Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: progress update

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    690
    Reven, sorry for my ignorance but do you have any compiled versions (windows) of the latest nightly? Or is it an easy way to complie from source?

    Wanted to try out the latest changes for network shares.

    \\Agerdin

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    5,823
    no sorry no compiled nightless.

    if you have visual studio 2012 (express would do) you can compile and publish it yourself.

    if you don't know how to do that, you should probably wait for the next build.

    I would like to get automated builds setup some how, just havent had the chance to look into it.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    5,823
    another update: (not sure if anyone finds these interesting, but figured I'll continue to post to show the project is alive )

    I'm extending the "Channels" configuration so you can set the EPG Source from the webconsole.

    This requires you to specify XMLTV sources for xmltv feeds, and schedule direct settings if using schedules direct.

    I've done XMLTV (only just started SD).

    You can import you XMLTV files from NextPVR. In NextPVR they are specified in channel edit, in the web console you specify your xmltv files under
    Configration \ EPG Sources \ XMLTV
    When you add/import a xmltv source, you will need to "scan" that file to find the channels available in that file. Scanning only takes few seconds.

    Once a source has been added and scanned you will be able to select "XMLTV" as a source on the
    Configuration \ Channels page.
    When you select "XMLTV" you choose which XMLTV file for that channel (so you can have multiple xmltv files), and then another drop down list is populated with the channels available in that feed. If none have been select, it will initially try to automatically find the channel in the feed (works well for NZ DVB-T freeview feed).

    Then you can save your channels and do a EPG import and you should have EPG Data.

    To specify the XMLTV File there is a file browser dialog that will list the folders/files on the server, so its not just a textbox where you type in the filename, you can browse for it. This dialog only lists ".xml" files. It also shows your "Network" so you can browse your network for a xmltv file.

    my goal is to be able to do a clean install of nextpvr with no configuration, open the webconsole and completely configure everything.
    It also needs to work so if you decide to configure using NextPVR the webconsole will still work (there are some issues, with "Import from NextPVR" for xmltv sources etc, but easily fixed with a click of a button).

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    West Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by reven View Post
    my goal is to be able to do a clean install of nextpvr with no configuration, open the webconsole and completely configure everything.
    It would be real nice if you were able to export the config settings or save them off to another device, perform the clean install and just import again. That would be nice to have. It probably wouldn't take into consideration for any add-ins though, but I suppose you might be able to accomodate for them.
    Server - Windows 64 Home Premium, Intel E8400 3.0ghz, 2gb memory, NVidia 7600GT

    **I've donated, have you?**

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    5,823
    all settled into my new house. server is setup. networking is all done (ive installed 38 network ports throughout the house terminating to a server cabinet in the garage, its a brand new house so did lots of wiring when no gib was up).

    my server has some virtual machines running for building/testing. im currently setting up a build vm to compile/build/version the web console using teamcity.

    if you've ever used team city (or similar) you know how awesome/helpful this is, ensures every build is the same (doing them manually sometimes you forget a step), every build is versioned (using the git commit number, this is the step you usually forget to do when building manually), and can even run some smoke tests to make sure it installs on a few test operating systems (xp, 2003, windows 7, xp with different language).

    this is taking me longer than I wanted (was having an annoying issue which has now be resolved), but will speed things up once all completed (I won't have to manually test things all the time) and will ensure the web console is as bug free as possible (will also help with future projects I work on).

    this probably isn't so interesting to end users, since its not actually any work on the web console, but thought I'd post an update to show you this project is still very much alive.

    reven

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    128
    I find installing 38 network ports thoughout the house very interesting. I guess that is the geek in me. I've only done 2 in my house so far. One in the office (where all the networking gear is located) and one in the sunroom (where the HTPC lives), with a cable connecting them.

    Congrats on getting all your backbone stuff done!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lower Hutt, NZ
    Posts
    5,196
    Reven, does your project have to live on the main nextpvr machine? Or could i have it installed on a VM somewhere else with just IIS running? I'd be curious to see it running without impacting my existing system.

    I went and looked at a brand new house a mont ago or so, every room had 2 network ports - but at the place you'd logically place the bed (so mostly for phone) - then at what would be the foot of the bed, they had an aerial port - but NO network - HELLO!??!!? so you couldn't even put a best over the aerial for a tv/laptop as there was no network. Then the was wall mounted, and all devices were hidden in a false wall - so all that came through was 2 hdmi port again NO NETWORK - and also how dows the remote work when the bluray etc is hidden in a wall. Some owners just don't think properly.

    I've love to see a write up or your wiring, tv, network, phone etc, and how you set up your main "lounge" tv - as I'd love to do a smilar scheme - I've always planned itm but I'll be doing it on a 80ish year old house most likely

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    5,823
    it needs nextpvr installed, but you can easily build a vm (using virtualbox if you dont have hyper-v or vmware) and try it on that. installer is easiest way to set it up (it installs ultidev for you so no need to configure IIS). im setting up some test vms now using this process for smoke tests.

    the git repo should work fine if you want to manually download the code and point IIS to it. but the installer source code is some what broken/in a state of flux while i'm attempting to get everything working in a teamcity environment.

    for the house, i basically installed network cables every where i might need them, i havent worried about phone cables (all cat6 so I could get phones to all my network ports if i really wanted, but im just using a dect wireless base station and several wireless phones throughout the house).

    in my lounge, i have 2 behind the tv at about 1.2m off the ground, then 6 below where all the AV equipment goes (6 is over kill now, but with a receiver, bluray, ps3, xbox, ouya etc better to have too many than too few).

    my bedroom has 2 behind the tv (1.2m off the ground), and then an hdmi + usb cable running from that into my walk-in wardrobe . in the wardrobe i have another 4 network ports. im hoping CEC improves so I can just use that to control everything in the wardrobe or use a harmony 900 with RF, for now im leaving the door open which works fine.

    all the other bedrooms have at least 2 sets of 2 network ports. most bedrooms have network ports in the wardrobes with power points as well. my sons TV is mounted in front of wardrobe and i drilled a hole in the wall to run the tv power cable into the wardrobe and have a PI in there as well, he has an additional 4 network ports in that wardrobe.

    i tried to put them wherever i thought i might be using a laptop and want to connect to the wired network if transfer files. so in my lounge there is a double network next to the couches (same with family room). my master bedroom has 2 network ports either side of the bed.

    i really did go over kill on these, but best time to do it, and network stuff was pretty cheap. probably spent $800-$1000NZD on all the hardware, i did all the labour myself.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    5,823
    going to release a new build probably tonight, if I can find somewhere to host it. need a kick up the butt to do more development on it, so looking for some brave souls to test it out.

    I have team city all setup to do builds easily but haven't some problem getting VirtualBox to start via command line for tests to run against (sadly my PCs motherboard doesnt support hypver-v otherwise I would just use that) and I've spent so much time on this I've kinda given up and need a break from the boring stuff.

    the next version has the angular replacement, but a lot of stuff still needs doing, no where near as polished as the first alpha (i did a lot of testing on that one), but I need to release often to keep progress alive, so need testers.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    5,823
    unit tests are all working yay!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •