Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Low-res fonts & fullscreen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30

    Low-res fonts & fullscreen

    I've been fiddling with NLite, and if I click the (windowed) fullscreen icon in the titlebar, the fonts look craggy, like they were blown up from the same size as the initial window (where they looked fine, but they were in a quarter-size window).

    I'm also wondering if there is a way to get the window into borderless fullscreen. I tried pressing F11 and Backslash without effect. I also tried passing "-help" to NLite.exe on the command-line to look for startup options, but it doesn't mention its usage with that.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Birmingham UK
    Posts
    140
    For fullscreen try Alt-Enter

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks for the hint about Ctrl+Enter -- I should have thought to try that.

    Here are 2 screenshots that show the font differences (I couldn't get them attached to the post):

    http://opencoder.net/screenshots/npvr.png
    http://opencoder.net/screenshots/nlight.png
    Last edited by WayneD; 2016-12-02 at 08:56 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,803
    This is a known issue.

    Nlite is rendering it's user interface for 1280x720, and the font look great at that default resolution. When you make the video bigger/smaller, the SDL graphics library it's using does a poor job of the scaling, making the text look fairly chunky. (generally ok across the room, but not great up close)

    NextPVR's native interface does the same type of thing, but does much nicer looking scaling.

    I'm sure I'll come up with a fix at some stage...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,803
    I've put an updated version at http://www.nextpvr.com/nlite-win32.zip which should improve things.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks! That is indeed much better -- it looks great!

    Is there a command-line switch to make it start in (borderless) full-screen mode?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,803
    No, not currently. It's on my to do list.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •