Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What is streaming profile for in V5?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    87

    What is streaming profile for in V5?

    Apologies if this has been answered anywhere in the forum.
    Can anybody explain what the streaming profile option is for in V5?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,141
    Good question (feel free to get wiki author permisions and help create the v5 wiki)

    It is the transcoding quality and bitrate of the browser playback but it also impacts how hard the server works. As an example I have a small device, an odroid n2 and found I couldn't watch anything in the browser with the default setting Using the 504p profile I have now problem.

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,128
    The streaming profile is only used when you're watching in the web app. In the web app it needs to transcode the video so it can be played in a web browser.

    We're you're streaming to other types of clients, that play the native stream, you get the original bitstream without any transcoding.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    87
    Many thanks guys for the response. The reason why I asked is because when I started playing with it my Kodi client started pausing (I had to change unfortunately my PVR pc to a less powerful one in terms of CPU so any transcoding done will be noticeable) so it must be doing something to the server operation as well regardless the client...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,128
    Yeah, that setting isn't relevant to Kodi.

    Kodi just gets the original stream from the device.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yeah, that setting isn't relevant to Kodi.

    Kodi just gets the original stream from the device.
    Can we somehow create a nextpvr plugin for kodi that would have as an option to use transcoded stream?
    I would love to still be able toview Greek TV at 480p analysis when being in Nigeria via Hotel internet...and Kodi...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,141
    I am probably going to add that the next time I am in the code.

    Martin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,128
    Quote Originally Posted by aderlopas View Post
    Can we somehow create a nextpvr plugin for kodi that would have as an option to use transcoded stream?
    I would love to still be able toview Greek TV at 480p analysis when being in Nigeria via Hotel internet...and Kodi...
    To be honest, it's probably not something I'm going to tackle - it'd take a lot of work on the Kodi side of things, and I hate working in that code. If someone else want's to do it, I'm fine with it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    I am probably going to add that the next time I am in the code.

    Martin
    Many thanks, that would be perfect!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by aderlopas View Post
    Many thanks, that would be perfect!
    Seconded! Would be very helpful for me also.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •