Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Default screen resolution on MVP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winsford, UK
    Posts
    610

    Default screen resolution on MVP

    Hi Martin,

    I'm using MVPMC on my MVPs (autoloaded from GBPVR) and every time I have to do a cold boot on any of my MVPs I have to get into MVPMC setup to change the screen resolution to 16:9 (all my TVs are wide screen).

    Is there anyway to set the MVPMC default to 16:9 instead of 4:3?

    Regards,

    Ray
    NPVR Version= 4.2.4_190307
    Intel i7 Quad Core 3200 + 16GB DDR2 Gigabyte Motherboard
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    BlackGold dual DVB T & S tuner
    60Gb SSD System Disk (Raid 1)
    60Gb SSD Recording Cache
    4Tb Media Store (WD Red 4Tb x 2 in Raid 1)

    Raspberry Pi2 running OSMC (Kodi v17.6) x 2
    Raspberry Pi3 B+ running OSMC (Kodi v17.6)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27,728
    If you use the Hauppauge software you should be able to store the aspect ratio in flash. If by autoload, you mean you are not using an mvpmc share then edit config.xml and add the aspect ratio,

    Code:
    <MvpmcStartupConfig>mvpmc --startup emulate --emulate ? -a 16:9 &amp;</MvpmcStartupConfig>
    otherwise edit the dongle.bin.config file

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27,728
    I should add that a 16:9 aspect ratio has nothing to do with resolution in case anyone is mislead by the subject.

    Martin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Middle of Canada
    Posts
    187
    I agree that this thread is about aspect ratio..

    But.. since the title mentions resolution..

    What is the best resolution to run the MVP at ?
    I use a 4:3 SD tv, but if you know both sets (16:9 and 4:3), could you post ?

    I convert all my video over to 640x480 mpeg currently (some sources get upconverted, some get downconverted).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27,728
    The MVP is a pretty good mpeg2 SD player so it should handle normal NTSC and PAL resolutions fine. Many older TV's can't do better than 352 480 (NTSC) anyway. Bitrate is probably more important factor here, but so is the quality of the source and the ability of the software to transcode. I have some 2.5 Mbs mpeg-ts streams that look better than 9 Mbs analog hardware captures. The crappy networking capability of the MVP will probably keep you from full MPEG MP@ML limits of 15 Mbs. I have never seen a BluRay transcode to SD that looks as good as DVD.

    Changing the original size to 640x480 is more a personal preference especially if you monkey aspect ratio flag to eliminate letter or pillar box.

    Martin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winsford, UK
    Posts
    610
    Martin,

    Thanks for that. I don't use the Hauppage software anymore and thought I had previousley set the flash to 16:9 but all my MVPs seen to default now to 4:3.

    I've edited the Mvpmc config line in my config.xml as suggested and it's fixed the annoyance

    Sorry if I confused anybody when I said "resolution".... I did mean aspect ratio.

    Regards,

    Ray
    NPVR Version= 4.2.4_190307
    Intel i7 Quad Core 3200 + 16GB DDR2 Gigabyte Motherboard
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    BlackGold dual DVB T & S tuner
    60Gb SSD System Disk (Raid 1)
    60Gb SSD Recording Cache
    4Tb Media Store (WD Red 4Tb x 2 in Raid 1)

    Raspberry Pi2 running OSMC (Kodi v17.6) x 2
    Raspberry Pi3 B+ running OSMC (Kodi v17.6)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •