Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 63

Thread: Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD PCIe

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    148
    I just read the recent message from the President of ATSC titled "Light at the end of the tunnel" where he says "we targeted the end of 2016 for most elements to be completed and the first quarter of 2017 for the complete ATSC 3.0 standard. We are in fact delivering on that timetable..." (www.atsc.org) There is a good video there too explaining ATSC 3.0.

    Under ATSC 3.0, unless I misunderstand, this will make all of our devices, including TV's, useless without some external hardware like the cable companies did with Digital tuners recently. I am not sure if there could be a software update or firmware for smart tv's, tuners, etc that can be installed on existing ATSC devices or not. I am ignorant on the subject and just now getting caught up to speed and researching it.

    The FCC put out a call for public comments. The Proceeding # 16-142

    https://www.fcc.gov/ecfs/search/fili...seminated,DESC

    I think we should all comment that if they go to this standard, which seems like it may be great in the long run, and sooner than later, they should keep broadcasting for a certain period (A couple years) in the current standard while the devices, extenders, etc, get developed. Look what happened a couple years ago. All the devices that came out when the standard changed were basically low standard without options and features. Many of us can't afford to change our hardware and devices over night.

    I am sure there will be a big media campaign like there was when analog changed to HD but still think maybe we should comment. The more noise the better and longer our old devices will work.

    They need to hear from us all. Keep the current standard for an extended period of time. Broadcasters are seeing this as a revenue creator for their ad base. They need to roll out ATSC 3.0 to be backwards compatible with the current ATSC standard. In other words, we still get the channels just not the enhanced features of 3.0.
    ~Paul

    Setup: NextPVR, Serviio, WinTV-quadHD and WinTV-HVR-955Q. Custom Roku channel developer. Feeding Tube Advocate. About me or http://chambers.pw.

    If you haven't broken it at least once, you're not doing it right.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Vinita, OK
    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by p37307 View Post
    Under ATSC 3.0, unless I misunderstand, this will make all of our devices, including TV's, useless without some external hardware like the cable companies did with Digital tuners recently. I am not sure if there could be a software update or firmware for smart tv's, tuners, etc that can be installed on existing ATSC devices or not. I am ignorant on the subject and just now getting caught up to speed and researching it.
    Yes that true it will req all new hardware it not so much the tuner modulation them self but even it to still need be update in order to make used of the all the new add-on features that come with ATSC 3.0 and other part of is your TV or Set-top box or what ever device you have that has Video output with an board hardware decoder most likely doesn't support HEVC / H.256 with HE-AAC audio so it not backward compatible like ATSC 1.0 to 2.0 was and do believe even the same applies to all ATSC PC Tuners that are being made now and the same apply to your 4K TV set in they start make them with ATSC 3.0 which may see next year and I wouldn't be at all surprise if it was dual tuner with ATSC 2.0 as well.
    I think but not 100% sure on this even your HT Audio Receiver will need be update in order to make use of HE-AAC audio other then that it will be just Stereo LPCM
    Don't worry will take it a bit time for all this to happing may guest is in next 5/7 years span starting next year

    No ATSC 3.0 is not backwards compatible with the current ATSC 1.0/2.0 standard so need to worry about that
    The good news is your current antenna is LoL

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    17

    My Hauppauge Quad Tuner Experience

    I also purchased my Hauppauge quad tuner card last year. I did not do a clean install but let the system discover the quad tuner. I also imported the channel list into each tuner so I would have consistency. I read your post about your positive experience. In my case, accessing the 4 tuners live with my Kodi clients has not been a problem. However if I have Kodi using 2 of the 4 tuners and nextPvr begins a recording, one of the Kodi client's tuners is taken away even though there are 2 unused tuners available.

    Per our earlier communication, I am attaching my db3 file for you to examine.
    NextPVR is an excellent software application and on behalf of all users I want to thank you for the hard work I know it took to create it.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    84,521
    You'll needs to zip that db3 file, or if it's large - provide a download link from somewhere like Dropbox or One Drive or Google Drive.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    17

    Zipped db3 file link


  6. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Williamstown
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    I was pretty amazed by this, so had to share a picture.

    Here is a screenshot of NextPVR watching 16 channels simultaneously using one of these WinTV-quadHD DVB tuner (and NextPVR's multi-record feature). These channels are mixture of HD and SD. I was surprised to find the video was still playing smoothly in every window - using about 60% CPU usage. Very cool...The cacophony of sound was absolutely horrendous

    I only ended up using 3 of it's 4 tuners.


    can you elaborate more on this setup?

    how do you get 16 views to show?


    the 1 card is doing the 16 channels? are they all OTA or how?

    i would love to throw say 3/4 football games on one tv (46") ....

    I stopped watching football on cable tv unless its only on a cable channel as OTA is so crisp!!!!!

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    84,521
    the 1 card is doing the 16 channels? are they all OTA or how?
    Yes I used 1 card.

    I was using one WinTV-quadHD device. It has four OTA digital tuners. In this particular test I was only using 3 of the 4 tuners for watching those 16 channels.

    They transmit more than one channel on each digital frequency. NextPVR will only use one tuner to per digital frequency. In this case, those 16 channels were on 3 digital frequencies, so NextPVR only used 3 tuners.

    I needed to run "nextpvr.exe -multi" to allow it to open multiple copies of the front end, and I just positioned each one where I wanted it, and right clicked, and selected 'channels' and chose the channel I wanted to watch.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Williamstown
    Posts
    87
    thats totally awesome!!!!

    well that is on my list to buy now... thx.. (unless there is a better card now )

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Williamstown
    Posts
    87
    last q on this.. do you think this card could be put into a nextpvr "server" and a client machine can run all those multi windows? just trying to map out my setup i would want to do

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4
    Bought a Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD and I love it. Only thing I have run into is. One channel refuses to record properly. It plays fine in live TV and on our TV with or without the tuner. But it digitizes and freezes when I recorded the one channel. All other channels it recorded fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •