Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DVB-C EPG update using only one channel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Schagen, the Netherlands
    Posts
    902

    DVB-C EPG update using only one channel

    Our TV network provider Ziggo broadcasts the full EPG of every possible channel on each channel. So for a full EPG update I only need NextPVR to scan one channel/frequency for one minute. I've tested this by emptying the EPG from the Settings window, selecting one channel on the Channels section and push the "Update EPG" button. This gives me a full guide for all my channels. So technically this works fine. My wish is to have the option in Settings -> Misc2 to select a specific channel for the auto update EPG.

    Chris
    i5 750 4GB RAM, Windows 10 Home, HDHomeRun HDHR3-4DC, Digital Devices Cine CT, OSCam on a Raspberry Pi with a Smargo Smartreader+, Raspberry Pi 2 OpenElec Kodi client, Gigabyte Brix 2807 OpenElec Kodi client

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK / Ireland
    Posts
    507
    Just a thought, if this were to be added it would be convenient for DVB-T as well. However, I would like to be able to set to scan from two multiplexes (one for UK transmissions, one for Ireland).
    "It's better than a box!"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    86,606
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheik Yerbouti View Post
    I've tested this by emptying the EPG from the Settings window, selecting one channel on the Channels section and push the "Update EPG" button.
    The 'Update EPG' doesn't look if you got a channel selected. It always does a full EPG update (ie, would do every frequency).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    86,606
    I've added an 'Advanced DVB/ATSC EPG Settings' button in the next release which will let you control which frequencies are scanned, and some other settings.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Schagen, the Netherlands
    Posts
    902
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    I've added an 'Advanced DVB/ATSC EPG Settings' button in the next release which will let you control which frequencies are scanned, and some other settings.
    Great! Could it be you already have some functionality that makes it scan only one frequency? Because in the past it used to scan each frequency for one minute, and now it always scans frequency 466000 only and saves the EPG after this, exactly what I want it to do. I thought it was because I selected a channel before scanning, but, like you mentioned, that's not checked by the Update EPG. It looks like I made a wish for something that already sort of there, sorry. I'm curious how this technique works.

    Chris
    i5 750 4GB RAM, Windows 10 Home, HDHomeRun HDHR3-4DC, Digital Devices Cine CT, OSCam on a Raspberry Pi with a Smargo Smartreader+, Raspberry Pi 2 OpenElec Kodi client, Gigabyte Brix 2807 OpenElec Kodi client

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    I've added an 'Advanced DVB/ATSC EPG Settings' button in the next release which will let you control which frequencies are scanned, and some other settings.
    Looking forward to trying this out, the EPG download is a bugbear currently.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    86,606
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheik Yerbouti View Post
    Great! Could it be you already have some functionality that makes it scan only one frequency?
    No - there wasn't anything like this up until now. There was some functionality kind of like this for Freesat, but it was Freesat specific, and only happened if you switched your channels from 'DVB/ATSC EPG' to 'Freesat EPG'.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •