Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 106

Thread: Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD PCIe

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,621
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    I've got the WinTV-quadHD-DVB in my machine, which is pretty much the same device. It's a nice device. Been working well for me so far.
    Hmmm, I wonder if one would squeeze into an HP microserver?


  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    831
    Quote Originally Posted by martint123 View Post
    Hmmm, I wonder if one would squeeze into an HP microserver?
    It seems pretty small, plus the description says "Half height PCI Express board for full height and half height chassis".

    Does the HP MicroServer have less space than that?
    E4600 Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, Win7 Pro, Nvidia GT710, HDHomeRun Prime, NPVR 4.2.4
    On a clear disk, you can seek forever...

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,621
    Quote Originally Posted by HarryH3 View Post
    It seems pretty small, plus the description says "Half height PCI Express board for full height and half height chassis".

    Does the HP MicroServer have less space than that?
    The spec I found says :-

    Slot 1 technology PCI-e Bus width x16 connector width x16 Half height, half length
    Slot 2 technology PCI-e Bus width x1 connector width x1 Half height, half length

    So I'm not sure about the half length....
    Last edited by martint123; 2016-03-12 at 09:29 AM. Reason: chopped spurious copy/paste text


  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    831
    Indeed, the question becomes "Half of what?". Some video cards are incredibly long, but I don't know what the actual spec is for a full length card.
    E4600 Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, Win7 Pro, Nvidia GT710, HDHomeRun Prime, NPVR 4.2.4
    On a clear disk, you can seek forever...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    TN-USA
    Posts
    234
    Installed a WinTV-quadHD for ATSC, replacing an HVR2250 and an HDHR-US dual. The card is 14cm long.
    npvr 4.2.4/win7-32/ga-am1m-s2h/kabini5350/radeonhd8400/wintvquadHD/clearstream2antenna+hivhffoldeddipole/hdhrprimecc/colossus/rgn150n/comcast/schedulesdirect

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,621
    Quote Originally Posted by mulletback View Post
    Installed a WinTV-quadHD for ATSC, replacing an HVR2250 and an HDHR-US dual. The card is 14cm long.
    Thanks for that. With my trusty ruler it looks like it will fit (not the easiest box to install an expansion card - or memory in!)

    Problem now seems to be getting one in the UK. I'm sure they used to have a direct sales outfit in the UK, but I can't find any and their "buy it from" link goes to 4 outfits that have never heard of it and not the sort of places I'd by techy stuff from. Buying from Europe is a possibility, but I've been burnt with warranty issues going that route ......Maybe it's just too new to have fully circulated yet.


  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,125
    Quote Originally Posted by martint123 View Post
    Problem now seems to be getting one in the UK.
    Will buying from Hauppauge be okay ... http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/webs...re_quadhd.html
    i5 750 2.67 GHz, 6 Gig, 1000 Gig, Nvidia N710
    2 x Hauppauge WinTV QuadHD DVB-T2

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    89,740
    Quote Originally Posted by martint123 View Post
    Problem now seems to be getting one in the UK. I'm sure they used to have a direct sales outfit in the UK, but I can't find any and their "buy it from" link goes to 4 outfits that have never heard of it and not the sort of places I'd by techy stuff from. Buying from Europe is a possibility, but I've been burnt with warranty issues going that route ......Maybe it's just too new to have fully circulated yet.
    Yes, it's very new. I'm sure they'll start to be more readily available soon.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    158
    Replaced both of my 2250's with the single quad card. Only issue was clearing the old entries using HCWCLEAR and then had to re-setup channels / EPG all over again. Naturally it was over the weekend when schedules direct was down. But everything is working well. The Win TV 8 application which came with the quad card has newer main concept decoders. I used the WinTV Digital Signal Strength Indicator to verify the improved signal strengths. One less card in the machine and 1 less cable; the quad runs on 1 ATSC cable from the antenna.

    Working great with NextPVR, records 4 channels, and live TV no issues.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,125
    Quote Originally Posted by Graham View Post
    Will buying from Hauppauge be okay ... http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/webs...re_quadhd.html
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yes, it's very new. I'm sure they'll start to be more readily available soon.
    I am trying to buy from Hauppauge in the UK and they have sent an email to say that they are out of stock.
    i5 750 2.67 GHz, 6 Gig, 1000 Gig, Nvidia N710
    2 x Hauppauge WinTV QuadHD DVB-T2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •