Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: MediaMVP with MVPMC hangs after some time

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615

    MediaMVP with MVPMC hangs after some time

    I am running GBPVR 1.3.7 on a W2K8 server with 2 MediaMVP's. Due to the well known Vista problems which also apply to W2K8 I switched over to MVPMC (the 30/9/2008 version). This works well and snappy. Problem is however that after some time, which can be anywhere between 10 minutes and 30 minutes, the MediaMVP does not react to any key presses from the remote control. The red light acknowledges the receipt of the IR signal but nothing happens. After switching of the MediaMVP and on again everything works normal. No reboot of the MediaMVP or GBPVR is required.
    This problem does not happen with the standard Hauppaugge dongles but with those I have other problems like restarting the GUI etc.
    Has anybody an idea what is causing this problem with MVPMC?
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27,752
    Duplicate the problem and compress and upload your GBPVR logs and I will have a look to see if there is anything new. I know there is nothing specific to time, since I can go days on Vista too, but sometimes the remote can just die if you use the remote a lot to navigate in files.

    I don't really think it is mvpmc either, the MVP just has lousy networking and a few people have tried to help with client side logs and it looks like mvpmc is working ok. sub and I have spent hours on this too and there is nothing I can change on the client.

    The problem is masked a bit with the Hauppauge dongles since they will just crash and return you to the main screen if the connection fails for any reason.

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615

    Log files

    Thanks for the quick response. Attached the log files.
    Last edited by OrakelJos; 2009-09-10 at 05:43 PM.
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27,752
    Sorry it is pretty much the same situation I usually see. At 22:42:47 the heartbeat between mvpmc and gbpvr stops so the gui channel gets blocked and no keystrokes are sent. Nothing I've tried to do to the network fixes it.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,750
    I had a similar problem when I first started to use mvpmc - remote would 'die' after a few minutes. Martin has responded to several threads about this problem citing network problems as the cause, so I changed my MVP's network connection.

    It was originally connected to a cheap dumb 100/10 ten port hub. When I connected it to one of the wired ports on a netgear wireless router, the problem disappeared.

    I don't know if it was just changing to another port, moving away from the cheap hub or moving to an actual router which did the trick, but it did.

    I don't know if you have more than one hub/router you could try, or maybe you could borrow one... it's a bit of a shot in the dark, but might be worth trying.

    Alex
    (Lights-Out Celeron 2.66, 500GB, 2 x Nova-T 500, 1.4.7, XP Pro) x 2
    Laptop core2 duo client for developement.
    3 x Wired MVP & 1 x PCH A100
    WAF 99.99%
    There is absolutely no doubt that there is still fun in the learning...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615

    Switch

    One MediaMVP is connected through a 16 ports Netgear gigabit switch, the other one through a 5 ports Linksys gigabit switch. I have not yet noticed problems on the last MediaMVP but that one is not used very often.
    On the first one, the videostream just continues but the MediaMVP does not react to keypresses after a while so it is a one-sided problem.
    I will follow your suggestion and connect the first MediaMVP to a 10/100Mb router and see if that makes any difference.
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615
    Changing to a 10/100 Mb router did not solve te problem only delay the time till the MediaMVP lost heart beat. Will be continued......
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615
    Also some TCP/IP tweaks did not solve the problem. If this continues I am forced to go back to W2K3
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    276
    I wouldn't bet on it being a w2k8 problem as I get the same thing with an MVP connected via a 10/100/1000 switch to an XP server. I have 3 MVP's connected the same way and have only seen it on one of them - it is the most used though. Think I'll swap a couple and see what happens.

    Server: Ci5 2500k, 3GB, Windows Server 2012, nPVR 3.5.7. 2xWinTV-DVB-T USB, 1xWinTV-DVB-T PCI, 2 x BlackGold DVB-T, 1xPCTV290E and 1xPCTV460E on Astra 28.2 E.
    clients: RPI2, Acer R3700, PCH-A110, NUC, 3xSamsung Smart TV

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27,752
    Quote Originally Posted by trummel View Post
    I wouldn't bet on it being a w2k8 problem as I get the same thing with an MVP connected via a 10/100/1000 switch to an XP server. I have 3 MVP's connected the same way and have only seen it on one of them - it is the most used though. Think I'll swap a couple and see what happens.
    I have to assume he wants to go back because he feels the mvpmc dongle is causing the problem and wants to run with the Hauppauge dongle. He might be right.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •