Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Web client NextPVR OSD mode questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,039

    Web client NextPVR OSD mode questions

    Martin,

    I've been using the web client with the NextPVR OSD mode since you enabled it.

    Tonight I was trying out a few things and found my remote buttons for changing subtitles and audio tracks were no longer working. After some experimentation, I found that if I switched the web client from NextPVR OSD mode to the regular Kodi OSD mode (by pressing the back button), then the subtitle and audio buttons began working again. So in NextPVR OSD mode are there different keys/buttons to toggle the subtitles and audio track? Or does that mode just prevent these functions from being passed to the Kodi player?

    Also, is there a way to switch back from the Kodi OSD mode to the NextPVR OSD mode?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,497
    The A/V options should come up with the NextPVR standards Alt-Y and Alt-G

    Exiting Full screen video is a Kodi keyboard function. It should be Esc with a keyboard not sure what you have for your remote with <button>FullScreen</button>

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,039
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    The A/V options should come up with the NextPVR standards Alt-Y and Alt-G
    On quick test, Alt-G didn't seem to do anything. And Alt-Y brings up a Kodi Context Menu pop-up that lists "VideoPlayer (Default)". I'll have to experiment with it more and get a debug log after work.

    I like the idea of allowing the standard NextPVR keys work. But it would be nice if the standard Kodi function/procedure calls could also work. (For instance if I use the Kodi remote app on my iPhone to toggle/select subtitles, I'd like for it to work whether in Kodi OSD mode or in NextPVR OSD mode.)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,497
    Checked here and these aren't exact matches since I wanted all choices. alt-g should be audio + subtitle and alt-y video options

    Check your debug log and if the keys pass an action name rather than a number I might be able to do something.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,039
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Checked here and these aren't exact matches since I wanted all choices. alt-g should be audio + subtitle and alt-y video options

    Check your debug log and if the keys pass an action name rather than a number I might be able to do something.
    OK. I did some testing with debugging enabled. See the kodi.log in the logs .zip which can be found here: https://bowmantech-my.sharepoint.com...EQRWiH8Oo6DmUM (I'm out of quota, so can't upload the logs here. )

    Here are the steps that I performed:
    Code:
    17:50 Turned on debug & enter X-NEWA & begin playing Stephen Colbert video
    17:52:04 Pressed Subtitle button on remote (x2) (no visible reaction) (Key reported as KEY_TITLE then 0x2c with no action)
    17:52:28 Pressed Audio button on remote (x2) (no visible/audible reaction) (Key reported as KEY_NUMERIC_POUND then 0x29 with no action)
    17:53:32 Select subtitle cc1 via Kodi remote app on iphone (no visible display)
    17:55:20 Select "Spanish" audio via Kodi remote app on iphone (seemed to switch audio track)
    17:56:29 Select "English" audio via Kodi remote app on iphone (seemed to switch audio track)
    17:58:10 Pressed space key on keyboard (to make sure keyboard active) (paused video)
    17:58:13 PRessed space key on keyboard (video resumed)
    17:59:34 & 17:59:40 & 17:59:47 Pressed Alt-g on keyboard (no visiable/audible reaction)
    18:00:14 Pressed Alt-y on keyboard (Kodi Context Menu popup displayed)
    18:00:31 Pressed Esc on keyboard to exit Context Menu
    18:01:46 Select subtitle cc1 via Kodi remote app on iphone (no visile display)
    18:02:24 Pressed back button on remote to switch from NextPVR OSD to Kodi OSD (subtitles begin being displayed)
    18:03:45 Pressed stop
    18:04:11 Resumed video play
    18:05:19 Pressed Subtitle button on remote (x2) (no visible reaction) (Key reported as KEY_TITLE then 0x2c with no action)
    18:06:06 Pressed back button on remote to switch from NextPVR OSD to Kodi OSD (no subtitles displayed)
    18:06:20 Pressed info button to make sure now in Kodi OSD mode
    18:07:08 Pressed Subtitle button on remote (Key reported as KEY_TITLE then 0x2c with Action NextSubtitle) (subtitles display)
    18:07:55 Pressed stop
    18:08:03 Toggle debug off

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,497
    For now I can't see I can do much with that Kodo remote The JSON API doesn't play with API calls it plays with the OSD and assumes Kodi skins. What I was hoping to see with ShowSubtitles which is what I can get with the T key to enable Descriptive Video/CC'ing

    Trying Hardy keycode for 0xf200 means the key is not defined in your setup so some keys won't be processed by web client. To get back to web client OSD you need to find a key that returns FullScreen to Kodi like the Esc key does, eg.

    08:58:05.615 T:12660 DEBUG: CInputManager::OnKey: escape (0xf01b) pressed, action is Fullscreen

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,039
    Hey, Martin. Sorry, but I'm not following your responses very well...

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    For now I can't see I can do much with that Kodo remote The JSON API doesn't play with API calls it plays with the OSD and assumes Kodi skins. What I was hoping to see with ShowSubtitles which is what I can get with the T key to enable Descriptive Video/CC'ing
    It's not a deal breaker for the Kodi remote app to not work, but it would be nice. But I do really want to figure out how to at least get the subtitles displayed somehow. Do you mean that pressing the T key should work? I tried that, too, and it didn't seem to work for me either. Any idea why Alt-g seems to work for you but not for me?

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Trying Hardy keycode for 0xf200 means the key is not defined in your setup so some keys won't be processed by web client. To get back to web client OSD you need to find a key that returns FullScreen to Kodi like the Esc key does, eg.

    08:58:05.615 T:12660 DEBUG: CInputManager::OnKey: escape (0xf01b) pressed, action is Fullscreen
    I think "Trying Hardy keycode for 0xf200..." has a typo, but I can't quite figure out what it is supposed to be. I can see if I've already got a button which maps to action Fullscreen, and if not, configure one to do that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,497
    The T works outside web client I can probably get ShowSubtitle working.

    ALT g is likely not supported by your configuration hence the hardy code return.

    Martin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,497
    @BrettB how would you like to invoke this? I have the # on the remote (labeled subtitle on the Hauppauge remote) and T and # on the keyboard.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •