Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 789
Results 81 to 90 of 90

Thread: LED status monitor

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    622

    Nice feature!

    Just set up a 3 LED system (GBPVR on, tuner 1, tuner 2) and it all worked very nicely first time using the standard config file. (well... I haven't checked the 2nd tuner yet....and am yet to play with the disk space bit... but the rest is great)

    I don't recall the last time anything worked the first time!

    Very happy. Well done betlit!
    Core2-E2180, 1G RAM, 1Gb-5450 Silent, 2Tb +300g HDDs.
    Three tuners: Twinhan DVB-T x 1, Hauppauge Nova 500T (dual)

    DTB Digital SD + HD content (PAL-MPEG2-AC3).
    Custom case made very quiet. Zalman CPU cooler.
    Sits in rack with other HiFi.

    ParaLED to show tuner activity.

    Display: 42" 1920x1080p Panasonic Plasma

    1x wired MVP
    1x PC client


  2. #82
    Hi Betlit,

    Thanks for looking at my problem for me. Sorry it has taken me so long to test, I didn't get an email from the forums telling me the thread had been updated.

    The problem with the led numbers being offset by one too many doesn't seem to be fixed. As no one else seems to have the problem, don't worry about it as my changes to the xml file get around the issue.

    The alert feature is fantastic. When I call paraled to reset the alert, do I use the command
    Code:
    paraled.exe epg
    or
    Code:
    paraled.exe -epg
    Also, once the alert has been triggered and the leds are flashing, will calling paraled cancel the flashing and reset the timer?

    Thanks for all your work,

    Simon
    Simon, UK.

    PVR 150, 80Gb and 250Gb SATA, UK Sky box as source.

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Zug, Switzerland
    Posts
    454
    Quote Originally Posted by simon
    The problem with the led numbers being offset by one too many doesn't seem to be fixed. As no one else seems to have the problem, don't worry about it as my changes to the xml file get around the issue.
    hmm... sorry, but i have to ask this: did you wire up the LEDs correctly? i will send you a little utility to check this.

    Quote Originally Posted by simon
    The alert feature is fantastic. When I call paraled to reset the alert, do I use the command
    Code:
    paraled.exe epg
    or
    Code:
    paraled.exe -epg
    just epg. no slash, dash or whatsoever. if the name of your alert(s) has a space in it, you have to use quotes ("")

    Quote Originally Posted by simon
    Also, once the alert has been triggered and the leds are flashing, will calling paraled cancel the flashing and reset the timer?
    nope. i designed it that way (better: i was to lazy to implement more than the minimum) that the alert is not resetted until paraLED is restarted or the computer is rebooted (hibernation/standby wont have an effect on this, too).
    this is because e.g. the epg update crashes or something, and a day or two later it works again. if the alert would be cancelled you could probably miss it.
    since when 'someting' went wrong it is almost certain, you have to look at the config/logs/whatever, so you can kill and restart paraLED anyway.
    Last edited by betlit; 2006-02-14 at 09:56 AM.
    AMD 1600mHz, 512 M RAM, 20+160 GB drive, Hauppauge PVR-350 + PVR-150 + PVR-150MCE, Win XP Pro SP3, using software decoding.


    There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.

    There is another theory which states that this has already happened.

    (The Restaurant at the End of the Universe)

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    622

    All LEDS flashing

    Recently installed the LED status monitoring and really I like it.

    But after a day or so of running I get all my 3 LEDs flashing in together on ~ 1 sec cycle. This has every day or so since I set it up.

    I don't believe I have any 'alarms' on - I am using the default .xml file from the posted download.

    This goes away if I end paraLED task and then restart the .exe.

    Any ideas what may cause this? how I stop it? are there any logs. etc that may help.
    Core2-E2180, 1G RAM, 1Gb-5450 Silent, 2Tb +300g HDDs.
    Three tuners: Twinhan DVB-T x 1, Hauppauge Nova 500T (dual)

    DTB Digital SD + HD content (PAL-MPEG2-AC3).
    Custom case made very quiet. Zalman CPU cooler.
    Sits in rack with other HiFi.

    ParaLED to show tuner activity.

    Display: 42" 1920x1080p Panasonic Plasma

    1x wired MVP
    1x PC client


  5. #85
    If you are using the default xml file it has an alarm warning set as standard.

    The xml file is below.
    Code:
     
    <config>
        <address>888</address> 
        <frequency>3</frequency> 
        <onlyoneled>false</onlyoneled> 
        <checkspace>false</checkspace> 
        <spacealert>single</spacealert> 
    <drives>
         <c>2048</c> 
        <d>5120</d> 
    </drives>
    <warnings>
         <epg>1440</epg> 
    </warnings>
    
    <warningled>255</warningled> 
    <diode1>1</diode1> 
    <diode2>2</diode2> 
    <diode3>4</diode3> 
    <diode4>8</diode4> 
    <diode5>16</diode5> 
    <diode6>32</diode6> 
    <diode7>64</diode7> 
    <diode8>128</diode8> 
    </config>
    Under the <warnings> section it has <epg> with a time period of 1440 minutes, which is 24 hours. If you delete the whole warnings section from your xml file, save it, then restart paraled it should solve the problem.

    Simon
    Simon, UK.

    PVR 150, 80Gb and 250Gb SATA, UK Sky box as source.

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    622
    Cheers! missed that bit.
    Core2-E2180, 1G RAM, 1Gb-5450 Silent, 2Tb +300g HDDs.
    Three tuners: Twinhan DVB-T x 1, Hauppauge Nova 500T (dual)

    DTB Digital SD + HD content (PAL-MPEG2-AC3).
    Custom case made very quiet. Zalman CPU cooler.
    Sits in rack with other HiFi.

    ParaLED to show tuner activity.

    Display: 42" 1920x1080p Panasonic Plasma

    1x wired MVP
    1x PC client


  7. #87
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    210
    Hi Guys,

    Just a quick question. I've been really wanting to incorperate the LED's into my setup for a while but my parallell port is used by my VFD display. Is there any reason why this wouldn't work through a parallel to serial converter or even a parralell to usb (I have both these adaptors lying around at the mo.) I was thinking it should be ok but thought it best to check before getting the soldering iron out
    C2D E6600, 2GB DDR2 800, HD5450, 4 X GDI Black Gold, 1 X Compro DVB 200, 1 X Powerlined MVP, 500GB System, 2TB RAID 0 Recording, 1GB Flash ROM timeshift buffer, Silverstone LC03 B-V Passively Cooled and Soundproofed, MCE Keyboard and receiver. Win7 32bit

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Zug, Switzerland
    Posts
    454
    i'm a bit confused now... do you mean a gimmick which 'converts' a serial port into a parallel one? in this case i would speak of a 'serial to parallel'-converter...
    the same for the second... i would call a parallel port which is plugged in into usb 'usb to parallel'...

    if this is the case, my guess is that the serial to parallel convertor wont work (paraLED simply cannot access the parallel port).

    but i think there is a good chance that a usb - parallel port should behave like a 'standard' parallel port. just get the address of the port from the device manager, convert it from hex to decimal, edit the paraLED config and voila.

    if you have a volt meter you can simply plug the usb-thingie in, start paraLED or use this little utility i wrote for simon. just set one ore more LED to high and check the voltage on the accoring pin(s), before you begin to solder LTNT
    AMD 1600mHz, 512 M RAM, 20+160 GB drive, Hauppauge PVR-350 + PVR-150 + PVR-150MCE, Win XP Pro SP3, using software decoding.


    There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.

    There is another theory which states that this has already happened.

    (The Restaurant at the End of the Universe)

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    210
    Sorry for the confusion. That's exactly what I meant. It was a late night and i'd had a couple of beers and got my mords wuddled up

    Thanks for the tip re the volt meter. I do have one so i'll give it a check over the weekend and let you know the result.
    C2D E6600, 2GB DDR2 800, HD5450, 4 X GDI Black Gold, 1 X Compro DVB 200, 1 X Powerlined MVP, 500GB System, 2TB RAID 0 Recording, 1GB Flash ROM timeshift buffer, Silverstone LC03 B-V Passively Cooled and Soundproofed, MCE Keyboard and receiver. Win7 32bit

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Zug, Switzerland
    Posts
    454
    no probs!

    the 'standard status' of me is 'slightly confused' anyway.

    and: no household is complete without a soldering iron and a volt meter
    AMD 1600mHz, 512 M RAM, 20+160 GB drive, Hauppauge PVR-350 + PVR-150 + PVR-150MCE, Win XP Pro SP3, using software decoding.


    There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the Universe is for and why it is here, it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more bizarre and inexplicable.

    There is another theory which states that this has already happened.

    (The Restaurant at the End of the Universe)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •