Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Weather2 Doesn't Update at Startup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Southern California, US
    Posts
    769

    Weather2 Doesn't Update at Startup

    I have Weather2 checked in CONFIG to Update At Startup but it won't do this. It doesn't do it when PVRX2 starts up and it doesn't do it when Weather2 is first selected from the Main Menu.

    I can get it to update if I select the Update button from within the plug-in.

    I am running Windows 7 x64 in case that makes a difference since that environment seems to be different enough that other plug-ins/utilities are affected.

    Is anyone else having this problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    Post your logs and I'll see what's causing it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Southern California, US
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by scb147 View Post
    Post your logs and I'll see what's causing it.
    I changed logging to DEBUG and rebooted the PC so there would be a new PVRX2 log file. After the reboot I brought up PVRX2 and waited a bit. I noticed no d/l activity. I selected Weather plugin from Main Menu and waited a bit. Again no d/l activity. I selected some choices in weather2 and then finally requested an UPDATE.

    I looked at the PVRX2 log and it seems that weather2 can't find some components it is looking for. It also looks like it is starting a background thread to do the update at 9:44:47 but I didn't see any network activity at that point.
    Last edited by LewE; 2010-01-06 at 06:18 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    I looked at the PVRX2 log and it seems that weather2 can't find some components it is looking for.
    I didn't see any components it couldn't find. What line did you think was the problem?

    Otherwise, it looks like your weather information is less than 20 minutes old, so it will not update it.

    It will only update on startup if the weather.xml file is greater than the number you have set for updating. So in your case, the weather.xml file is less than 20 minutes old, so it just loads the data from that. Then it should update 20 minutes from the timestamp of the weather.xml file.

    Selecting the "Update" button from the menu forces a refresh, no matter what the time or timestamps are.

    Looks like it is working to me, but I'll update the wiki with this information.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Southern California, US
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by scb147 View Post
    I didn't see any components it couldn't find. What line did you think was the problem?
    I was wrong. I looked again and where it appeared that it didn't find something, several lines later it said that it did.

    Otherwise, it looks like your weather information is less than 20 minutes old, so it will not update it.

    It will only update on startup if the weather.xml file is greater than the number you have set for updating. So in your case, the weather.xml file is less than 20 minutes old, so it just loads the data from that. Then it should update 20 minutes from the timestamp of the weather.xml file.
    A little while ago I started PVRX2. It hadn't run since approximately 6 hours ago. In the Weather plugin, CURRENT, OVERVIEW, and FORECAST had data from 6 hours ago. Radar and Satellite showed a current time for update time in the upper right corner of the screen. I have a utility that shows Internet traffic and the screen cap below is how it appears when I do a manual update of Weather. As you can see there is a significant download of data involved in an update. When I started PVRX2 it did not show this or any significant traffic, even though the Radar and Satellite animations probably cause the most download of data.

    Every day, the first time I run PVRX2 and Weather plugin it shows the forecast dates beginning with the previous day's until I do an UPDATE.

    Selecting the "Update" button from the menu forces a refresh, no matter what the time or timestamps are.

    Looks like it is working to me, but I'll update the wiki with this information.
    I still think it isn't working for my system (Windows 7 x64). Is there any particular test you would like me to do to help either prove it or disprove it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    I'll have to get you a build that spits out more information. I'll try to do this tomorrow (Thursday).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    Well, I had time to sit and actually look at the code. There was a problem with updating at startup.

    So if you've had this enabled, it would not update at startup, but it would at the next scheduled update time (whatever your Update Frequency was).

    I think I've fixed this, and I'll try to get a release to fix this out today or tomorrow.

    Thanks LewE for finding this

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Southern California, US
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by scb147 View Post
    Well, I had time to sit and actually look at the code. There was a problem with updating at startup.

    Thanks LewE for finding this
    I'm just glad to learn that I wasn't going nuts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    Quote Originally Posted by LewE View Post
    I'm just glad to learn that I wasn't going nuts.
    I'm glad I could be of service

    New version out later tonight (Thursday night)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •