Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: hauppauge colossus 2 with sky

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    kent
    Posts
    127

    hauppauge colossus 2 with sky

    hi
    im looking at buying one of these (hauppauge colossus 2) to use with a sky box in the uk. i was hopeing, i can use this with npvr and be able to see all the sky channels on the tv guide as well as other channels. also, being able to select and veiw via npvr. would any body be able to help me ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,415
    You'd probably need one of the cheap hdmi splitters that strip hdcp, so that the sky box content can be recorded. You'd also need to find an EPG source (ScheduleDirect, or XMLTV)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    kent
    Posts
    127
    Great thank sub. So, I should be able to see sky's channel list from 1 to 1000 any click any channel that I desire with out haveing to manually do any thing with the sky box I was reading this forum earlier https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthrea...-Blaster/page2
    What the Dual output RF2 Sky Controller for ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,415
    Quote Originally Posted by spudjg1 View Post
    Great thank sub. So, I should be able to see sky's channel list from 1 to 1000 any click any channel that I desire with out haveing to manually
    It'll be just be the normal NextPVR - any channels and tv guide you've setup will show up in the NextPVR Guide screen, and you can watch live tv or schedule recordings. Whenever the application needs to use a channel, it'll use whatever blaster you've told it to use, to make sure the set top box is on the correct channel.

    do any thing with the sky box I was reading this forum earlier https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthrea...-Blaster/page2
    What the Dual output RF2 Sky Controller for ?
    I'm not in the UK, so don't really know anything about this specific set top box. If the blaster that comes with the Colossus2 doesn't work with the Sky box, then you'll probably need to add a 3rd party blaster.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,125
    Quote Originally Posted by spudjg1 View Post
    Great thank sub. So, I should be able to see sky's channel list from 1 to 1000 any click any channel that I desire with out haveing to manually do any thing with the sky box I was reading this forum earlier https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthrea...-Blaster/page2
    What the Dual output RF2 Sky Controller for ?
    It might help to think of it from the point of view of the Sky box ... which thinks that the Colossus is a TV and sends a HDMI signal to the Colossus as it would to a TV. The Sky box thinks that the PC running the NextPVR Recording Service is a human with a remote in his hand ... changing the channel on the Sky box. Typically, NextPVR can receive only one channel at a time from the Sky box (because the Sky box only allows you to connect one TV at a time). You might be able to do something clever if the Sky box is able to send a signal to a second TV and you can find a tuner or other device that can pretend to be the second TV and pass a second channel to NextPVR.
    i5 750 2.67 GHz, 6 Gig, 1000 Gig, Nvidia N710
    2 x Hauppauge WinTV QuadHD DVB-T2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,509
    Quote Originally Posted by spudjg1 View Post
    Great thank sub. So, I should be able to see sky's channel list from 1 to 1000 any click any channel that I desire with out haveing to manually do any thing with the sky box I was reading this forum earlier https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthrea...-Blaster/page2
    What the Dual output RF2 Sky Controller for ?
    From the linked post it seems to be a way to control the sky box with rs232 instead of an ir blaster. Not all PC's have serial ports now.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    kent
    Posts
    127
    Thanks Guys

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    kent
    Posts
    127
    Quote Originally Posted by Graham View Post
    It might help to think of it from the point of view of the Sky box ... which thinks that the Colossus is a TV and sends a HDMI signal to the Colossus as it would to a TV. The Sky box thinks that the PC running the NextPVR Recording Service is a human with a remote in his hand ... changing the channel on the Sky box. Typically, NextPVR can receive only one channel at a time from the Sky box (because the Sky box only allows you to connect one TV at a time). You might be able to do something clever if the Sky box is able to send a signal to a second TV and you can find a tuner or other device that can pretend to be the second TV and pass a second channel to NextPVR.
    would you know, if it be possible to access sky catch up service (on demand) on the sky box via npvr as well or would it just be the channels ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,509
    The tuner settings in NextPVR just send commands to change channels. You could also tune to the shows manually and capture with NextPVR but it is better with sub's capture4me application.

    Martin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    kent
    Posts
    127
    i would like to use a sky q box is there a good capture card that works with npvr for 4k hdr ?
    Last edited by spudjg1; 2018-11-08 at 10:06 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •