Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: No Sound when trying to stream using the H264/MP4A/MPEG-TS Streamer Transcode Preset

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367

    No Sound when trying to stream using the H264/MP4A/MPEG-TS Streamer Transcode Preset

    Hi,

    When streaming using the H264/MP4A/MPEG-TS preset in Streamer Transcode Options: I'm getting video but no sound. This is the case when streaming to my iPhone and also when streaming to a PC on my LAN. Could I be missing some software or something else to deal with the audio?

    Also, I tried within Trans Opts to use the Manual Options settings to mimic the Preset but when I chose H264 from the Video Encoder drop-down, the Manual Streamer Transcode Options: box simply disappears dropping me back to Streamer Transcode Options:. Keeping the encoder set at Default is all I am able to do.

    Any insights would be appreciated.

    Thanks!


    PS: I'm doing this using the Guide.aspx web page rather than the Guide2.aspx web page. This is because Guide2.aspx page is difficult to naviagte with my iPhone.
    Last edited by ww4397; 2014-08-30 at 01:36 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    341
    I ran into the same issue: http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread...WA-Work-Begins

    I posted logs and had to hack around to resolve this issue. I'm hoping UJB will chime in, because I don't want to spread a hack or undocumented "fix" out of respect for him. The issue is with VLC (I posted a link to a VLC forum in the thread above), not with NEWA.
    [SIZE=1]
    HD PVR: nPVR 4.2.2 with VLC 3.0.3 Std Skin
    ASRock H170M Pro4 LGA 1151 Intel H170 HDMI-out, Intel Core i3-6100 3.7GHz, 16GB DDR4 2400, Win7 Ultimate x64, Hauppauge Colossus, 1x250GB SSD (System), 1x1TB SATA (Recordings), DirecTV HD22 STB, dtvTune.exe Ethernet channel changer

    Running Samsung Smart TV plugin from Fred250

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    5,526
    You can try Kayleigh's (thanks again for looking into this) fix to see if it helps. This will be in the next release of NEWA which will come out with the next release of NPVR.

    Stop the NPVR recording service
    Put this file in web\app_code\classes\ it should replace the existing file
    Restart the recording service

    Give it a go and report back if it works for you or not.

    Cheers

    UJB
    Last edited by UncleJohnsBand; 2014-09-01 at 03:20 PM. Reason: Removed vlcutility.zip since newer one was posted further on in thread.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Hi UJB,

    I updated the file but no go. Now there is no streaming at all to the client and on the server an error box comes up with this message from VLC Media Player:

    The comand line options could not be parses. Make sure they are valid.

    For what its worth, I'm running W7 64 bit and 64 bit VLC.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    5,526
    Quote Originally Posted by ww4397 View Post
    Hi UJB,

    I updated the file but no go. Now there is no streaming at all to the client and on the server an error box comes up with this message from VLC Media Player:

    The comand line options could not be parses. Make sure they are valid.

    For what its worth, I'm running W7 64 bit and 64 bit VLC.

    Thanks.
    Can you post your web.log file from when this error occurs and I can take a look.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Absolutely. Log attached.
    Last edited by ww4397; 2014-09-01 at 04:14 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    341
    What version of VLC are you running server-side? The file will only work with VLC 2.x or greater (I'd recommend the latest version).

    Oh, and make sure you restart the recording service after replacing the file. (I got errors when I forgot to do that.)
    [SIZE=1]
    HD PVR: nPVR 4.2.2 with VLC 3.0.3 Std Skin
    ASRock H170M Pro4 LGA 1151 Intel H170 HDMI-out, Intel Core i3-6100 3.7GHz, 16GB DDR4 2400, Win7 Ultimate x64, Hauppauge Colossus, 1x250GB SSD (System), 1x1TB SATA (Recordings), DirecTV HD22 STB, dtvTune.exe Ethernet channel changer

    Running Samsung Smart TV plugin from Fred250

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by kayleigh View Post
    What version of VLC are you running server-side? The file will only work with VLC 2.x or greater (I'd recommend the latest version).

    2.0.6

    Oh, and make sure you restart the recording service after replacing the file. (I got errors when I forgot to do that.)
    Yes, I did restart.

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    341
    OK, I went back through my troubleshooting notes, and the updated VLCUtility file I've given UJB posted will only work with VLC 2.1 and newer. Sorry for the confusion in my previous post about VLC 2.x or newer.

    Update VLC to the latest version on your NPVR computer (2.1.5 as of today). I've tested this with VLC 2.1.2 and 2.1.5 and it works for me... I passed the file to UJB so he could validate my results (and as I said out of respect for his great work on NEWA).
    [SIZE=1]
    HD PVR: nPVR 4.2.2 with VLC 3.0.3 Std Skin
    ASRock H170M Pro4 LGA 1151 Intel H170 HDMI-out, Intel Core i3-6100 3.7GHz, 16GB DDR4 2400, Win7 Ultimate x64, Hauppauge Colossus, 1x250GB SSD (System), 1x1TB SATA (Recordings), DirecTV HD22 STB, dtvTune.exe Ethernet channel changer

    Running Samsung Smart TV plugin from Fred250

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Ok, I'll get 2.1.5 and try it.

    Be back soon...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •