Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Kodi keeps buffering and playing and buffering...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Tottenham
    Posts
    6

    Kodi keeps buffering and playing and buffering...

    And Playing when I select a channel on Kodi 16.1 MXQ TV Box,The only way I can stop it is to press the left arrow on the remote,it makes it skip back 10 seconds than it plays ok...?

    Its looks like its trying to buffer and then play and the buffer runs out then it buffers again then tries to play and starts all over again.

    Anyone know why..?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    84,357
    Maybe you're using wifi and it's unable to keep up?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Tottenham
    Posts
    6
    No its wired,connected to the router with a network cable and so is the NextPVR server,so its not that,if you look at the play button on the screen you can see it showing the play then pause icons as its doing it,so its playing then pausing to buffer then playing again and so on,what stops it too is if you pause it for 10 seconds but it can be hard to pause it cos it don't let you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,690
    Basically the words "Android", "TV Box" are meaningless since they don't mean you have a capable box. Even Kodi 16.1 is vague because of hacks some vendors put out with their firmware. For trouble shooting I'd start by installing SPMC and seeing if it helps.

    Also do recordings play better? If not make sure you play with any advanced options you have to turn on h/w video decoding in the settings.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    52
    If you are still monitoring this thread, when you switch to a channel, pause it for 2-3 seconds, then allow it to play. If it works without buffering all the time following this you will need to add a config to your advancedsettings.xml to allow more caching. I had the same problem with Android using 16.1. I have since moved to Kodio 17 which fixes the buffering issues, but deinterlacing looks like a giant toilet full poop. See the following links to give you an idea what to change.
    This shows you the structure of the advancedsettings and how it pertains to PVR - http://kodi.wiki/view/Advancedsettings.xml#pvr
    This post explains the settings a bit more in detail - http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...031#pid1366031
    The settings you are concerned about are these 2.
    <minvideocachelevel>5</minvideocachelevel>
    <minaudiocachelevel>10</minaudiocachelevel>

    I would double both values, reboot Kodi and try again. If that solves the problem, work your way backwards until you find that happy place. The larger the buffer the less likely you are to see the "buffering", but the long it will take the channel to "tune" between channel changes. I think I settled somewhere around 7 video and 12 audio......but I can't remember. Good luck
    Last edited by mrdally204; 2017-05-04 at 07:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,690
    If the poop you are seeing is on a channel change in Android that is a know Kodi bug, Kodi doesn't turn on h/w decoding after the change you need to stop and restart. I posted a link to a non supported apk somewhere here.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    52
    Kodi hardware deinterlacing on my Fire TV 2 is just atrocious. From what I gather it is an Amazon issue. But thank you, I was not aware of the channel change problem.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25,690
    That is a know FTV limitation, it doesn't do h/w interlacing so naturally it is not a good PVR client with 1080i. For me what is odd is some people don't seem to mind it.

    Martin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    US
    Posts
    2
    It is bug on 16.1, you can update to the latest kodi stable version 17.4 or try the beta version "leia" at https://www.androidapksbox.com/kodi/ to fix the issue.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •