Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Multiple IPTV Devices

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,149

    Multiple IPTV Devices

    Sub, it would be really useful to allow multiple IPTV device instances to make it easier to add and delete multiple providers and for me to allow the proper prioritization of channels.

    In addition I hope that NextPVR will allow a configurable limit on how many channels each IPTV device can tune simultaneously.

    Martin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,153
    The intention was really that you just import as many m3u8 urls into the one IPTV device. It currently stores a connection limit per m3u8.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,149
    As I manual add url's that logic doesn't really apply though.

    It also doesn't allow prioritization between m3u8's having the same channel which could be merged. Can one m3u8 be removed leaving the others?

    Martin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,149
    Is it really difficult to do this for v5? I know when I added my capture addon, It wasn't too bad. The reason I ask is that without HDPVR support NextPVR off Windows will be pretty useless for me. On the SageTV forums they talk about these devices that work like iptv or http streamers that would work but I really find using the current UI is going to bug me as I add radio, IPTV and HDMI capture devices.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,153
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Is it really difficult to do this for v5?
    Yeah, I probably can do something there.

    On the SageTV forums they talk about these devices that work like iptv or http streamers that would work
    Do you mean an HDMI to IP type device? I tried a TBS one a while back and it worked well. It was a pretty small, cheap device, with HDMI input, ethernet port, and power supply. You could connect to a web page on the device if you needed to change bitrate etc.

    I just had a quick browse on their website, and can't seem to see the same device. They've got a lot more variety on this front than they used to, but most of that seems to more aimed at pro setups.

    It looked something like this:
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DHL-...769968861.html

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,149
    There are a few devices, what I will like buy is a BM1000 or BM3000 if I can find them, since there seems to be some positive experience on the SageTV Forum with them https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63177

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,153
    The TBS one I tried looked like this one:
    https://www.tbsdtv.com/products/tbs2...o-encoder.html

    but this TBS one seems to do H.265/H.264, whereas the one I'd tried was cheaper and only did H.264.

    I'm guessing they're probably based on the same preference design as those BM1000/3000 devices.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,149
    I expect there are probably only af few chips that do this. I'd like an HEVC encoder maybe I will "justify" the purchase that way! Of course I will need a multiplatform blaster now too.

    Martin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,153
    Must admit, I'm even tempted myself, to get a device that does HEVC. I see they even have ones that do 4K etc, but they're a bit pricey and I don't really need that at this stage.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •