some new features as to how it handles transcoded .ts files so that may help. Unfortunately my development pc has decided to not recognize it's hdd at the moment so I have come to a grinding halt investigating what it will & won't do for the time being

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Carterton NZ
    Posts
    30
    I have just play around with SD .ts recordings and rename the recording to .mpg and the 2 i tried tonight stayed in the mvp recording folder and play a good time line

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,879
    Perhaps GBPVR processes them differently, but mvpmc processes mpg, mpeg, vob and ts file extensions the same way. The file is parsed and if it is a transport stream it is muxed to mpeg-ps because the MVP hardware cannot play mpeg-ts files.

    Martin

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,836
    The next version of pvrx2.exe may improve things slightly.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    3,022
    I'm finally back up & running with my development machine using an old sloooow 20Gb IDE hdd instead of my SATA drive (that is working fine in a different PC...I will never understand computer hardware) & am sort of able to play with this again.

    Quote Originally Posted by peanut View Post
    I have just play around with SD .ts recordings and rename the recording to .mpg and the 2 i tried tonight stayed in the mvp recording folder and play a good time line
    Thanks for that, indeed they are now not disappearing from the recordings screen when I rename them...thanks sub

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand
    Perhaps GBPVR processes them differently, but mvpmc processes mpg, mpeg, vob and ts file extensions the same way. The file is parsed and if it is a transport stream it is muxed to mpeg-ps because the MVP hardware cannot play mpeg-ts files.
    Thanks as well Martin, that's what I thought but wanted confirmed.

    Quote Originally Posted by sub
    The next version of pvrx2.exe may improve things slightly.
    Thanks sub.....another carrot dangling to make me look forward to the next release


    Next to write the postprocessing batch to rename .ts files.

    A quick question Martin as you seem to have done a lot of research into .ts files, what would you recommend as a program to run the .ts's through to tidy up any glitchy timelines? I had a look at tsdoctor but it isn't command line driven & I would like to do this as part of the postprocessing batch.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,879
    There is tsremux or ts4np but like tsdoctor, they don't fix the timeline, they fix or clean the parts of a ts file (pid's pat's pmt's etc) that often cause other problems. To rebuild a timeline you need to decode/encode.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •