Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: No picture or sound in PCH-A100 when trying to play recording

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    It doesn't look like the web server is restating properly.

    martin
    Thanks Martin for your trouble shooting.

    Does anyone have a suggestion on how to make the web server restart correctly?

    Thanks.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,127
    Can you access NEWA directly from a browser?

    Martin

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Can you access NEWA directly from a browser?

    Martin
    Yes, from the same machine at this URL: http://localhost:8866

    I'll try from a different machine also.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Ok, tried NEWA from another computer in the house and it works fine. Able to see guide and watch the recordings.

    What should I try next?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,127
    Quote Originally Posted by ww4397 View Post
    What should I try next?
    It's a mystery to me why this isn't work so you are going to need to set up putty and do some telnet logging, there a likely old posts that explain this, I will be able to help this evening EST. A firewall would have been my first bet but that doesn't seem to be a problem.

    The only odd thing I see is the MAC address isn't a PCH it's some sort of bridge so you might have some routing issues.

    Martin

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    It's a mystery to me why this isn't work so you are going to need to set up putty and do some telnet logging, there a likely old posts that explain this, I will be able to help this evening EST. A firewall would have been my first bet but that doesn't seem to be a problem.
    Thank you very much for the offer to help. But with the Thanksgiving holiday I don't have the time right now.

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    The only odd thing I see is the MAC address isn't a PCH it's some sort of bridge so you might have some routing issues.

    Martin
    Yes, there is a wireless bridge and this could be an area of trouble. (But it worked before on my GBPVR setup.) I'm going to see if I can get a temporary hard wired arrangement to rule that out. Setting that up may be harder than it sounds...

    The one thing that keeps me wondering is: How is it that I can watch the recordings using the PCH when viewing via the folder yet not able to watch them via NPVR on that same PCH. The hardware involved is the same, including the wireless bridge...

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,127
    Quote Originally Posted by ww4397 View Post
    Thank you very much for the offer to help. But with the Thanksgiving holiday I don't have the time right now.
    Enjoy your holiday (Our Canadian Thanksgiving was in October, not much to be thankful for in November when the leaves are gone and we are shovelling a foot of snow like yesterday!)

    Everything you write to points at a firewall problem for NRecord not being able to to stream via http. If E Drive is share or usb drive connected in user space there might be other things to consider.

    Martin

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Everything you write to points at a firewall problem for NRecord not being able to to stream via http.

    Martin
    I turned the firewalls (private and public) off and tried again. Still no picture or sound when trying to play recordings via NPVR. I can still play them fine from thier folders via PCH. I did notice a slight change in NPVR behavior, however. With the firewall off, the drop back to the recordings menu is immediate (within a second) after pressing Play. When the firewall is on, the drop back to the recordings menu takes ~60 seconds.

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    If E Drive is share or usb drive connected in user space there might be other things to consider.

    Martin
    Can you elaborate more on this? I'm not following.

    My E: drive is an internal hard drive (3TB) in my NPVR machine and is used to store media files. I have set it up to Share with as many entities as possible: Everyone, Guest, Homegroup and there may be one or two more.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    367
    FWIW, I saw there was a roll-up patch available for 3.1.1 and I installed it thinking that it might help. Not so. After installation and rebooting, I was no longer able to start NPVR on my TV (via PCH). It would drop to PCH menu after a minute or so of black screen. I then reverted back to the previous files (kept copies) and I can get NPVR on the TV as before (still can't play recordings).

    Patch is here.
    Last edited by ww4397; 2013-11-29 at 03:48 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,127
    Quote Originally Posted by ww4397 View Post
    FWIW, I saw there was a roll-up patch available for 3.1.1 and I installed it thinking that it might help. Not so. After installation and rebooting, I was no longer able to start NPVR on my TV (via PCH). It would drop to PCH menu after a minute or so of black screen. I then reverted back to the previous files (kept copies) and I can get NPVR on the TV as before (still can't play recordings).

    Patch is here.
    Likely not related, you had the same issue earlier http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread...748#post467748 when I asked you to restart the server.

    Note that I was confident enough with to patch to add it to NMTInstall yesterday and my patched system has been working on an NMT.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •