Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: NMT for New TV - Suggestions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    363

    NMT for New TV - Suggestions

    We're looking to add a TV in the house and will need an NMT to go with it. We're not sure what to buy. We currently have two PCH A100's in use with two TVs and want the same kind of capability on the new TV.

    What hardware are folks buying now? We haven't needed to buy any clients since we purchased the A100s years ago.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    HK - Pal I
    Posts
    3,440
    Quote Originally Posted by ww4397 View Post
    We're looking to add a TV in the house and will need an NMT to go with it. We're not sure what to buy. We currently have two PCH A100's in use with two TVs and want the same kind of capability on the new TV.

    What hardware are folks buying now? We haven't needed to buy any clients since we purchased the A100s years ago.

    Thanks!
    I was in the same boat as you (see thread below where I asked a very similar question a short while ago) as my A100 died. I have an A110 as a backup. I now also have a Raspberry Pi (which Stu and others love with Kodi, works OK) mvallevand is ambivalent about it though and I understand he's looking at other devices to port his mvpmc support on.

    http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread...uth-the-future

    k.
    ASUS STRIX X470-F AMD 2700x 4GHz | Win10Prox64 | 32GB | NVIDIA GEforce GT1030 Fanless | WinTV DMB-TH | WinTV HVR-1280 | Hauppauge Colossus | Various HD's | AC86U | USB-UIRT | PCH-A110 | RPi2 | Sony Bravia LCD X9000F Android TV |. Frustrated that NextPVR is not working? Take a moment and consider this and this and this and this and this and this. Credit where credit's due; for one guy (with a wife and two kids), most problems are solved outrageously quickly. Patience.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,422
    Quote Originally Posted by jksmurf View Post
    I was in the same boat as you (see thread below where I asked a very similar question a short while ago) as my A100 died. I have an A110 as a backup. I now also have a Raspberry Pi (which Stu and others love with Kodi, works OK) mvallevand is ambivalent about it though and I understand he's looking at other devices to port his mvpmc support on.

    http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread...uth-the-future

    k.
    My ambivalence is about the speed of the RPi2 for web client at least it is a little better then the RPi. There are some other clients that would make the experience much better but the majority like you seem to be satisfied with just "OK" Here's a rundown .http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=252916 of web client alternatives.

    A100/A110 are long in the tooth but they still show up on ebay I think $100 is a lot to pay especially with the exchange rate these days.

    Martin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,340
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    My ambivalence is about the speed of the RPi2 for web client at least it is a little better then the RPi. There are some other clients that would make the experience much better but the majority like you seem to be satisfied with just "OK" Here's a rundown .http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=252916 of web client alternatives.
    Hey, Martin!

    I just wanted to let you know that I'm one of the people using an RPi2 all the time as my primary client. I'm open to spending a bit more for a different device if I get a better experience. When many of us got the PCHs we were willing to pay significantly more that what the RPi2 costs. So, I think that people would be willing to get a better device if it performed significantly better.

    That being said, it would be "ideal" if your "new client solution" could support both an RPi2 (for lower-end, less-used locations like bedrooms, etc.) plus another medium-priced ($75-$100 USD?) device for all the time, main TV usage. (And I'm more than willing to help test, etc. anything that you come up with :-). )

    - Brett

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,957
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    My ambivalence is about the speed of the RPi2 for web client at least it is a little better then the RPi. There are some other clients that would make the experience much better but the majority like you seem to be satisfied with just "OK" Here's a rundown .http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=252916 of web client alternatives.

    A100/A110 are long in the tooth but they still show up on ebay I think $100 is a lot to pay especially with the exchange rate these days.

    Martin
    I have both rpi2 and popcorn hour ,I would use the rpi over the popcorn hour for speed any day
    I don't see what part you are talking about that is slow
    Can you tell me where it's slow exactly ,curious as to what you are referring to.
    Specs
    Server:Cpu-Intel i3,ATI Radeon HD 5670 ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram. 2xHvr4400,Nova-s plus(dvb-s SD),hvr2210(dvb-t HD)
    Client:Cpu-AMD am2,Gpu-Ati HD2100 integrated ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram
    Client:Cpu Intel 2 gig ram ,Nvidia 9400
    Client:Popcorn Hour A110
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2012]BD-E5900x2
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2013]BD-F6500

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,422
    It is more sluggish then it need to be in 2016. Rendering and network speed impact the overall experience for me more than they do on the very old NMT platform. Playback is fine and is one of the strengths of the RPi2 but it does draw a lot of power and I can't avoid the little blotch from time to time. I am biased because I use Kodi on Chromebox which has a real CPU and it is not a kit.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,340
    Quote Originally Posted by BrettB View Post
    That being said, it would be "ideal" if your "new client solution" could support both an RPi2 (for lower-end, less-used locations like bedrooms, etc.) plus another medium-priced ($75-$100 USD?) device for all the time, main TV usage.
    One additional thought: I don't know how much the hardware/OS might affect troubleshoot, but from a support standpoint, it might be a good idea if we could come up with "standard"/"supported" medium-priced client that would be tested on and "officially supported."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    363
    Thanks for the input, information and links everyone.

    I found a used A110 on ebay and purchased it. I've decided to keep the household fleet based on the same hardware.

    I just hope the ebay unit works!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    252
    PM me if anyone looking for a Popcorn Hour as I have 3 (A100 and A110) and 1 HDX 1000 (everything works on it) box.

    2 of the Popcorn Hour HDMI port did not work on my TV so I used the Component ports and it worked fine. the other Popcorn Hour I have does not work as it came that way was going to repair it but never got to it so that one I will give away for the cost of shipping, I think I paid $25.00 for it that include shipping.

    dj

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •