Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Is NextPVR right for me?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Vinita, OK
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by Iamnoob View Post
    I'm going to give Mythtv a try. It's in the repository and since mine isn't a complex setup hopefully it will go well. After doing some more reading about the epg situation, I'll just be using eid. 1 or 2 days worth should be fine. The Hauppage will be here tomorrow.
    Good luck it a real pain in butt to configuration you better off stick to NextPVR and or SageTV
    For now SageTV can be used 100% off line it can pull EPG off TV Station hope lee sub add to the Linux ver like v4 has under Windows and Schedules Direct only $25 a year it really good deal unless you want be a true cord cutter which doesn't give you much data at best 6 to 48 hours depend on TV station
    There other option NextPVR as setup as M3U Tuner under Emby and used it as front end there lot support that way
    Then there VDR - The Video Disk Recorder but I never try it my self but not fan Star Trek look
    Last edited by shspvr; 2019-08-14 at 08:21 PM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    US
    Posts
    10
    I'm keeping an open mind to all of this, nothing is written in stone and the more replies I get helps, thank you! This gives me more clues and pieces of the puzzle to figure out a good option.

    To put the epg use in perspective, she might schedule to record maybe less than a half dozen times in a year an hr or two in advance if she would be tied up with something else. Otherwise she's just watching live tv while sewing.
    Last edited by Iamnoob; 2019-08-14 at 08:08 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    US
    Posts
    10
    Omg Mythtv won't even start right. Permissions or whatever else, lol... Just no!
    I was warned lol
    Last edited by Iamnoob; 2019-08-15 at 05:08 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    US
    Posts
    10
    Well, I've tried all kinds of things today and I haven't had luck. Long story short this thing isn't detected on the webpage, just shows IPTV device and rescan does nothing. Trying a few terminal commands I could find it appears to show up as a device, but I don't know how to determine any more by myself. If anyone has any advice I'm all ears.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Vinita, OK
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by Iamnoob View Post
    Well, I've tried all kinds of things today and I haven't had luck. Long story short this thing isn't detected on the webpage, just shows IPTV device and rescan does nothing. Trying a few terminal commands I could find it appears to show up as a device, but I don't know how to determine any more by myself. If anyone has any advice I'm all ears.
    What OS?
    What Device?
    What Software DVR?.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,170
    Quote Originally Posted by Iamnoob View Post
    Well, I've tried all kinds of things today and I haven't had luck. Long story short this thing isn't detected on the webpage, just shows IPTV device and rescan does nothing. Trying a few terminal commands I could find it appears to show up as a device, but I don't know how to determine any more by myself. If anyone has any advice I'm all ears.
    You have to make sure the Hauppauge firmware is installed and available. If it is you will have a /dev/dvb/adapter0 folder if not you have to figure out how to install your device in Mint. Probably start with sudo dmesg

    Did I mention the HDHR was easiest?

    Martin

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    US
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    You have to make sure the Hauppauge firmware is installed and available. If it is you will have a /dev/dvb/adapter0 folder if not you have to figure out how to install your device in Mint. Probably start with sudo dmesg

    Did I mention the HDHR was easiest?

    Martin
    There is, so that's good! adapter0 and adapter1 each with 4 files, is that because dual tuners?

    Also, did dmesg, that's a lot of code. Did you want me to either post it in code brackets or otherwise look for something in particular myself?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,170
    You didn't answer shspvr's question. Are you now trying to use NextPVR and if so did you use the deb installer?

    Martin

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    US
    Posts
    10
    I appreciate the responses I've received but I'll consider this solved. I just tried Kaffeine, which I previously was under the impression it didn't work with ATSC but it straight away worked and seems simple to use. Thankyou..

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Vinita, OK
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by Iamnoob View Post
    I appreciate the responses I've received but I'll consider this solved. I just tried Kaffeine, which I previously was under the impression it didn't work with ATSC but it straight away worked and seems simple to use. Thankyou..
    With Kaffeine as I'm sure you fig out you have setup the each tuner before channel scan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •