Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40

Thread: New UI facelift anyone?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    It'd help if I can understand how you're trying to use this. Is this for the now page, or the tv guide, or some new page?

    Either way, I can definitely give you what you need, but understanding what you're trying to do, will help me determine if we already have call that does what you need.
    this is for channels/tv page that shows a grid of channels posted earlier. after you click a specific channel, i pull up all the listing for that channel.. now when i click a show/episode i want to open the popup to schedule it to record, etc. anyway, i have solved this by storing the info when the listing originally loaded in a variable "lookup" when needed.

    so with that solved... two things:
    now when you view a channel, i want to fetch the channel information, not the listings or anything, i only want to know if the channel exist. go to: /public/GuideService/Channel/<channel ID>
    what's the /service parameter equivalent to that? basically i'm using actually URLs when clicking stuff and not javascript attached to div (which i don't really like). using actual links like: channel.html?id=<channelid> i just want to check that it's a real link (sanitation check basically).

    one more thing.. when viewing guide data for a channel i want to highlight the rows that have been set to record, etc.. just like the guide does when there are events. however, i noticed that it requires another call to the database to know whether it has been scheduled. this is not a big deal as i can just do another call, but wondering if it would make more sense to just store the scheduled parameters in the same list?

    look at the image i attached. they are more or less the same (ID 1895114 / OID 1895114) except one stores a little more info and has the scheduled fields.. why not put them into one so only 1 call is needed when pulling the listing? im just curious about this, not a big deal.

    2nd picture is the page you get when you click a channel logo on the channel grid page.
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by stevie; 2017-10-18 at 11:20 PM.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    18
    collapsible channel listing..
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    84,566
    One thing I'd definitely change is that Times New Roman (or similar looking) font you're using for those dates. That font always looks old fashioned to me.

    Also, make sure any screens work on small screens, like phones etc.

    I'll PM you about a couple of other things.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    18
    yeah they seem a bit odd, i changed the fonts around 10 different times looking for a font that is sharp since my idea is to try to make the fonts as crisp as possible for easy reading with some bits of shadowing.
    the format should work on small screens since its fluid layout so should automatically adjust.

    check your PM.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Rock Hill, SC
    Posts
    220
    For fonts, you might want to take a look at https://fonts.google.com/. I have read that the Roboto(s) are popular.

    For icons: http://fontawesome.io/ is the go to.
    Server:
    CPU- Intel I3-4130, Ram - 8GB, HDD - 1TB, Turners - AVerMedia A188C PCIe Pure ATSC and SD Connect, OS - Win 10 Home, Router - TP-Link Archer C7(AC1750).

    Clients:
    Intel NUC CPU - Intel N3700, RAM - 4GB, SSD - 128GB, OS - Win 10, Wired Ethernet.
    Laptop - CPU AMD E-450 APU, RAM - 4GB, HDD - 128GB, OS - Win 10, WiFi.
    Acer Chromebook 14.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    18
    i discovered google fonts a couple weeks ago. i like Ubuntu https://fonts.google.com/specimen/Ubuntu
    i may consider using it in the future, but right now good ole trusty Tahoma, Geneva/sans-serif font-family works.

    recently i rewrote the channels listing i posted earlier as learned some tricks with javascript functions.

    rather than it be like a static listing - you know you load the page and it's 7:58 and have to wait until 8:01 until the new stuff appears after a manual refresh..
    well now the time/timers, progress bars, percentages, show name, etc. all are in near real-time as you view them in the UI, and as you view the channels grid everything continue to progress..

    i like this because i can leave the channels guide open and 30 mins later look at my tablet or monitor and it's a stream of Live EPG

    maybe next week i could let one of you folks who want to, test some of it..
    Last edited by stevie; 2017-10-29 at 03:56 AM.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Rock Hill, SC
    Posts
    220
    If you are still in the "mock' stage, you might want to consider putting your work up at https://codepen.io/. That way you just need to push a URL for any one who wants to take a look.
    Server:
    CPU- Intel I3-4130, Ram - 8GB, HDD - 1TB, Turners - AVerMedia A188C PCIe Pure ATSC and SD Connect, OS - Win 10 Home, Router - TP-Link Archer C7(AC1750).

    Clients:
    Intel NUC CPU - Intel N3700, RAM - 4GB, SSD - 128GB, OS - Win 10, Wired Ethernet.
    Laptop - CPU AMD E-450 APU, RAM - 4GB, HDD - 128GB, OS - Win 10, WiFi.
    Acer Chromebook 14.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    18
    apologies for the lack of updates.
    have some non-life threatening health issues i've been dealing with, but i am very much still working on this in-between other stuff.

    in fact, here's the new "On Now" page i'm brewing, still more work to do and i have so many ideas left, but shaping up okay despite some limitations on the backend which i had to create a few unorthodox approaches to make a more robust feature rich UI.

    i'm looking for someone that knows how to extract a single frame/image from the beginning of a ts video so i can create images for episodes in the library (i guess maybe similar to how kodi generates a image for each episode). i suppose it could be a script that runs after a recording, then puts the image in folder/cache.

    there is a feature in html5 canvas that can do this on the fly see example: http://demo.svnlabs.com/html5videocapture/
    play the video and you can capture a image frame from it, super fast too.. unfortunately it does not work on ts files, only mp4 and the more common video types.
    Last edited by stevie; Yesterday at 06:03 AM.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Rock Hill, SC
    Posts
    220
    Hmmmm. How are you going to account for padding and/or the CPU time could be off the "correct time" by a few seconds.

    The win 10 movies&tv app does this and I would say that maybe 98 out of 100 times the app shows either the credits of the prior show or the commercial leading into the actual show. I record with zero padding.

    You could try using FFMPEG. See this http://www.bugcodemaster.com/article...e-using-ffmpeg to get you started.
    Last edited by scJohn; 2017-11-22 at 09:36 PM.
    Server:
    CPU- Intel I3-4130, Ram - 8GB, HDD - 1TB, Turners - AVerMedia A188C PCIe Pure ATSC and SD Connect, OS - Win 10 Home, Router - TP-Link Archer C7(AC1750).

    Clients:
    Intel NUC CPU - Intel N3700, RAM - 4GB, SSD - 128GB, OS - Win 10, Wired Ethernet.
    Laptop - CPU AMD E-450 APU, RAM - 4GB, HDD - 128GB, OS - Win 10, WiFi.
    Acer Chromebook 14.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    18
    yeah, it won't be perfect, but i think it's a lot better than displaying nothing but an empty box in the library. i think kodi just pulls a still frame from like the first 10-15 seconds of the video. sometimes it's lucky and grabs an image of show name,etc. but most of the time its just a random image from the beginning of the video.

    here is a better representation of the On now page.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •