Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Time for a new HTPC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    167

    Time for a new HTPC

    Hi Everyone,

    It is time for my HTPC v3. I am looking at either building or using a small/mini form factor pre made. This one has lasted now almost 10 years on about $600 in spend. I doubt my next one will. Trying to keep it reasonable.

    I am looking to either again has Next PVR as my main GUI or something else where I can access nextflix, etc....

    Ideas, thoughts, wishes, lessons are all appreciated.
    Intel Core i3-530 Clarkdale 2.93GHz, ASUS P7H55D-M, 4GB DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333, 1.5TB SATA 3.0 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (depreciated), SiliconDust HDHomerun Prime, Harmony One
    Asus Pundit-R, Celron 2.4 Ghz, 1.5 GB RAM, 300 GB Seagate HD, 2 PVR-250

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,949
    Quote Originally Posted by kirschey View Post
    I am looking to either again has Next PVR as my main GUI or something else where I can access nextflix, etc....
    Can you get what you want by sticking with the existing HTPC and getting a Fire TV or Roku stick for Netflix and all that ... You already have the Harmony remote so an extra device shouldn't be a hassle.
    i5 750 2.67 GHz, 6 Gig, 1000 Gig, Nvidia N710
    2 x Hauppauge WinTV QuadHD DVB-T2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    167
    Firestick-like seems good for the Netflix. For the NPVR server machine will need a refresh though and space is a concern. It works sort of, but over time has slowed down and my fans seem to no be working as well. I believe I added a 3 or 4 TB drive a year back and added a little thermal paste, but it isn’t exactly speedy.
    Intel Core i3-530 Clarkdale 2.93GHz, ASUS P7H55D-M, 4GB DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333, 1.5TB SATA 3.0 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (depreciated), SiliconDust HDHomerun Prime, Harmony One
    Asus Pundit-R, Celron 2.4 Ghz, 1.5 GB RAM, 300 GB Seagate HD, 2 PVR-250

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Rock Hill, SC
    Posts
    252
    How much transcoding do you expect the server to be doing. Someone correct me if I'm wrong but when NextPVR uses FFMPEG to do transcoding, its all CPU. No GPU.
    Server:
    CPU- Intel I5-8400, Ram -12GB, SSD - 128GB, HDD - 1TB, Turners - Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD, OS - Win 10 Home, Router - TP-Link Archer C7(AC1750).

    Clients:
    Intel NUC CPU - Intel N3700, RAM - 4GB, SSD - 128GB, OS - Win 10, Wired Ethernet.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    167
    It’s a good point. I tend to record three using the Silicone Dust HD Home run prime while watching one. I used to record more when there was analog but alas those days are over and over the air doesn’t work well here.

    How is the Intel NUC for a client?
    Intel Core i3-530 Clarkdale 2.93GHz, ASUS P7H55D-M, 4GB DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333, 1.5TB SATA 3.0 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (depreciated), SiliconDust HDHomerun Prime, Harmony One
    Asus Pundit-R, Celron 2.4 Ghz, 1.5 GB RAM, 300 GB Seagate HD, 2 PVR-250

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,949
    Quote Originally Posted by kirschey View Post
    How is the Intel NUC for a client?

    NextPVR uses very little of a "modern" computer. NextPVR creates recordings by copying the digital stream from the tuner to disk requiring little from the computer. Playback is handled by video acceleration hardware in the graphics processor and graphics processors have been handling anything up to H.264 for years.

    In short, almost any computer will do for recording and playback. You can probably reassure yourself by starting three simultaneous recordings and watching Live TV and watching the detail view of Task Manager to see how little resource is used.

    I would not expect transcoding to be a problem unless you have more than about two simultaneous clients. But, again its something that you can test and watch in Task Manager.
    i5 750 2.67 GHz, 6 Gig, 1000 Gig, Nvidia N710
    2 x Hauppauge WinTV QuadHD DVB-T2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Rock Hill, SC
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by kirschey View Post
    How is the Intel NUC for a client?
    I was debating between a NUC and nvidia shield tv. At the time, I had a WIN7 Pro license that I could use to install WIN10 and an extra SSD. So the total cost of the 2 were about the same. The NUCs make for a nice client. Today, I think I would go with the Shield TV. Once you add the cost of memory, SSD and Win OS, a NUC get's to be expensive for a client.

    I would look at the newest NUC(with the quad-core Intel Pentium Silver J5005 CPU) for a server. Add 8GB(2 sticks of 4) of memory and a 2TB HDD. Should be able to handle 2-3 transcoding streams at the same time. If your transcoding is going to heavy the you would have to go up to Gen 8 I5 that has 6 cores.
    Last edited by scJohn; 2018-05-14 at 05:53 PM.
    Server:
    CPU- Intel I5-8400, Ram -12GB, SSD - 128GB, HDD - 1TB, Turners - Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD, OS - Win 10 Home, Router - TP-Link Archer C7(AC1750).

    Clients:
    Intel NUC CPU - Intel N3700, RAM - 4GB, SSD - 128GB, OS - Win 10, Wired Ethernet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    North Gloucestershire, England
    Posts
    775
    As has been said you dont need powerful processors to record and play back even HD video! For about 5 years I have been using an HP Microserver which has been more than adequate to run a twin DVB-S/S2 tuner card internally and externally a DVB-T and a DVB-T/T2 USB tuner cards. There is room for 4 plug in disks but some people with a bit of work put a 5th in the DVD space. It lives in the top of a wardrobe in spare bedroom! HP often do cashback which makes then cheap!

    I have four clients all running X-NEWA on Kodi to play recordings on the server. (1) RPi2 (2) Celeron Nettop (3) E450 Nettop [all 3 running LibreElec] (4) Amazon Fire stick. All play HD & SD recordings without any problems.
    NextPVR Server - HP N54L Microserver, Windows 7 - Storage 2 X 3TB - Tuners DVBSky S952 Twin DVB-S/S2 PCIe, August T210 DVB-T/T2 USB, KWorld UB499-2T Twin DVB-T USB.
    Clients:- RPi2, Acer RL80 Celeron & Acer RL70 E-450 Nettops, all running X-NEWA on LibreElec plus Amazon Fire Stick (32bit) running X-NEWA on Kodi.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    26,378
    Quote Originally Posted by scJohn View Post
    How much transcoding do you expect the server to be doing. Someone correct me if I'm wrong but when NextPVR uses FFMPEG to do transcoding, its all CPU. No GPU.
    Yes transcoding is done externally using ffmpeg

    This is the key decision point. If you plan on using clients like the web browser, Emby, Apple or Android (most devices) you will require transcoding and probably a higher end CPU, not sure if an i3 can cut it. Kodi and NextPVR clients don't need transcoding.

    Martin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    167
    Thanks all. Now, I am looking at the 8th gen NUC, Maybe an M2 drive...500GB, 8 GB ram and an external enclosure for my 6 tb HD, maybe a little optaine. I was thinking of also comskip processing which kills.

    I was thinking of an apple TV, but if it requires transcoding on the fly, maybe not. Kodi I could do...but I know there are issues with Amazon, and Netflix.

    Any other suggestions?
    Intel Core i3-530 Clarkdale 2.93GHz, ASUS P7H55D-M, 4GB DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333, 1.5TB SATA 3.0 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (depreciated), SiliconDust HDHomerun Prime, Harmony One
    Asus Pundit-R, Celron 2.4 Ghz, 1.5 GB RAM, 300 GB Seagate HD, 2 PVR-250

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •