Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: External HDMI capture device?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    85
    My cable provider just changed our service to a fiber optic cable with a Pace IPW8000 STB that transmits the signal via Wifi from a router with hdcp protection. I've been using the Colossus 2 and NextPVR for years and this has put a stop to my HTPC so I'm looking for any solution. They are the only cable company in my area and I'm now trapped in HDCP land! I just found this device and was wondering if anyone knows if this would work with NextPVR https://www.amazon.com/TBS-Capture-H...0752DNVCR?th=1 . And if not @Sub have you heard of anyone using the Hauppauge Rocket successfully? That sounds like what I would need if the device I just found will not work.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,807
    Quote Originally Posted by DParsons View Post
    My cable provider just changed our service to a fiber optic cable with a Pace IPW8000 STB that transmits the signal via Wifi from a router with hdcp protection. I've been using the Colossus 2 and NextPVR for years and this has put a stop to my HTPC so I'm looking for any solution. They are the only cable company in my area and I'm now trapped in HDCP land! I just found this device and was wondering if anyone knows if this would work with NextPVR https://www.amazon.com/TBS-Capture-H...0752DNVCR?th=1 . And if not @Sub have you heard of anyone using the Hauppauge Rocket successfully? That sounds like what I would need if the device I just found will not work.
    I'd just stick with your Colossus 2, and buy one of the $10 splitters that remove HDCP.

    That TBS device wouldn't work with NextPVR. You pretty much have to stick with the Hauppauge devices for HDMI.

    The Rocket device would work, and remove the HDCP, but in general the Colossus 2 is a better device, so I'd just remove the HDCP and keep the rest of the system you're already using.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    85
    Thanks I bookmarked the splitter device that was posted further up on this thread. I was hoping that would be the solution and thanks again for the input Sub that is exactly what I wanted to hear. I really want to maintain my current setup and it's good hear that is possible.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    85
    I've run into one more problem and that is my IR blaster software was from LM Gestion and their website is now gone and it looks like they are out business. I've been using them as the IR relaying software and channel changer for NextPVR via the MS-IR receiver/blaster from my original MCE Media Center setup. It all worked fine and still nearly works but I just can't get several channels to send their codes correctly now, and I can't get their support any more, or they may have been able to fix it for me. I've tried the IRSS but it fails on step 6 of these install instructions. https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthrea...hannel-Changer It does not ever even attempt to start to learn the IR codes instead immediately after clicking learn the IR code it says it did not learn the code without any delay or any chance of me ever pressing a button. I've seen the USB-UIRT and it looks like the only other choice I can find, but the IRSS suite looks like it would be perfect, but I need some help with it because it seems like it just will not work with win10. That is all I can imagine is the problem at the moment. Does anyone know if it will work with win10?

    O/S win10 x64
    STB: Pace IPW8000
    MCE IR receiver/blaster
    NextPVR v4.2.2
    IRSS v1.5.0.62

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    659
    I use IR Server Suite with a USB-UIRT on Windows 10 and it works just fine for both incoming commands from my remote as well as blasting to my STB.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    85
    Thanks, good to know that it should work. Not sure then what the problem is I've tried several times. I'm thinking maybe installing mediaportal might help or maybe it might have something to do with the MS MCE blaster I have. I'll have to see if their forums can help because it doesn't make sense to me I got five numbers memorized once and that was the best results I've had and usually it will only learn one or none at all.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    659
    I've never installed MediaPortal--that shouldn't make any difference. Probably something about your setup is not playing nice with your blaster. I've used IRSS with USB-UIRT on 3 machines without any hiccups.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Cayman Islands
    Posts
    85
    It didn't help! The problem sounds specific to this machine. If IRSS should be working for my setup then I'll do the fresh start option on my PC. I really just wanted to verify that IRSS, NextPVR and win10 will work and you've done that. I do have LM Gestion still installed and that might be the problem by itself. Thanks for the input I'll remove LM Gestion first and if that doesn't do it I'll reinstall windows and try it just with IRSS on my machine from a fresh start. With the whole htpc setup and all reinstalling is a hassle but that sounds like the best option to have the IR blaster work. It's a deal breaker with HTPC's just for the IR blasting not to work so I hope a reinstall of windows will work.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    I'd just stick with your Colossus 2, and buy one of the $10 splitters that remove HDCP.

    That TBS device wouldn't work with NextPVR. You pretty much have to stick with the Hauppauge devices for HDMI.

    The Rocket device would work, and remove the HDCP, but in general the Colossus 2 is a better device, so I'd just remove the HDCP and keep the rest of the system you're already using.
    Is this still the recommended equipment if purchasing new? I don't have an HDCP issue because that has already been removed. I just want to use NextPVR for recording from an HDMI output from another device at a scheduled time. I have an Elago HD-60 S but cant figure out how to use it for this purpose so I am purchasing new.
    Thanks,
    RickH

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,807
    The Colossus2/HDPVR2 are still the best choice. The Elgato device wouldn't be compatible with NextPVR.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •