Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 110

Thread: BDA multiplexer info (for DVB users)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,304

    BDA multiplexer info (for DVB users)

    Since I get so many questions about multiplexers, I've created a utility to help people see which multiplexers are installed on their machine, where they are installed, and what version they are.

    You can download it from http://www.gbpvr.com/MuxChecker.zip

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    5,526

    Question

    Well....I finally have to ask....what exactly is the BDA Multiplexer option on the Misc screen in config anyway? I use PVR-150's and have always left this set to SS (Whatever that stands for).

    I have run your tool and nothing shows up.....since I am getting recordings I am assuming this is a setting I don't need to worry about.

    Is this something I should be concerned with? My recordings have always been excellent......but my couriosity is getting the best of me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,304
    The BDA Multiplexer is only used for those with digital capture devices (ATSC HDTV, DVB-T, DVB-S), and doesnt apply to regular analog cards like the PVR150.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    622

    No Multplexer files found

    Hi all.
    I am trying to set up a twinham DVB-T but can't detect any multiplex filters. I have Cyberlink Power DVD5 installed and DVD playback works fine. I just can't set up any FTA channels.

    I have also tried another PC with Intervideo but the MuxChecker doesn't find filters on either.

    Any help would be appreciated as this looks like a really cool application.

    PS. I really like being able to launch other applications as plug-ins. Nice and easy.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,304
    I have Cyberlink Power DVD5 installed and DVD playback works fine.
    These types of application only install an MPEG2 decoder, not a MPEG2 multiplexer. See http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...29&postcount=4 for a recent mux.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    622

    Manual channel entry?

    Thanks Sub,
    I also found another thread where apparently Twinham deregisters the Microsoft Demultiplexer filter. reregistering seemed to fix this problem.
    <snip>
    Last edited by sub; 2005-09-17 at 04:26 AM. Reason: deleted off-topic questions

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    90,304
    This isnt a general support thread. If you've got a question post it elsewhere. This sticky thread is just about muxes and MuxChecker, and I dont want it clogged up with all sorts of noise.

    I've deleted your off topic questions.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Loughborough (UK)
    Posts
    4
    i have done the search for multiplexers but my system is showing as having none installed. Where can i geta multiplexer from?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    HK - Pal I
    Posts
    3,440
    Quote Originally Posted by tank_rider
    i have done the search for multiplexers but my system is showing as having none installed. Where can i geta multiplexer from?
    Installing the native TV app that came with your card/device will normally do it. If not, then try installing WinDVD Creator (Trial version OK, the muxes don't generally "run-out") and/or Cyberlink PowerDVD Trial and/or Showshifter Trial.

    See also http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/FAQ/Codec#toc1
    Cheers
    k.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    7
    This is cute... I get this message when I run the aforementioned utility.

    NO MULTIPLEXER FILTERS WHERE FOUND ON YOUR MACHINE.

    GB-PVR will not function correctly.
    However, the following show up under the GB-PVR Config:
    CyberLink
    InterVideo
    SS
    Hauppauge MPEG2 Muxer
    Microsoft DVR-MS
    Transport Stream

    The original value was Microsoft DVR-MS which I've since changed in trying to find a format that FusionHDTV is happy with. I tried Transport Stream, which I thought was a general/standard format that FusionHDTV supported, but it didn't like the recorded file.

    Also, I do seem to be able to record and playback digital broadcasts despite the utility claiming that I should not be able to.
    -Joe

    Athlon XP 1800+
    1GB DDR2700
    FusionHDTV5 Gold Plus
    Radeon 9500 128MB => 9700

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •