Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: NextPVR Live TV Web Stream Crashes in Google Chrome

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Carmel NY
    Posts
    8

    NextPVR Live TV Web Stream Crashes in Google Chrome

    I am running NextPVR using an HDHomerun and a cable card on a Windows 10 network. I am unable to stream live TV successfully for any length of time as the stream will stop with the message "A network error has caused the video download to fail part-way". It happens on Ethernet and WiFi connections. The stream will start again and run for an undetermined amount of time if the browser window is refreshed but then the same error will occur. There is no issues using Edge browser but I prefer to use Chrome instead if I can. I have recreated the error on other Windows 10 machines on the same network also. It even occurs on the same machine the NextPVR server is installed. It works fine using Kodi so it's most likely related to the Chrome browser. I have inquired at Google about his but to no avail. I'm just wondering if anyone here has come across this issue. Thank you very much an assistance.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,125
    Recreate the problem and then ... On the NextPVR server machine ... go to NextPVR Settings --> About and click the button to zip the logs ... Attach the logs to a post telling us the time that you saw the problem so that we know where to look in the logs. Thanks.
    i5 750 2.67 GHz, 6 Gig, 1000 Gig, Nvidia N710
    2 x Hauppauge WinTV QuadHD DVB-T2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Carmel NY
    Posts
    8
    OK thank you for your help. It occurred quickly at 1156 AM on the server machine while it was being streamed to a network computer. The server machine is a Windows 10 PC. Intel I3 with 16 Gigabytes of RAM.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27,737
    How fast is your PC? You need a beefy machine to transcode HD mpeg2+ac3 to web compatible format in real time. It seems like it was just able to keep up but it took a long time to buffer.


    2019-03-14 11:53:50.438 [DEBUG][58] Executing: C:\Program Files (x86)\NPVR\Other\ffmpeg.exe -y -i http://127.0.0.1:8866/live?channel=2...oder=1561761d-
    .....
    2019-03-14 11:54:05.005 [DEBUG][58] {"status": "Buffering stream. Please Wait... (100%)","final": true,"duration": 0,"percentage": 100

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Carmel NY
    Posts
    8
    It's an Intel I3 with 16 gigabytes of RAM on fairly new equipment. There is no problem with Edge browser or watching through Kodi and even Plex for that matter. It just seems to happen only on Google Chrome. I think the machine should be sufficient for this purpose. I suppose I could upgrade the processor but I think an I3 should be able to handle the task. I even upgraded the Router to an Asus AC3200 thinking it was a network issue.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27,737
    You can try executing the same line as NextPVR does

    Code:
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\NPVR\Other\ffmpeg.exe" -y  -i "http://127.0.0.1:8866/live?channel=231&transcoder=1561761d-7dfa-4704-9dc0-28bfaa7a8911&client=861987dd92374024bebf57bf9f15a9d8" -map_metadata -1 -threads 0 -ignore_unknown -map 0:v:0 -map 0:a:0 -map -0:s -codec:v:0 libx264 -pix_fmt yuv420p -preset superfast -crf 23 -b:v 2000000 -maxrate 2000000 -bufsize 4000000 -vsync vfr -profile:v high -level 41 -force_key_frames "expr:gte(t,n_forced*3)" -s 1280x720  -flags -global_header -sc_threshold 0 -codec:a:0 aac -strict experimental -ac 2 -ab 128000 -af "adelay=1,aresample=async=1" -hls_time 3 -start_number 0 -hls_list_size 200 -y "C:\Users\Public\NPVR\web\temp\AMC-1561761d7dfa47049dc028bfaa7a8911.m3u8"
    to check your CPU use.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    458
    Same long time problem with Chrome. Server at 50% load.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Carmel NY
    Posts
    8
    OK I'm seeing the server CPU at about 30%. I don't have a more powerful CPU available but I did have an SSD that I installed in the server and now reinstalled NextPVR. Most of my storage is on a separate drive so I didn't have to move large files. Unfortunately this didn't work either. It was worth a try. It has to be some kind of issue within Chrome itself as it does not replicate in Edge. I haven't tried Firefox but I may just to see what happens.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    90
    Quote Originally Posted by Wishbone View Post
    OK I'm seeing the server CPU at about 30%. I don't have a more powerful CPU available but I did have an SSD that I installed in the server and now reinstalled NextPVR. Most of my storage is on a separate drive so I didn't have to move large files. Unfortunately this didn't work either. It was worth a try. It has to be some kind of issue within Chrome itself as it does not replicate in Edge. I haven't tried Firefox but I may just to see what happens.
    I had the same issue with web streaming a few years ago https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthrea...-web-TV-stream

    I still have the same problem with web streaming with the latest version of NPVR. When I first reported the problem my server was an Intel I3. I now have an I7 and it makes no difference. I have given up streaming TV with any browser because of this.

    It's best to use a client like Kodi or Nlite. The Android app works well also.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Carmel NY
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by VCR58 View Post
    I had the same issue with web streaming a few years ago https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthrea...-web-TV-stream

    I still have the same problem with web streaming with the latest version of NPVR. When I first reported the problem my server was an Intel I3. I now have an I7 and it makes no difference. I have given up streaming TV with any browser because of this.

    It's best to use a client like Kodi or Nlite. The Android app works well also.
    I'm thinking your probably right. I've spent hours and hours at night searching for an answer to this and I hate to give up but I think this is some kind of incompatibility issue and there just isn't a fix. I don't want to dump a few hundred dollars on a processor at this point, I'd rather wait till I build a new machine. I'll probably just use Kodi for now. Thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •