Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: How do I scan for channels?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8

    How do I scan for channels?

    Hi,

    My environment:
    • Debian 10 (Buster)
    • Tuner card TBS-6902
    • Satellite Astra-28.2E

    Whenever I click "Scan Channels" via the web interface, nothing is found. How do I perform a full scan without knowing any frequencies whatsoever? TVHeadEnd scans all available channels and streams them perfectly, but I can't do the same with NextPVR v5.

    NextPVR detects my twin tuner card:
    Name:  Screenshot_2019-07-21_02-06-26.png
Views: 143
Size:  12.7 KB

    I'm confused about what numbers to put in the following three boxes:
    Name:  Screenshot_2019-07-21_02-07-06.png
Views: 124
Size:  28.2 KB

    Regards,
    Burrows.

    P.S.

    I can't wait for the stable release on Linux so keep up the exciting work!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,171
    Using Raspian Buster I recently talked to sub about a scanning issue where it only scanned the first channel

    From the command line what do you get with

    Code:
    ./DeviceHostLinux -device:adapter0 -type:DVB-S -scan:/usr/share/dvb/dvb-s/Astra-28.2E
    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8
    Code:
    $ ./DeviceHostLinux -device:adapter0 -type:DVB-S -scan:/usr/share/dvb/dvb-s/Astra-28.2E
    11:49:51:355 [DEBUG] Scanning from /usr/share/dvb/dvb-s/Astra-28.2E
    11:49:51:355 [DEBUG] Channel config will be saved to /home/burrows/NPVR-data/adapter0-DVB-S-channels.conf
    Using LNBf UNIVERSAL
            Universal, Europe
            Freqs     : 10800 to 11800 MHz, LO: 9750 MHz
            Freqs     : 11600 to 12700 MHz, LO: 10600 MHz

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,171
    Did anything get written to stderr?

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Did anything get written to stderr?

    Martin
    No, that was the whole output (stdout). The following directory DOES NOT exist:
    /home/burrows/NPVR-data
    Instead, the following directory DOES exist:
    /home/burrows/.NPVR-data
    Is that a bug or intended behaviour?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,171
    Sub explained that is how running the CLI like this works. If you create NPVR-data do you get more info?

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8
    My last post is awaiting approval from the mods. It contained `Segmentation fault` after the scan.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,171
    It might have a URL in it copy what you want into a txt file and attach it.

    Martin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    8
    I still had tvheadend running, sorry. After stopping tvheadend I executed the same command again. Attached is the output.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,171
    Yes that is basically what I expected. I think there is something going on with handling newer version of libdvbv5 shspvr also reported something similar to what you and I are seeing.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •