Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Black Screen, No Audio - Live TV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6

    Black Screen, No Audio - Live TV

    Hi all. Thanks for reading.

    I've just installed a Hauppage WinTV-dualHD tuner that worked fine running the included software and then I installed NextPVR. It had no trouble scanning channels, seemed to work for about a second, and then live TV blinked out and I can't get anything but a black screen. I've tried all hte decoders I have, including Microsoft DTV-DVD, LAV, and a couple others.

    Now, if I try and use the original Hauppauge software I get nothing but a black screen too. I've tried deleting and reinstalling to no avail.

    I'm attaching my log files (I think.)

    Any help would be really appreciated. Bought the tuner as my birthday gift. Bummer so far.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Rev73; 2019-08-21 at 01:13 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,213
    If you try scheduling a recording, does a file get created? Can you play that file?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,213
    Quote Originally Posted by Rev73 View Post
    Now, if I try and use the original Hauppauge software I get nothing but a black screen too. I've tried deleting and reinstalling to no avail.
    Yeah, that's a bit weird. Do you know if you have a good signal?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    I hadn't but have just tried and it marks all attempts as "pending" recordings and I am unable to play them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yeah, that's a bit weird. Do you know if you have a good signal?
    I am not sure. Forgive me, but how could I test this? The signal seemed to work fine with just the original software.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,213
    When you install the Hauppauge software, some devices include their Signal Monitor tool:
    http://www.hauppauge.com/pages/suppo...l_monitor.html

    Otherwise confirming the cable signal by plugging into a TV? TV's typically have a better tuner than a PC tuner, but if you get great reception on the TV, then there is a good chance you'll get good reception on the PC tuner.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    I don't know what has changed but now instead of black screen there is a long pause when I try and access Live TV and it gives me the error "unable to communicate with recording service."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    91,213
    Quote Originally Posted by Rev73 View Post
    I don't know what has changed but now instead of black screen there is a long pause when I try and access Live TV and it gives me the error "unable to communicate with recording service."
    Try rebooting.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    6
    Here's the latest logs.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    29,174
    You need to restart the recording service.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •