Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Live TV and recordings do not match

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    117

    Live TV and recordings do not match

    recordings record fine on the right channel but live tv the mapping is not right, help please.

    Greg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    3,022
    The only thing I can think of is in GB-PVR it uses the tuner cards from the top down for recordings & from the bottom up for live tv, so if you have more than one card it's most likely that you have mapped the channels right on the top card(s) but wrong on the bottom card(s)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,834
    Quote Originally Posted by greg in kansas View Post
    recordings record fine on the right channel but live tv the mapping is not right, help please.
    If it's a digital channel, and you're recording to .ts, then it sounds like the broadcaster has changed the audio/video PIDs. You'll probably need to rescan and remap that channel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    117
    Ok, I'll try a re map been over 2 years. I thought my data base might be bad. Different audio/video PIDs for Rec vs live?

    Thanks so much
    Greg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,834
    Quote Originally Posted by greg in kansas View Post
    Different audio/video PIDs for Rec vs live?
    Yes, with .ts. GBPVR stored the PIDs during scan, and needed these for live tv. It didn't need them when playing a recording - it'd find them by looking at the file.

    NextPVR did away with this annoying problem, and dynamically determines the PIDs for live tv aswell.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    117
    Are the PIDs stored in two different places in the database? I can find only one "SOURCE_CHANNEL_MAPPING".

    Thanks for all your work Sub

    Greg


    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yes, with .ts. GBPVR stored the PIDs during scan, and needed these for live tv. It didn't need them when playing a recording - it'd find them by looking at the file.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,834
    Quote Originally Posted by greg in kansas View Post
    Are the PIDs stored in two different places in the database? I can find only one "SOURCE_CHANNEL_MAPPING".
    Those are the PIDs used for live tv. When playback a recording, GBPVR looks in the file to find the PIDs (ie not in the database).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    117
    Thanks Sub
    Are the PIDS that are used for recordings in the database?

    Greg

    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Those are the PIDs used for live tv. When playback a recording, GBPVR looks in the file to find the PIDs (ie not in the database).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,834
    No, they're not in the database.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •