Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: DVB-S radio - any interest?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,543

    DVB-S radio - any interest?

    I've recently done quite a bit of work (some still in progress) to make the DVB-T Radio 'engine' generic DVB rather than DVB-T specific.

    In theory I'm getting to a point where I can also support DVB-S radio although this is very much unknown territory for me as I don't have a setup I can test it on myself.

    For DVB-S only users, I'd hope support could be fairly simple although in a system with both DVB-T and DVB-S cards, it's likely to be a different can of worms (range of channels available, selecting right source for specific channel etc) and will need more work.

    Any interest?...Willing guinea pigs?...

    Cheers,
    Brian

  2. #2
    I should be updating my rig sometime in the new year and would totally be willing to be a tester. I likely won't have time or the permission (WAF) until sometime around late Jan.

    Sounds like a really good plugin !!
    _______________________________
    Drugstore_Cowboy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    454
    I would be willing to test the plugin if that was helpful.

    cheers,

    tieke
    Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H motherboard, HD6450, Athlon X2 4800+, Ninja Mini cooler, 1Gig RAM, Antec Fusion Case, 2xHauppauge HVR-3000 DVB-S, win7, 1 MVP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    3,022
    I have been waiting patiently for you to get to this stage

    So yes I would be willing to test as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,543
    OK - thanks all. I've made a start on supporting the DVB-S tuning format which, in theory, is the main difference.

    It's my birthday today combined with my wife's college graduation ceremony so I suspect my brain won't be fit for coding again until tomorrow.

    I'll try to get some basic test code together in the next week.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    SE England
    Posts
    606
    Happy Birthday Chap!

    I'd like a bit of DVB-S radio action to go with my already working DVB-T.
    Will it be a combined pluging i.e. DVB-* radio or seperate T and S versions?
    Elmo Putney

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,751
    Quote Originally Posted by bgowland View Post
    It's my birthday today combined with my wife's college graduation ceremony so I suspect my brain won't be fit for coding again until tomorrow.
    Happy Birthday Brian - You'll soon be catching up with me...

    Alex

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,543
    Thanks guys - slightly muzzy headed but back in the game.

    Quote Originally Posted by ACTCMS View Post
    Happy Birthday Brian - You'll soon be catching up with me...
    Hmmm - I think I'd have to change my pace from a gentle trot to a sprint to manage that.

    Quote Originally Posted by Elmo Putney View Post
    Will it be a combined pluging i.e. DVB-* radio or seperate T and S versions?
    The idea is to combine both - looks like I'll have to 'rebrand' the plugin as just, urrrm, 'DVB Radio' if I can get it working.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    81
    Quote Originally Posted by bgowland View Post
    Any interest?...Willing guinea pigs?...
    Count me in right now!!!

    I listen to much radio content via Galaxy 25. WRN is available to me here as is Access America (AMSAT weekly net on Wednesdays, TWiAR Saturdays and a very good FTA discussion show on Monday's).

    There are also some Muzac channels that make for a good feed into our company phone system.

    Let me know!!

    Mark
    System 1:
    Emachines W3502 Intel Celeron D 3.2GHz - NVidia 8400 series with 256MB - 1.5GB RAM - 500GB HDD
    WinTV PVR USB2 (analog video) - Pinnacle PCTV HD (ATSC) - WinXP Pro SP3

    System 2:
    Re-purposed CaptiveWorks CW3000HD 3.01GHz Dual Core Athlon 64 X2 6000+ - NVidia 6100 series with 256MB - 3GB RAM - 500GB HDD
    Hauppauge HVR-1600 (ATSC/analog video) - Twinhan 1020 - WinXP Pro SP3 - 3x MVP1000 1x M34A

    http://www.g7ltt.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,543
    Quote Originally Posted by NI2O View Post
    Count me in right now!!!
    Hi Mark,

    I've sent a private message with details.

    Cheers,
    Brian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •