Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Updated to 1.3, cannot add server anymore (remotely)

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    83,751
    Thinking about it. I'm guessing both your problems are related.

    If you run "ipconfig /all" in a command prompt, is 192.168.150.90 listed in the IP address assigned to your machine? My guess is it's a virtual adapter for VM software or something similiar you've got installed, and maybe the NextPVR recording service is incorrectly detecting this as your IP address, and reporting it to clients trying to discover the NextPVR server. If that's the case, I should able to give you an updated NRecord.exe to resolve.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,039
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Thinking about it. I'm guessing both your problems are related.

    If you run "ipconfig /all" in a command prompt, is 192.168.150.90 listed in the IP address assigned to your machine? My guess is it's a virtual adapter for VM software or something similiar you've got installed, and maybe the NextPVR recording service is incorrectly detecting this as your IP address, and reporting it to clients trying to discover the NextPVR server. If that's the case, I should able to give you an updated NRecord.exe to resolve.
    Just a possible idea here... I just stopped and restarted my recording service to make sure it was using the latest config.xml (where I had adjusted the Schedules Direct days to download). The first time I tried, I immediately restarted the recording service after stopping it. And looking in the NRecord.log file, I saw:
    Code:
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.418	[INFO][4]	RecordingService.Startup()
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.418	[INFO][4]	Starting remoting service (on port 8968)
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.458	[ERROR][4]	Error listing for recording service interface: System.Net.Sockets.SocketException (0x80004005): Only one usage of each socket address (protocol/network address/port) is normally permitted
       at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.DoBind(EndPoint endPointSnapshot, SocketAddress socketAddress)
       at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Bind(EndPoint localEP)
       at System.Net.Sockets.TcpListener.Start(Int32 backlog)
       at System.Runtime.Remoting.Channels.ExclusiveTcpListener.Start(Boolean exclusiveAddressUse)
       at System.Runtime.Remoting.Channels.Tcp.TcpServerChannel.StartListening(Object data)
       at System.Runtime.Remoting.Channels.Tcp.TcpServerChannel.SetupChannel()
       at System.Runtime.Remoting.Channels.Tcp.TcpServerChannel..ctor(Int32 port)
       at NShared.RecordingService.Startup()
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.458	[INFO][13]	ServiceLocatorThread() Hostname:  Wally
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.463	[DEBUG][10]	Requesting wake up for 'EPGWAKEUP-backup' at 10/10/2016 3:46 AM
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.463	[DEBUG][10]	Requesting wake up for 'EPGWAKEUP' at 10/10/2016 3:46 AM
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.463	[DEBUG][10]	Next EPG update time: 10/10/2016 3:46 AM
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.473	[INFO][9]	RecordingService starting...
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.473	[DEBUG][9]	Doing database vacuum
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.483	[INFO][13]	IP Address: 192.168.143.10
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.483	[ERROR][13]	Unexpected error in service locator thread: System.Net.Sockets.SocketException (0x80004005): Only one usage of each socket address (protocol/network address/port) is normally permitted
       at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.DoBind(EndPoint endPointSnapshot, SocketAddress socketAddress)
       at System.Net.Sockets.Socket.Bind(EndPoint localEP)
       at System.Net.Sockets.UdpClient..ctor(Int32 port, AddressFamily family)
       at NRecord.RecordingService.LocatorThread()
    2016-10-09 08:54:10.483	[INFO][4]	Starting web server on: 8866
    So, I think that it was trying to begin listening on sockets which had not completely closed down yet and got an error. I'm wondering if ga_mueller might have done the same thing (restarting Recording Service too quickly). When I tried again and waited a little bit before starting the Recording service back up, everything worked just fine.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    83,751
    Yep, could be that. I've seen Windows hold on to the socket for a little while before it's freed up. When this happens, killing the client can also help get it freed up quicker. Alternatively, try after a reboot.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    417
    I ran ipconfig /all on my nextpvr server, and it's the IP address of my DCR-2650, on my server! This is no biggee, I was just curious what was going on... hadn't thought it was a network device. I can wait until the next release to sort it out... thanks!

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    83,751
    Quote Originally Posted by ga_mueller View Post
    I ran ipconfig /all on my nextpvr server, and it's the IP address of my DCR-2650, on my server! This is no biggee, I was just curious what was going on... hadn't thought it was a network device. I can wait until the next release to sort it out... thanks!
    Give this patch a go. Hopefully it'll fix it. If not, you might need to supply the output of ipconfig /all, so I can check what your configuration looks like.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    417
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Give this patch a go. Hopefully it'll fix it. If not, you might need to supply the output of ipconfig /all, so I can check what your configuration looks like.
    After copying over NRecord.exe, I deleted the DCR-2650 IP, and now the app opens immediately to the correct server. btw, my wife LOVES this app on her Ipad mini for watching television... thanks!

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    83,751
    Quote Originally Posted by ga_mueller View Post
    After copying over NRecord.exe, I deleted the DCR-2650 IP, and now the app opens immediately to the correct server. btw, my wife LOVES this app on her Ipad mini for watching television... thanks!
    That's great!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •