Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Using ML3 (nightly) 4 a new ML3 user

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,995

    Using ML3 (nightly) 4 a new ML3 user

    I have a couple of questions about using ML3 from a new users point that I am confused about.

    I am confused about the red button random play feature, I would have thought if I changed views to Genre/Album/Track (I think it is) & I highlight a particular Genre in the left column & press the red button it would generate a random playlist for that Genre, like wise if I select an album at the top & then press the red button it would do it for that album, but if I highlight the (ALL) & then press the red button it would then create one for all genres, albums & artists?

    To be honest I now have no idea what my second question was I will post again when/if I remember

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,771
    That's one better than me, I have never even configured the genre view, I'm sure psycik can help us here. One thing, if you have tkgafs mode enabled, it overrides random play selection. If you want other random options turn this mode off and when you want full random jukebox select Random All/All from the option menu on the Home key.

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,995
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    One thing, if you have tkgafs mode enabled, it overrides random play selection.
    I think this was the problem, now it's off things are working a bit more like I expected with my small test so far.

    If you want other random options turn this mode off and when you want full random jukebox select Random All/All from the option menu on the Home key.Martin
    Highlighting (ALL) in the left screen & pressing the red button seems to work as well??

    So this now brings up another question what is "Home" on the Hauppauge remote for the NMT (old version of mvpmcx2 still)? Menu just takes me to the Video Library?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,771
    I don't see the All, probably because I don't see Genres!

    Here's a great wiki reference for the NMT, although you said "I will be updating this in the near future"

    http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Hardware/NMT

    Item #11

    Actually Home is in transition, because it's not on the EGreat remote either, it is now technically Source on the NMT, but I kept Home active.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lower Hutt, NZ
    Posts
    5,122
    There was a config option for random always being "All/All". Also not sure if this code made it into ML3 - it was in ML2, might need to be another thing for Martin to transfer over if he gets a change.

    Martin, basically it's setting the primary sort and passing that to the random function. There should be a random playlist call somewhere with Primary and Secondary selected fields I think.
    Gigabyte AMD A8 Brix, 4 Gb DDR3 Ram, 120 Gb SSD, Samsung LA46A650 TV (HDMI), Harmony Remote 525
    Windows 10 Pro, NPVR 3.5.7, AC3Filter Client
    Windows 10 Pro Virtual Machine SiliconDust HDHomeRun Dual DVB-T with NPVR 3.9.2 Server
    1 x Roku3 and 1 x Apple TV4 with Plex, Plex Plugin, NextPVR Channel for Plex NextPVR Metadata Agent and Scanner for Plex

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,995
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    I don't see the All, probably because I don't see Genres!
    I am fairly sure you can turn off "All" in config?

    Here's a great wiki reference for the NMT, although you said "I will be updating this in the near future"
    http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Hardware/NMT

    Item #11
    Yeah yeah yeah <grin> I know I still have work to do on the NMT section of the wiki but other things keep getting in the way....like some unnamed user wanting weather information in MLPanel that I have been working on in my free time for the last few days!.....the main reason I haven't done the keys yet is I have to do search's in the forums to find out what they all are before I can do it

    Actually Home is in transition, because it's not on the EGreat remote either, it is now technically Source on the NMT, but I kept Home active. Martin
    BTW I did go to the wiki to find out what the Hauppauge key for "Home" was before I posted that message & I couldn't find anything but "Menu" for it.....I also can't find any reference to "Source" either???? So I still don't know how to get that menu on my NMT apart from grabbing the A100 remote for it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,771
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy View Post
    I am fairly sure you can turn off "All" in config?
    Thanks I will check.


    Yeah yeah yeah <grin> I know I still have work to do on the NMT section of the wiki but other things keep getting in the way....like some unnamed user wanting weather information in MLPanel that I have been working on in my free time for the last few days!.....the main reason I haven't done the keys yet is I have to do search's in the forums to find out what they all are before I can do it
    Since this named user wants to see weather this might save some time start time.

    http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...39&postcount=2

    with the changes noted here

    http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...82&postcount=1

    BTW I did go to the wiki to find out what the Hauppauge key for "Home" was before I posted that message & I couldn't find anything but "Menu" for it.....I also can't find any reference to "Source" either???? So I still don't know how to get that menu on my NMT apart from grabbing the A100 remote for it
    Menu has always been Home on the Hauppauge remote, PC and MVP and that didn't change with the lircd for the NMT.

    Martin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,995
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Since this named user wants to see weather this might save some time start time.
    http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...39&postcount=2
    with the changes noted here
    http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...82&postcount=1
    Thanks for that I will have a look & try to do something soon.....ish

    Menu has always been Home on the Hauppauge remote, PC and MVP and that didn't change with the lircd for the NMT.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy
    So this now brings up another question what is "Home" on the Hauppauge remote for the NMT (old version of mvpmcx2 still)? Menu just takes me to the Video Library?
    I'm still getting this when I try "Menu" from within ML3?? & why the Video Library? I could understand if it was the Main Menu

    Another problem/question that has just come up, I have changed the time/length for a playlist in config to 240 but when I start a random playlist with Red button it is always something like 1:5x:00 when I look at the details on the playlist & only runs for approx 2 hours?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,771
    Sounds like there is a bug in the lircd driver. There was a reason for not using the Menu key to be Menu on the NMT remote though. I wanted to keep Back/(Return) and Menu near the central navigation area.

    I think the random playlist is limited to 30 titles. I use tkgafs mode looping but if this works like I suspect, at the end of the 1:5x minutes it would add more titles when it hits the last song, and then eventually stop after ~240 minutes.

    Martin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,995
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Sounds like there is a bug in the lircd driver. There was a reason for not using the Menu key to be Menu on the NMT remote though. I wanted to keep Back/(Return) and Menu near the central navigation area.
    Bummer.......I would hope some other Hauppauge NMT user(s) would test it for them to just make sure it isn't something wrong on my development PC, which is a bit mucked up GB-PVR wise testing out all sorts of things, I haven't played with ML3 long enough yet to put it on the main server.

    I think the random playlist is limited to 30 titles. I use tkgafs mode looping but if this works like I suspect, at the end of the 1:5x minutes it would add more titles when it hits the last song, and then eventually stop after ~240 minutes.
    Seems to be 40 songs but for me when it reaches the 40th song it just stops.

    I see there is a config option to have it automatically make a new playlist after it reaches the end of the one it is playing & I may give that a go.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •