Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Timeshift buffer size/rotation configuration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    62

    Timeshift buffer size/rotation configuration

    Hello,

    Since now timeshift is working with my Kodi Nextpvr addon, would there be any chance of instead of having the standard <xxx> minutes buffer to be able to expose how much buffer in either terms of minutes or at least at disk size timeshift buffer would be?

    I remember sub described that there are three files rotating, can we be able to adjust the rotation period or those three files maximum size from anywhere in the configuration?

    Yesterday for example I paused live TV for more than 1 hour and once I got back to watch it, it froze at some point in time, which I guess was because the buffer was overwritten at some point...

    Thanks and regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    87,677
    Quote Originally Posted by aderlopas View Post
    I remember sub described that there are three files rotating, can we be able to adjust the rotation period or those three files maximum size from anywhere in the configuration?
    You can't change the number of files, you can change the duration of the slip file by tweaking a registry setting.

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \Software\Wow6432Node\NPVR\SlipSeconds=1200 (DWORD).

    The default is 1200 seconds (in decimal), aka 20 minutes. ie 20*60=1200

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    26,695
    Regardless of this setting, Kodi cannot directly access it via http it is live streaming only. I think the new Kodi implementation caches on the client which is were the buffer would need to be. It may need to be huge especially for movies and sporting events.

    Matin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    I am running Kodi with NPVR for live TV OTA. Are you saying that there is no way to pause live TV in Kodi?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    26,695
    Quote Originally Posted by tpflum View Post
    I am running Kodi with NPVR for live TV OTA. Are you saying that there is no way to pause live TV in Kodi?
    No you can pause but i believe there could be limits on how long you can pause. The developer of the v18 timeshift implementation would need to elaborate on this. OTA HD in US and Canada takes a lot of buffer space especially for 1080i.

    Martin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    I am running Kodi with NPVR for live TV OTA. Are you saying that there is no way to pause live TV in Kodi?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    26,695
    Not sure why you double posted after my reply.

    Martin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    87,677
    Quote Originally Posted by tpflum View Post
    I am running Kodi with NPVR for live TV OTA. Are you saying that there is no way to pause live TV in Kodi?
    Sure, you can pause live tv in Kodi.

    It's currently a bit ugly if you try to pause for longer than 20 minutes, but if you find yourself needing to do this, you can tweak the registry setting mentioned above, to make it buffer longer.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Sure, you can pause live tv in Kodi.

    It's currently a bit ugly if you try to pause for longer than 20 minutes, but if you find yourself needing to do this, you can tweak the registry setting mentioned above, to make it buffer longer.



    The pause icon shows up and works nicely with recorded movies. When viewing live TV, neither stations OTA though NPVR or IPTV stations, have a pause icon available. When first selecting a TV station, I see the station video on the left side underneath the station list. There is a sidebar available with pause icon but it doesn't work. If I select the station again or the full screen icon in the sidebar, I have full screen video of the station but no pause icon or sidebar. Any suggestions? I have plenty of disk space available for buffering on my PC.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    87,677
    Quote Originally Posted by tpflum View Post
    The pause icon shows up and works nicely with recorded movies. When viewing live TV, neither stations OTA though NPVR or IPTV stations, have a pause icon available. When first selecting a TV station, I see the station video on the left side underneath the station list. There is a sidebar available with pause icon but it doesn't work. If I select the station again or the full screen icon in the sidebar, I have full screen video of the station but no pause icon or sidebar. Any suggestions? I have plenty of disk space available for buffering on my PC.
    Are you using the latest Kodi 18? Is timeshift enabled in the NextPVR addon settings?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •