Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 82

Thread: Weather 2 Wishlist

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875

    Weather 2 Wishlist

    I really like your plugin a lot. I have one more request. Can you add video inset so live tv is displayed in the lower left corner when using the plugin?
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R, Win8, Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz, 6 GB (2GBx2, 1GBx2) DDR2 800, GIGABYTE GV-N220OC-1GI Video, CM Real Power Pro 550 Watt PS, HVR-2250 & HVR-1600 analog/Clear QAM, Realtek S/PDIF, Harmony 880 in MCE remote mode w/ Gestion LM Remote Keymap.
    NPVR 2.5.9 (SAF6) Cyberlink video & LAV/ffdshow Audio Filters. Skin=Default Horizontal
    Plugins: Weather
    External Apps: XBMC, Hulu, Boxee, Winamp
    Utilities:Comskip

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    I'll have to investigate on how to do this, but I can put it on the to-do list.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    3,022
    I have two items on my wishlist.

    The first one I have already mentioned a while ago, having the dates display in the format the user is accustomed to, in my case day/month/year ie. 2/10/2009 or 2/10 I did go to accuweather & on the web site they display the correct way in my browser?

    Second a popup confirm (OK CANCEL) for manual update, I have selected update a few times by mistake & there is no way out of it apart from wait until it is finished updating. This happens mostly because I have a couple of profiles that I don't have setup to display a satellite image as there is only one satellite image for the whole of NZ so I don't see any need to download the same image three times.....maybe a third wishlist item to allow it to use the same satellite image for multi-profiles without having to download it multi-times?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy View Post
    I have two items on my wishlist.

    The first one I have already mentioned a while ago, having the dates display in the format the user is accustomed to, in my case day/month/year ie. 2/10/2009 or 2/10 I did go to accuweather & on the web site they display the correct way in my browser?
    I believe I have fixed this to use the simple date system locale for the date format. I'd have to check my development machine to confirm.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy View Post
    Second a popup confirm (OK CANCEL) for manual update, I have selected update a few times by mistake & there is no way out of it apart from wait until it is finished updating. This happens mostly because I have a couple of profiles that I don't have setup to display a satellite image as there is only one satellite image for the whole of NZ so I don't see any need to download the same image three times.....maybe a third wishlist item to allow it to use the same satellite image for multi-profiles without having to download it multi-times?
    I have been meaning to do this, it just hasn't been a high priority for me to add the cancel button.

    As for downloading the same images, the profiles know nothing about the other profiles. So this would require some pretty major rewriting to just download the image once.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    nr Brighton, UK
    Posts
    713
    I really like this plugin too - thank you.

    I'd add my voice though to the date format problem - I've just downloaded and installed, and it's still in 'illogical' format (to me anyway!)
    - Silent client PVR: HDPlex HS.1 aluminium fanless case / Thin-ITX ASRock H81TM-ITX motherboard / Intel Celeron 1850T CPU / 4GB RAM / 120GB SSD / TBS6982 DBS-S2 dual-tuner card / Win10+nPVR+Plex Media Player feeding LG OLED55B6V + Anthem MRX510 AV Receiver / PMC GB1 / B&W / REL speakers.
    - Noisy NAS: Xeon / Intel mobo / 16GB RAM / FreeNAS + Ubuntu VMs on VMware ESXi + 12TB RAID
    running Plex Media Server


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    230
    Hi
    Love this plugin, I just saw that AccuWeather has released 33 languages. Is it possible to get the forecast in Swedish now?
    An example (for my location Segeltorp, outside Stockholm in Sweden):
    http://www.accuweather.com/sv/EUR/SE...uick-Look.aspx

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    Nope, I don't scrape the Accuweather webpage to get the weather data. The only thing that scrapes is the weather alerts for U.S. locations.

    I'm thinking of using a .NET language translator that uses Google Ajax Language API service. But in order to do this, I would have to up the requirement to .NET 3.5. So I'm not sure if I want to do this or not.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    3,022
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy View Post
    The first one I have already mentioned a while ago, having the dates display in the format the user is accustomed to, in my case day/month/year ie. 2/10/2009 or 2/10 I did go to accuweather & on the web site they display the correct way in my browser?
    Quote Originally Posted by scb147
    I believe I have fixed this to use the simple date system locale for the date format. I'd have to check my development machine to confirm.
    First of thanks for looking at this in the new 1.1.0.0 version & yep we are now half way there, the long dates are showing (from my point of view) the right way around now unfortunately the short dates are still (again from my point of view) back to front, I am referring to the short dates in the Overview screen & the main Forecast screen both of which are saying 1/4 at the moment (which for me is the 1st of April not the 4th of January)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy View Post
    First of thanks for looking at this in the new 1.1.0.0 version & yep we are now half way there, the long dates are showing (from my point of view) the right way around now unfortunately the short dates are still (again from my point of view) back to front, I am referring to the short dates in the Overview screen & the main Forecast screen both of which are saying 1/4 at the moment (which for me is the 1st of April not the 4th of January)
    I believe I forgot to change those dates... Let me take a look, but I'm guessing that is the problem.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,751

    Satellite animation rate

    Would it be possible to give the user control over the duration of each satellite image in Animate mode - either through a config setting or by using the left/right arrows to scroll through them (like in Map view)?

    Alex

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •