NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public NextPVR Other Clients Old Stuff (legacy) MVP & NMT v
« Previous 1 … 63 64 65 66 67 … 115 Next »
Maintaining aspect ratio with ffmpeg transcoding

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Maintaining aspect ratio with ffmpeg transcoding
drain
Offline

Member

Posts: 91
Threads: 12
Joined: Jun 2005
#11
2006-05-20, 09:28 PM
zehd Wrote:When you said 'pathing' is there any other path needed to be set other than for ffmpeg?

I mean, the default path for ffmpeg in gbpvr is "C:\Program Files\devnz\gbpvr\Third Party\FFmpeg" so if I add:


Code:
cd "C:\Program Files\devnz\gbpvr\Third Party\FFmpeg"

Opps! I made a change to the path because I do my testing in a different directory, and forgot to change it back. The line
Code:
for /f "eol=; tokens=1 delims=~" %%a in ('ffmpeg -i %inputfile% 2^>^&1') do (
should read as follows (similar to the previous version).
Code:
for /f "eol=; tokens=1 delims=~" %%a in ('THIRDP~1\ffmpeg\ffmpeg -i %inputfile% 2^>^&1') do (

But you are right, changing the current directory at the beginning is also a good general solution. However, as you have put it will change the default directory on the C drive, but it won't change the default drive if the command line process happens to start on a different drive (only if the batch file is located on a different drive, so unlikely).

You could add this to the beginning:
Code:
C:
cd "\Program Files\devnz\gbpvr\Third Party\FFmpeg"
zehd
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,119
Threads: 249
Joined: Feb 2006
#12
2006-05-21, 05:25 AM
Excellent! Thanks. Can I put this on the wiki?

Great work
Frank Z
[COLOR="Gray"]
I used to ask 'why?' Now I just reinstall...
[SIZE="1"]______________________________________________
Author: ZTools: ZProcess, MVPServerChecker; UltraXMLTV Enhancer, Renamer, Manager; [/SIZE]
[/COLOR]
drain
Offline

Member

Posts: 91
Threads: 12
Joined: Jun 2005
#13
2006-05-21, 06:47 AM
Quote:Excellent! Thanks. Can I put this on the wiki?
Sure, go ahead. I was just logging on to ask how to go about putting it on... I guess you can take care of it then Smile
zehd
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,119
Threads: 249
Joined: Feb 2006
#14
2006-05-21, 06:53 AM
I'm doing it right now.
Frank Z
[COLOR="Gray"]
I used to ask 'why?' Now I just reinstall...
[SIZE="1"]______________________________________________
Author: ZTools: ZProcess, MVPServerChecker; UltraXMLTV Enhancer, Renamer, Manager; [/SIZE]
[/COLOR]
zehd
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,119
Threads: 249
Joined: Feb 2006
#15
2006-05-21, 02:33 PM
Actually, when I got home, I found I still crashed the MVP.

So I started to tshoot with dragging an avi onto the batch, and placed 'pause' after a few lines to see where it crashes...

It seems that I'm not getting any deminsions from the file

"Input video size is by " <<< notice the blanks where demensions should be?

I wonder what's going on? This works with a couple of different AVIs and I think they're pretty good...

BTW do I need to worry about:
set outputxsize=720
set outputysize=576 <<< I'm in Canada, NTSC shouldn't I change this to 480?

Thanks for your help
Frank Z
[COLOR="Gray"]
I used to ask 'why?' Now I just reinstall...
[SIZE="1"]______________________________________________
Author: ZTools: ZProcess, MVPServerChecker; UltraXMLTV Enhancer, Renamer, Manager; [/SIZE]
[/COLOR]
jkressin262
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 27
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2006
#16
2006-05-22, 03:49 AM
drain Wrote:Good point, I haven't come across this problem myself. I've changed the script so it now decides whether to pad or crop the video. In your situation it should now crop around 30 pixels from the top and bottom. Let us know how you get on! (Don't forget to change the outputysize for NSTC.)

Thanks for the updated script. However, I think this is the solution the original MediaMVP software took to handle this problem (thus the reason I was so happy at finding GBPVR). Because I am using this to watch a lot of subtitled video, cutting off the bottom 30 pixels destroys most if not all of the subtitles.

I went ahead and made another subroutine that is called instead of this that preserves the horizontal size, and creates black bars on either side of the image. It isn't necessarily pretty, but preserves the ration and the subtitles.

Unfortunately, this leads to my biggest problem at this point. The batch file is never actually called. I have the latest and greatest release of this program (as I am admittedly a newbie here). First of all, menu options are no longer available in config (referring to ffmpeg and ffshow). I verified that they are in config.xml however.

Nothing I changed in Trans2MVP.bat seemed to make a difference. I decided to do an extra test and put a line to echo some text to a file - to see if that file is created (and thus if this bat is actually running). It does not appear to be running at all.

Has the program changed preventing this from working, or is there something not set correctly on my copy of the software?

Any help would be much appreciated. I really feel like I am almost there at getting this running.

Thanks for your help!
Jonathan
drain
Offline

Member

Posts: 91
Threads: 12
Joined: Jun 2005
#17
2006-05-22, 06:49 AM
zehd Wrote:"Input video size is by " <<< notice the blanks where demensions should be?

Can you please run the following batch file on the AVIs that fail and post (or send me) the text file it creates? This way I can see exactly what ffmpeg is reporting and hopefully solve the problem.

Code:
"C:\Program Files\devnz\gbpvr\Third Party\FFmpeg\ffmpeg" -i %1 2> ffmpegdata.txt

zehd Wrote:BTW do I need to worry about:
set outputxsize=720
set outputysize=576 <<< I'm in Canada, NTSC shouldn't I change this to 480?

Yea, change it to whatever resolution your capture card records at. I've found it a pain because windows doesn't report the resolution on mpeg2s in the right-click properties dialog, so I play them in media player and get properties there.
drain
Offline

Member

Posts: 91
Threads: 12
Joined: Jun 2005
#18
2006-05-22, 07:10 AM
jkressin262 Wrote:I have the latest and greatest release of this program (as I am admittedly a newbie here). First of all, menu options are no longer available in config (referring to ffmpeg and ffshow). I verified that they are in config.xml however.

I'm still running the previous version, so unfortunately I can't help here... anybody else?

At least you can drag-and-drop for off-line conversions correctly, yes?
jkressin262
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 27
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2006
#19
2006-05-22, 01:22 PM
drain Wrote:At least you can drag-and-drop for off-line conversions correctly, yes?

I can definitely do this to get a preprocessed input file. Hopefully someone else on this thread is using the newer version of the program. I would have unloaded this version to install a previous version to see if that would make a difference, but the only version you can download from the site is the newest.

Thanks,
Jonathan
psycik
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,210
Threads: 424
Joined: Sep 2005
#20
2006-05-22, 08:54 PM
Did anyone get this working for on the fly encoding for an MVP??
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Pages (8): « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 … 8 Next »
Jump to page 


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  MVP transcoding? dinki 12 9,274 2014-02-03, 09:35 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  Change FFMPEG commandline Astraeus 5 3,470 2012-01-22, 06:49 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  LiveTV & ffmpeg MVP playback stops pvruser 4 3,281 2009-02-27, 10:44 PM
Last Post: Bobins
  MVP Transcoding drbenjamin 1 1,712 2008-12-01, 06:07 AM
Last Post: mvallevand
  MVP transcoding with TS Mux daneo 0 1,451 2008-11-09, 09:20 AM
Last Post: daneo
  Transcoding files times out before they begin Zato 3 2,172 2008-10-13, 04:01 AM
Last Post: Zato
  Any way to automatically save MPG output file when transcoding jonrigg68 2 2,109 2008-06-27, 04:14 PM
Last Post: HtV
  MVP TS transcoding config.xml bug. BerkA 1 1,985 2008-06-07, 11:47 AM
Last Post: sub
  Transcoding causes pc to shut down jonrigg68 5 2,503 2008-06-07, 11:04 AM
Last Post: psycik
  MVP problems (Live TV/transcoding) natty 5 2,640 2008-04-11, 06:57 PM
Last Post: sub

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode