Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Watch Now crashes immediately from menu

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875
    Yes, having Silverlight is a must, and having it selected as the player is too. I can think of one more thing to make sure you have it setup right. Try logging into www.netflix.com with Internet Explorer and check the "Remember me" box to create a cookie on your system. Also make sure you can play them from Internet explorer too. After you are convinced you can watch them on IE, go back to watch now in GBPVR and try it again.
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R, Win8, Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz, 6 GB (2GBx2, 1GBx2) DDR2 800, GIGABYTE GV-N220OC-1GI Video, CM Real Power Pro 550 Watt PS, HVR-2250 & HVR-1600 analog/Clear QAM, Realtek S/PDIF, Harmony 880 in MCE remote mode w/ Gestion LM Remote Keymap.
    NPVR 2.5.9 (SAF6) Cyberlink video & LAV/ffdshow Audio Filters. Skin=Default Horizontal
    Plugins: Weather
    External Apps: XBMC, Hulu, Boxee, Winamp
    Utilities:Comskip

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Louisville, KY, USA
    Posts
    7,870
    Quote Originally Posted by Snooze View Post
    Yes, having Silverlight is a must, and having it selected as the player is too.
    Has Netflix phased everyone to Silverlight now?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875
    Quote Originally Posted by whurlston View Post
    Has Netflix phased everyone to Silverlight now?
    I believe so.
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R, Win8, Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz, 6 GB (2GBx2, 1GBx2) DDR2 800, GIGABYTE GV-N220OC-1GI Video, CM Real Power Pro 550 Watt PS, HVR-2250 & HVR-1600 analog/Clear QAM, Realtek S/PDIF, Harmony 880 in MCE remote mode w/ Gestion LM Remote Keymap.
    NPVR 2.5.9 (SAF6) Cyberlink video & LAV/ffdshow Audio Filters. Skin=Default Horizontal
    Plugins: Weather
    External Apps: XBMC, Hulu, Boxee, Winamp
    Utilities:Comskip

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    18
    I have silverlight installed, selected as the player, I have IE setup to remember me on netflix and I'm able to watch netflix in IE. When I select netflix watch now from the menu it instantaneously gives the error. It doesn't even try to launch any kind of Netflix program. I've read just about every other kind of problem but nothing like mine. Did I post the correct logs?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by JavaWiz View Post
    Ok,
    1) Make sure the directory gbpvr/skin2/blue/netflix exists and contains skin.xml file.
    JavaWiz,

    I've been wrestling with a problem myself, and discovered when I did this check that the folder and file do not, in fact, exist on my system. Where can I obtain a copy to use?

    Thank you for your assistance.

    Drisanna

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    12
    Okay, I found it and put it in the proper folder. The plugin no longer crashes. However, it seems to open IE in a full screen mode that I can't get out of, and doesn't close it when I try to exit in GB-PVR. Any advice?

    Drisanna

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    12
    Okay, got that figured out too.

    Now for the question for which I REALLY want an answer. Previously I loved being able to download a movie from Netflix and then watch it later. Is there any way to record the movies now?

    Drisanna

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Louisville, KY, USA
    Posts
    7,870
    Quote Originally Posted by DrisannaH View Post
    Is there any way to record the movies now?

    Drisanna
    Not with Silverlight. Netflix used to use Windows Media Player as the base for their movie player and downloading was possible but with the new Silverlight Player, it's not. I could probably force the download but it would not be possible to play the files (separate audio and video streams) because of the DRM like it was with the WMP based player.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    18
    anybody have anymore ideas?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    18
    So I have been distracted with other problems like getting the tv portion figured out. Now I am back to the Netflix plugin. I have since formatted the hard drive and installed xp mce. Now netflix doesn't crash. When I select the movie I want to watch the only option I can see to watch it is to click "download", then it says it was unable to do that. The wierd thing is that it plays the audio but the screen doesn't change, it still shows the netflix menu. I can select initialize from the menu but that just sends me to IE, which I then have to use the mouse (sorta defeats the purpose). Sorta at a road block.
    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •