Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Weather Plugin Doopler Radar

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875

    Weather Plugin Doopler Radar

    Hi,

    When viewing the Doppler radar map in the plugin, it shows Doppler radar maps for 90 minutes of radar data, however the lastest radar image is 5 hours old. When I check the doppler radar on http://weather.msn.com for zip code 49855 it shows the same start time as in the plug in for the doppler radar, but shows maps for 6 hours 30 minutes of maps.

    Example; MSN Website shows Doppler Radar from 2:58pm to 9:28pm, Weather Plugin only shows 2:58pm to 4:28pm. So last 5 hours are missing.

    Is there something I can do/change to make it show the same amount of radar information as the msn weather website (about 6 hours 30 minutes) instead of only the first 1 hour 30 minutes as the plugin is doing?

    Thank you for any input! Great plugins you have!

    Windows XP SP3, P4 3.6, 2GB,Nvidea 6600
    GBPVR 1.3.11
    Cinema Listings
    Weather
    WebCams
    BurnDVDX2
    Blue Retro Skin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    831
    I just noticed this same bug this morning. We were having rain (for the first time in ages!) and I pulled up the radar map to try to get an idea for how long the rain was going to last. The images on the screen were showing the weather front and all the rain being far to the west of here. Then I noticed the time stamps on the radar images... I was checking at about 7:00 am and the last image in the rotation was around 1:30 AM.
    E4600 Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, Win7 Pro, Nvidia GT710, HDHomeRun Prime, NPVR 4.2.4
    On a clear disk, you can seek forever...

  3. #3
    I have been watching this hoping that someone will post solution. I am having the same problem. The latest map is consistently about 5 hours old.

    Any Ideas what is goin on here?

    -Uisge

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,528
    Sorry, but the plugin developer has not been around for some time. There may have been web site changes that the plugin pulls the data from. The plugin has no control of the source of the material.
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN, USA
    Posts
    289
    Bummer. Do you know if the developer is on sabbatical or gone for good?

    I have the same issue with the radar, 5 hours behind. Also, the "current" conditions are typically 40-90 minutes behind, according to the time stamp on the display, even though I set the update time to 5 minutes in the settings.
    Last edited by baj1; 2009-03-31 at 02:41 PM.
    Server = i5-2400S 2.5GHz, 6GB RAM, 2TB & 2x 1.5TB SATA HDs ATI HD6450-512MB
    Win-DOHS! 7 Pro 64 SP1, NPVR v3.1.1
    Tuners = Hauppauge WinTV PVR-2250-MC Dual Tuner, HDHR Prime
    Clients = NMT x5 (PCH A-110 x4, A-100), XBMC on Samsung Tab 2, XBMC on PCs x2, XBMC on Linux x2, Raspbmc on Rasberry pi x2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875
    Well everyone, I can't get data for the Weather plugin anymore (did they change the website?)... how is it working for everyone else?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN, USA
    Posts
    289
    Still works for me, still behind, but still works. Could have been a temporary outage, or maybe no data for your area code.
    Server = i5-2400S 2.5GHz, 6GB RAM, 2TB & 2x 1.5TB SATA HDs ATI HD6450-512MB
    Win-DOHS! 7 Pro 64 SP1, NPVR v3.1.1
    Tuners = Hauppauge WinTV PVR-2250-MC Dual Tuner, HDHR Prime
    Clients = NMT x5 (PCH A-110 x4, A-100), XBMC on Samsung Tab 2, XBMC on PCs x2, XBMC on Linux x2, Raspbmc on Rasberry pi x2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875
    Me bad... yep its working again. I was panicing! I love this plugin, wish it had more up to date data though

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    USA - AL
    Posts
    113
    Just noticed the source code is on the wiki if anyone wants to try and tweak it.
    Hardware -- 780G -- HD3200+HD3450 -- 5000+ X2 -- 2GB RAM -- 2X HVR1600 -- 160GB + 1TB HDD

    Software -- GBPVR 1.4.7 -- Vista Business -- EVR -- ATI MPEG Codec -- FFdshow/AC3filter

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    20
    The following changes in HelperFunctions.cs fixed the 90 minute problem for me.

    Code:
        const int MAX_MAP_COUNT = 72;      // was 9;
        const int MAX_FRAME_COUNT = 72;   // was 24;
    The program limits the number of images in a weather map animation to the value of MAX_MAP_COUNT .. a value of 9 at 10 minutes per image gives 90 minutes.

    Attached is a copy of WeatherPlugin.dll based on Sept-26-2007-PVRX2WeatherPluginSource.zip from the Wiki with just the above changes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •