Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Recording to NAS?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Big Easy
    Posts
    3,685
    Sounds like the way to go. I'd love to have it all on the NAS and look forward to that.


    Paul
    Custom ASUS Maximus X Hero, 16 GB Memory-ASUS GeForce 1050 Ti, H115i Pro AIO, 850W PS, CM H500P case, Corsair Vengeance RGB Ram, Samsung 970 EVO, HDHomerun Prime & Extend Tuners- running Windows 10 (and other goodies)
    #2--P877WS- Core i7 3770k, 16GB Memory-GeForce GTX 650Ti, SATA III SSD, H100i cooler, 750W PS, Windows 10

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gjovik, Norway - PAL
    Posts
    6,588
    My goal is to eventually switch to a small low-power htpc, store all recordings on a NAS and have 3-4 minicomputerss (read china tv boxes) running Linux and do the comskip after recording

    "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    (in v5 you'll also have the option of installing on the NAS)
    Will the official NextPVR v5 remain a Docker image for installing on a NAS (Openmediavault), or will it be a plugin? Just curious.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    89,659
    I'm not creating anything special for NAS devices, like Openmediavault plugins. There is a couple of docker builds though, and these should be installable on NAS devices that support Docker.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    28,008
    Of all the flavours of v5 the docker image is by far the easiest to install and maintain. It wouldn't work anyway because Debian is not supported at this time, what possible value do you see with a plugin?

    Martin

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    92
    ok
    Last edited by VCR58; 2019-06-03 at 12:34 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    You just tell nextpvr to record to the UNC path. ie \\servername\path

    The only trick is making sure it is a path that is connectable by all users (so that the 'localsystem' account can access it), or configure the recording service to run as the user account you'd like to use for accessing the NAS.

    (in v5 you'll also have the option of installing on the NAS)

    Hey Sub, I noticed that it told me to use the UNC paths in a warning dialogue but at no point would it allow me to type a path in, it would only let me browse using the popup browser, even in edit i couldnt manually add a path.
    So all i can to is navigate ot mapped network drives, guess this could just be a bug in the UI?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gjovik, Norway - PAL
    Posts
    6,588
    Quote Originally Posted by Tompeel View Post
    Hey Sub, I noticed that it told me to use the UNC paths in a warning dialogue but at no point would it allow me to type a path in, it would only let me browse using the popup browser, even in edit i couldnt manually add a path.
    So all i can to is navigate ot mapped network drives, guess this could just be a bug in the UI?
    Did you try navigating to Networks and from there pick a shared directory?

    "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •