Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Web User Credentials

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    15

    Web User Credentials

    When attempting to access the web interface, I am prompted for credentials (sometimes), and cannot access the rest of the interface without providing them.

    Where are these credentials set?

    The only credentials I know I am providing to the system are the admin name and password on NextPVR Settings "Client" page, but these do not appear to be the credentials that are in force here.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    26,195
    They are set in NEWA classic interface. They should only be required if you don't have a private IP or if you have changed the defaults and you are not calling from localhost. Send logs if this is not the case.

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    15
    I am using the Modern interface, but other than that it is probably as you describe - it probably asks me when I access it from remotely, using my home IP address.

    So the user on the remote end of the web interface types some credentials; to what is it then comparing? I don't see anywhere in the interface where I can define allowed users of the interface. I manage to get in using some guesses at credentials I generally use, but I'm not sure how it's deciding they are legitimate. It's not the admin credentials that I can set in the NextPVR settings / Client / Web Server.

    What I'm trying to do is add another user who is not me, with a different password.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    86,538
    Quote Originally Posted by TheFritz View Post
    What I'm trying to do is add another user who is not me, with a different password.
    Sorry, it's not multi-user. There is only a single user.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    15
    (slapping forehead)

    Even if it can only have one set - where is it getting the credentials? That's all I'm trying to figure out. What name and password is it expecting, and where can I set that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    86,538
    From memory, the default username and password is admin/password, but you need to change them BOTH for access from a remote location. They're set on the Settings->Clients screen.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Oregon USA
    Posts
    15
    I see, yes I had set both those. That seems like the obvious, but it didn't seem right because the length of the password (represented by asterisks) didn't match the length of the password that was working. It appears that the asterisks do not represent the length of the password. I presume this is intentional.

    Thanks for the help,
    TheFritz

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    86,538
    Correct. The number of asterisks do not represent the length of the text. In fact, NextPVR has no idea what you password was - it just stores a hash of it...so couldn't show the number of asterisks even if it wanted to.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    26,195
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Sorry, it's not multi-user. There is only a single user.
    I believe you can add a guest non-admin user account via

    http://localhost:8866/Admin2.aspx

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •