Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Recording to NAS?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gjovik, Norway - PAL
    Posts
    6,593

    Recording to NAS?

    Is anyone here recording to a NAS drive? How does it work?

    "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,450
    It works well for me. I uses a cheap WD standalone NAS for years but I now use OpenMediaVault on an older small PC I had laying around which is great because I can run Docker on it to serve NextPVR v5. My v4 recordings go to it at that same time.

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gjovik, Norway - PAL
    Posts
    6,593
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    It works well for me. I uses a cheap WD standalone NAS for years but I now use OpenMediaVault on an older small PC I had laying around which is great because I can run Docker on it to serve NextPVR v5. My v4 recordings go to it at that same time.

    Martin
    So you built your own NAS? Does it have gigabit network or something better? I'm considering building something....

    "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,450
    FreeNAS and OMV really take the DIY factor out they are more like standalone devices then PC s. I just use Gbe it is good enough for me. The highest bitrate I have is 18Mbs and that is higher than in many other countries. Besides if you want speed nothing on the network will be like an NVMe M.2 or even an SSD.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gjovik, Norway - PAL
    Posts
    6,593
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    FreeNAS and OMV really take the DIY factor out they are more like standalone devices then PC s. I just use Gbe it is good enough for me. The highest bitrate I have is 18Mbs and that is higher than in many other countries. Besides if you want speed nothing on the network will be like an NVMe M.2 or even an SSD.

    Martin
    Thanks, this is very useful information for me

    "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    West Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    121
    I bought an 8 bay Qnap, and just started to set things up to it. The little bit of testing I've done with nextpvr has worked flawlessly though. I record a couple of programs to it now. The nice thing is that the QNAP I have has 8 bays, is easy to manage and set up, you can migrate to larger storage easily (from what I understand), you can install SSD and NVME drives as storage or caching purposes.
    My focus in getting this was to set up some third party apps, which I set up Plex on it. For movies Plex is great, for TV recordings NextPVR is better. A single source of storage reducing my need for more computers sitting around. Then I'll put these on a UPS and hopefully the power requirements won't be that great. PC's just draw too much power. Maybe if you had a low end CPU, you could do it.
    This Qnap even has 2-10gb connectors if you need it. It was a toss up between Qnap and Synology. Freenas sounds great, but an old Pentium processor based computer just generates too much heat and uses too much power.
    Server - Windows 64 Home Premium, Intel E8400 3.0ghz, 2gb memory, NVidia 7600GT

    **I've donated, have you?**

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Severn Estuary (Mendip) UK
    Posts
    1,190
    I have an HP Microserver running Unraid with 15Tb Storage and a parity drive - when all the discs are spun down it uses less than 20 watts of power.

    One word of warning for those with UPS's - always make sure that the batteries haven't died. a few years ago I had an APC one and couldn't work out why I was using 1.3 MW/Hrs a quarter. (Using gas for heating)
    Discovered that the batteries in the UPS had died and it was running flat out 24/7 trying to keep them charged - skipped the UPS and reduced the electric consumption by over a half The room was a lot colder though!
    It's not an overly complicated system - it's more - overly simple operatives

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,624
    Quote Originally Posted by Lao Pan View Post
    One word of warning for those with UPS's - always make sure that the batteries haven't died. a few years ago I had an APC one and couldn't work out why I was using 1.3 MW/Hrs a quarter. (Using gas for heating)
    Discovered that the batteries in the UPS had died and it was running flat out 24/7 trying to keep them charged - skipped the UPS and reduced the electric consumption by over a half The room was a lot colder though!
    I've had more problems over the years with UPS failures than with power failures ;(


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Big Easy
    Posts
    3,718
    Basically, do you just point NPVR to the NAS for recording directories or do you have all of NPVR installed on the NAS?


    Paul
    Custom ASUS Maximus X Hero, 16 GB Memory-ASUS GeForce 1050 Ti, H115i Pro AIO, 850W PS, CM H500P case, Corsair Vengeance RGB Ram, Samsung 970 EVO, HDHomerun Prime & Extend Tuners- running Windows 10 (and other goodies)
    #2--P877WS- Core i7 3770k, 16GB Memory-GeForce GTX 650Ti, SATA III SSD, H100i cooler, 750W PS, Windows 10

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,331
    Quote Originally Posted by pcostanza View Post
    Basically, do you just point NPVR to the NAS for recording directories or do you have all of NPVR installed on the NAS?
    You just tell nextpvr to record to the UNC path. ie \\servername\path

    The only trick is making sure it is a path that is connectable by all users (so that the 'localsystem' account can access it), or configure the recording service to run as the user account you'd like to use for accessing the NAS.

    (in v5 you'll also have the option of installing on the NAS)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •