NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public Developers v
« Previous 1 … 34 35 36 37 38 … 93 Next »
Web site programming - precompiled, compile on demand....

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Web site programming - precompiled, compile on demand....
psycik
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,210
Threads: 424
Joined: Sep 2005
#1
2008-02-26, 08:04 PM
not a gbpvr question but thought I'd ask of the bods here.

What determines whether an asp.net web project is pre-compiled to a single assembly or whether it's compiled as needed.

And if it's pre-compiled is there a way of switching to the other model??
Carlito
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 817
Threads: 41
Joined: May 2006
#2
2008-02-26, 09:07 PM
you use the tool aspnet_compiler to pre-compile the website.
If you don't use this tool and just place the asp.net files into a virtual directory asp.net will compile on demand.

If you want to switch from pre-compiled to compile on demand you could delete the temporary asp.net files and just dump the asp.net website into the virtual directory.
----------------------
[SIZE="1"]PVRX2 1.3.11
Shuttle SG33G5 Case
Core2Duo E8400 3Ghz -- 4 GB RAM
Hauppauge PVR-150
Adaptec AVC-3610 Dual Tuner
Onboard Intel GMA 3100 through HDMI -- 500GB
37" Westinghouse LCD (1920 x 1080p)

Projects
Program Image Tool[/SIZE]
psycik
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,210
Threads: 424
Joined: Sep 2005
#3
2008-02-26, 10:24 PM
I've been compiling the website like you would any other program (F6 to build f5 to build and debug - this is in VS2005). And doing this it seems to create a DLL file.


I've got another one I've done from scratch that using F5, F6 doesn't create a DLL file. So am trying to figure out the difference between the two.
Carlito
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 817
Threads: 41
Joined: May 2006
#4
2008-02-26, 11:15 PM
Hmmm, i'm not at my vs2005 machine right now, but i didn't think it was possible within the IDE to pre-compile the site.
If you look under Website-> options (or something similar, can't remember at the moment) check for anything specific to that. look for fixednames as well.

btw, what .dll seems to be being created, and where?
----------------------
[SIZE="1"]PVRX2 1.3.11
Shuttle SG33G5 Case
Core2Duo E8400 3Ghz -- 4 GB RAM
Hauppauge PVR-150
Adaptec AVC-3610 Dual Tuner
Onboard Intel GMA 3100 through HDMI -- 500GB
37" Westinghouse LCD (1920 x 1080p)

Projects
Program Image Tool[/SIZE]
psycik
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,210
Threads: 424
Joined: Sep 2005
#5
2008-02-26, 11:51 PM
Not sure where the website - options is..

When I compile I get like an assembly like I was doing a class library (and the website is only one project), and the debug options use "The Current Page" to launch in IE.

The file gets put in website\bin along with any references.
psycik
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,210
Threads: 424
Joined: Sep 2005
#6
2008-02-26, 11:52 PM
Maybe it's a VS2003 model (even though I'm using 2005/2008)
Carlito
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 817
Threads: 41
Joined: May 2006
#7
2008-02-27, 07:54 AM
I'll take a look tomorrow if I can see any possible options that would create this.
If it's possible could you take the .aspx + .vb/.cs files and create a new website to see if this still happens for you?
----------------------
[SIZE="1"]PVRX2 1.3.11
Shuttle SG33G5 Case
Core2Duo E8400 3Ghz -- 4 GB RAM
Hauppauge PVR-150
Adaptec AVC-3610 Dual Tuner
Onboard Intel GMA 3100 through HDMI -- 500GB
37" Westinghouse LCD (1920 x 1080p)

Projects
Program Image Tool[/SIZE]
mkenyon2
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 715
Threads: 208
Joined: Dec 2006
#8
2008-02-27, 07:08 PM
The way ASP.Net works is like this:

You can have <code> snippets, in the .aspx page, mixed among the <html>. This is the 'non-compile' time.

You can have code-behind files, so let's say you have index.aspx, you would also have index.aspx.vb, which contains the code. All the .vb files get compiled into one .dll assembly.

However, BOTH models do some JIT compiling when pages are called. You would only notice a delay the first time a page is called, since the final compiled code gets stored in cache.

The reason for this second, final compile, is so that the code can be optimized for the processor that will be handling the code. The cached copy will be removed if you remove/change your DLL.

.Net 2.0 and up have added some other files if you use the prefered Code-Behind method. These other files handle some of the auto-generated code that Visual Studio creates.

MS did a pretty decent job with the model, and it makes for cleaner code/html. It also allows your designer to mess with the HTML without touching your code.

This is a very high-level overview, for more info, you can try some of the online sources of help, like channel9.msdn.com
Currently Running: 1.4.7
[SIZE="1"]HTPC:
Motherboard: ASUS P5LD2 Mobo w/ 945P chipset / CPU: Intel P4 3.0GHz
RAM: 3GB RAM / Video: ASUS Radeon X300SE 128Mb PCIx 16
Tuner(s): ATI TV 650 Dual (PCIx)
OS: Win XP Pro SP3[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"]Feeding:
2 - Wired MVP[/SIZE]
Carlito
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 817
Threads: 41
Joined: May 2006
#9
2008-02-27, 09:30 PM
psycik, try this.
In the solution explorer right click your website and choose property pages.
(you can also get there by choosing Website->Start Options)
Check the MSBuild screen and see if you have 'Allow this precompiled site to be updatable'
I would maybe check the differences in there from your other project to see if there are any differences.
----------------------
[SIZE="1"]PVRX2 1.3.11
Shuttle SG33G5 Case
Core2Duo E8400 3Ghz -- 4 GB RAM
Hauppauge PVR-150
Adaptec AVC-3610 Dual Tuner
Onboard Intel GMA 3100 through HDMI -- 500GB
37" Westinghouse LCD (1920 x 1080p)

Projects
Program Image Tool[/SIZE]
psycik
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,210
Threads: 424
Joined: Sep 2005
#10
2008-02-27, 10:23 PM
Uhh, very different. I've got a project I started from Vs2005 from scratch, just a simple site and this has the Title "property Pages" and the MSBuild Options.


This other site that I've inherited that I'm asking about, doesn't. The properties field is called just that, and there is no MSBuild options.....I get the impressions, this either came across from VS2003 - or it's been built as a Class Library with some web pages thrown over the top.....
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Any ideas about programming for Windows Firewall? bgowland 4 5,555 2014-04-10, 09:05 AM
Last Post: bgowland
  webapi and silly cross site scripting stuff reven 6 3,012 2014-01-20, 03:06 AM
Last Post: reven
  Amazon Web Services and On Demand mkenyon2 1 1,520 2008-09-22, 06:14 PM
Last Post: quix
  General Plug-in programming question skate15e 8 3,152 2007-07-27, 06:21 PM
Last Post: sub
  VB compile needed pBS 22 5,696 2006-11-28, 09:39 PM
Last Post: Chris Reynolds
  Sql search programming question jorm 2 1,719 2004-11-18, 06:11 PM
Last Post: jorm

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode