Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: NLite for Mac

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    87,299

    NLite for Mac

    I've had a nlite client for the Mac for a couple of years, but I'd never packaged it up and released it (because I know nothing about packaging Mac apps). I was using it over the weekend and thought I really should try to make it available.

    So if someone has got a Mac and want to help me see if it works, you can download the image from https://nextpvr.com/nlite.dmg

    To use it, just open the dmg file, and click on the nlite executable. With any luck you should see the familiar NextPVR interface a few seconds later.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,055
    Gave it a go, got "no mountable file systems" when double clicking the dmg. I'm not a Mac expert, so may be operator error. Dunno.
    HTPC: Optiplex 7010, HDHR Prime/Avermedia Duet A188, NPVR 4.0.4, Win7 Pro
    Test: Asus H110M, Pentium G4500, NPVR 3.9.2, Win7 Home Premium

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    87,299
    Thanks for the giving it a go - not really sure why you'd get that message. I did a quick google on possible causes, but it's not really any clearer. We'll see if others encounter the same error.

    I might need to do a bit more reading on how to package up Mac apps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,246
    No luck here (2 months before I have to hand my Mac back I might add, having asked for this 2 years ago!!)

    I first had to tell it to "open anyway" as it is from an ungrecognised developer and block by default on my machine

    https://support.apple.com/kb/ph25088?locale=en_US

    $ /Volumes/binaries/nlite ; exit;
    dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2
    Referenced from: /Volumes/binaries/nlite
    Reason: image not found
    Abort trap: 6
    logout
    Saving session...
    ...copying shared history...
    ...saving history...truncating history files...
    ...completed.

    [Process completed]

    http://www.mameworld.info/ubbthreads...d&sb=7&o=&vc=1
    “If this is the way Queen Victoria treats her prisoners, she doesn't deserve to have any.”

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    87,299
    Quote Originally Posted by gEd View Post
    No luck here (2 months before I have to hand my Mac back I might add, having asked for this 2 years ago!!)

    I first had to tell it to "open anyway" as it is from an ungrecognised developer and block by default on my machine

    https://support.apple.com/kb/ph25088?locale=en_US

    $ /Volumes/binaries/nlite ; exit;
    dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2
    Referenced from: /Volumes/binaries/nlite
    Reason: image not found
    Abort trap: 6
    logout
    Saving session...
    ...copying shared history...
    ...saving history...truncating history files...
    ...completed.

    [Process completed]

    http://www.mameworld.info/ubbthreads...d&sb=7&o=&vc=1
    Thanks for giving it a go. Can you try http://nextpvr.com/nlite.dmg again? I've updated it to include the SDL framework in it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,055
    Same "no mountable file system" on the 29/30 May version. I'm on El Capitan 10.11.6. Found this, does it make any sense:

    https://forum.qt.io/topic/86672/qt-d...bility-issue/4

    Or it might be an app store issue?

    I also tried the command line hdiutil, but got the same error.
    Last edited by mikeh49; 2018-05-30 at 02:57 AM.
    HTPC: Optiplex 7010, HDHR Prime/Avermedia Duet A188, NPVR 4.0.4, Win7 Pro
    Test: Asus H110M, Pentium G4500, NPVR 3.9.2, Win7 Home Premium

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,246
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Thanks for giving it a go. Can you try http://nextpvr.com/nlite.dmg again? I've updated it to include the SDL framework in it.
    no change - same error. It's the new version as I have the SDL folders within Framework
    for giggles I tried to run the SDL2 file

    $ /Volumes/binaries/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2 ; exit;
    -bash: /Volumes/binaries/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2: cannot execute binary file
    logout
    Saving session...
    ...copying shared history...
    ...saving history...truncating history files...
    ...completed.
    “If this is the way Queen Victoria treats her prisoners, she doesn't deserve to have any.”

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,411
    Quote Originally Posted by gEd View Post
    no change - same error. It's the new version as I have the SDL folders within Framework
    for giggles I tried to run the SDL2 file

    $ /Volumes/binaries/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2 ; exit;
    -bash: /Volumes/binaries/Frameworks/SDL2.framework/Versions/A/SDL2: cannot execute binary file
    logout
    Saving session...
    ...copying shared history...
    ...saving history...truncating history files...
    ...completed.
    I'm seeing the same error on a 10.13.3 macbook.

    I no next to nothing about using a mac though, despite having this one lying in the office for occasional testing of our software, but happy to help where I can...

    Iain
    NextPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    26,448
    If anyone wants to have a go at getting this working (and can open the dmg) let me know. I am very new to a Mac but I can see some issues that I think I can work around.

    Martin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    1,055
    I can give it a try but not sure what you mean by open the dmg. I just tried again and got the "no mountable file systems" error. I'm Mac ignorant, so not familiar with the terminology. dmg = disk image? Can be mounted as a separate (from the installing system) file system? Can be unpacked like a Windows install file?

    I might be of no help.

    BTW, El Capitan 10.11.6. Too old?
    HTPC: Optiplex 7010, HDHR Prime/Avermedia Duet A188, NPVR 4.0.4, Win7 Pro
    Test: Asus H110M, Pentium G4500, NPVR 3.9.2, Win7 Home Premium

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •