Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PVR wont play with Android TV MRMC or KODI - ShieldTV and MiBox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    10

    PVR wont play with Android TV MRMC or KODI - ShieldTV and MiBox

    I am having trouble with Android TV boxes. TV will not load, kodi shows nextpvr is no longer available. I have tried the stable releases and beta releases of MrMC and Kodi on a nvidia shield and Mi Box, I also tried updating NPVR. Works fine on my appleTV and Raspberry Pi

    Logs: https://drive.google.com/open?id=14Z...91P4M6LEfLIiow

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,156
    You'll probably need to post the Kodi.log, with debug logging enabled.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    10

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,156
    Quote Originally Posted by bighick View Post
    TV will not load, kodi shows nextpvr is no longer available.
    What does this mean exactly? Is it only a problem when you try to watch live tv, or the addon never loads, or something else? In the logs, it looks ok - I can see it logging in, asking for recording lists etc.

    Given it's working on your Kodi on your AppleTV and RPi, it is just sounding like a Kodi/MrMC Android bug. We don't specifically develop for or test the Kodi addon with Android, it usually works fine, but no guarantees from us.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,155
    To me this error

    Code:
    2018-11-28 20:18:38.205	[DEBUG][65]	Checking for close notifications for sid: default
    2018-11-28 20:18:38.205	[DEBUG][65]	Renewed lease. (560007)@2...
    2018-11-28 20:18:38.208	[DEBUG][25]	Renewed lease(2)... (560006)
    2018-11-28 20:18:41.880	[DEBUG][50]	Renewed lease(2)... (590008)
    2018-11-28 20:18:42.851	[DEBUG][88]	Renewed lease(2)... (5A0002)
    2018-11-28 20:18:43.032	[DEBUG][75]	Renewed lease(2)... (560009)
    shows the Kodi/NextPVR timeshifting bug where tuners get "stolen" and you need to restart the server PC. I suspect if you reboot and try your shield it will work but other devices will eventually fail.

    If you turn off timeshifting this problem seems to disappear. Alternatively using v18 might have different results. I haven't seen that specific error with v18 but there I have seen other problems.

    Martin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    10
    Sub: so in Kodi it will play for around 4 seconds and freeze. In MrMC it wont even start to show the video.

    Martin: This is getting weird. I tried this in Kodi v17 and 18
    In Kodi: Disabled timeshifting in the plugin advanced settings seems to be working for about 10 minutes. I can still even pause/ff/rw...
    In MrMC: Disabled timeshifting the same way. Seems to be working but I can not pause or rewind.

    Does this sound more like a Kodi issue or a NextPVR plugin issue so I know where to go this weekend to continue troubleshooting?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,155
    I think there are multiple timeshifting bugs one in Kodi and one in how an error is handled in NextPVR causing the lost tuners. I have not been able to duplicate it and no one ever sent logs from Kodi and NextPVR showing where the problem starts (I think it is related to the sid changing to default probably after a timeout of somesort). I guess we need to wait for logs from v18 now.

    Stopping and pausing might work on a local buffer when timeshifting is disabled but not for anything "real".

    Martin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    10
    I have my kodi logs attached above (mrmc i guess). I also have a post over at the MRMC forums to see if they have any ideas.
    Edit- i did remove my hauppauge tuner a few weeks ago but havent used my android clients in months so not sure if that could be related. Is there a way to only save the tuner/channel/epg mapping but start over? I could start a fresh install but am not looking forward to manually going through 120 channels to find the 56 i use.
    Last edited by bighick; 2018-11-30 at 05:12 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,155
    I only see the server side logs and not the client debug logs. It is tricky because usually multiple clients are involved.

    Posting on the Kodi or mrmc forums is a waste of time without the debug logs. You need to trigger the error and quickly capture and send as much information as possible. You also need to be using v18 on the client since the timeshift logic has changed.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •