NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public Developers v
« Previous 1 … 28 29 30 31 32 … 93 Next »
Rename Recording

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rename Recording
mciarcia
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2006
#291
2008-10-02, 03:32 PM
reboot Wrote:I use Wizrenamerecording as the most up to date and stable (ie It works).
Renamerecording(s) just has/had too many problems.

mciarcia: You can do it in postprocessing.bat Take a look at the mencoder posts, and do a forum search for getnewname.vbs
You can then do it something like this:
Code:
REM start transcoder process----------------------------------
REM start /min /low getnewname.vbs
REM end this is what works-----------------------------

REM Testing mencoder section------------------
REM This is the transcoding portion
REM cd "C:\Program Files\devnz\gbpvr\"
REM start /min /low mTranscode_0p0p3.vbs
REM end mencoder test section ------------------
Right after renamerecording runs.

I have been trying to find the code for the getnewname.vbs and can't find it anywhere. I've seen a couple that are more like batch files, but not vbs scripts. Sorry, can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks.
reboot
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 1,426
Threads: 89
Joined: Mar 2005
#292
2008-10-02, 04:02 PM
Peek at the 3 pages in this thread: http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php...getnewname
There is more new information here: http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Utili...anscodeCut
Take a peek thru the whole wiki, there's more.
You can never have enough tuners!
Pentium Quad / 4Gb Dual Channel RAM / XPSP3 / 2 x PVR-500, PVR-250 / GB-PVR
mciarcia
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2006
#293
2008-10-02, 08:14 PM
Reboot, can you post your getnewname.vbs file? I'm having problems, where it won't grab that full name, it only grabs a portion of the new name. It is blowing me away.

I'm using the wizrenamerecording now.

What am I missing???
JavaWiz
Offline

Posting Freak

Jacksonville, FL. USA
Posts: 2,522
Threads: 141
Joined: Dec 2006
#294
2008-10-03, 05:46 AM
This snipet will rename the file and place the new name in the variable %newFile%.

Code:
@Echo off
set GBPVRDIR=c:\Program Files\Devnz\Gbpvr
set LOGFILE=logs\WizRenameRecording.log

pushd %GBPVRDIR%
WizRenameRecording "%~f1" "{show}{[-]}{episode}"
If %ERRORLEVEL%==0 (
REM last line in logfile is the new filename
for /f "tokens=*" %%i in (%LOGFILE%) do set newName=%%i
Echo %newName%
) ELSE (
Echo WizRenameRecording failed.
)
popd
superflysocal
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 5
Joined: Oct 2008
#295
2008-10-11, 12:58 PM (This post was last modified: 2008-10-11, 02:21 PM by superflysocal.)
JavaWiz Wrote:This snipet will rename the file and place the new name in the variable %newFile%.

Code:
@Echo off
set GBPVRDIR=c:\Program Files\Devnz\Gbpvr
set LOGFILE=logs\WizRenameRecording.log

pushd %GBPVRDIR%
WizRenameRecording "%~f1" "{show}{[-]}{episode}"
If %ERRORLEVEL%==0 (
REM last line in logfile is the new filename
for /f "tokens=*" %%i in (%LOGFILE%) do set newName=%%i
Echo %newName%
) ELSE (
Echo WizRenameRecording failed.
)
popd

Is it %newFile% or %newName% ?

where would i put this in stattik's transcode script?
JavaWiz
Offline

Posting Freak

Jacksonville, FL. USA
Posts: 2,522
Threads: 141
Joined: Dec 2006
#296
2008-10-11, 05:42 PM
superflysocal Wrote:Is it %newFile% or %newName% ?

where would i put this in stattik's transcode script?
You're right, it's %newName%

I don't use stattik's script. I'll take a look at your other post when I have some time and see how to incorporate (unless someone else beats me to it).
JimF
Offline

Member

Posts: 217
Threads: 19
Joined: Oct 2005
#297
2008-10-31, 02:40 AM
I haven't been able to get RenameRecording to work in Vista x64 yet. This is a new machine that is set up the same way (GB-PVR 1.2.13) as my WinXP PC. I have tried running RenameRecording in WinXP compatibility mode under Vista x64, but that did not work either.

Any suggestions?
HDHomeRun Prime, Win7 64-bit, NPVR 3.4.8
ZaDDaZ
Offline

Member

Posts: 96
Threads: 6
Joined: Mar 2005
#298
2008-11-01, 02:24 AM
So, I recently started watching some shows on my laptop at home. I hadn't used any rename utility for a while, but I clearly needed it since I can't get the GBPVR streaming to work at all. I resurrected the tool I had done a long while back called RecordingsManager, which had 3 features:
  • Rename recordings
  • ComSkip execution
  • ComClean execution
  • MaxRecordings
Each feature is individually configurable. The tool works by executing via the post processing batch file. It is configured to remain resident while it is still processing, like executing a comskip on a recording.

Some of the more useful functionality is that you can use it against an existing library and it will copskip and rename files in the library. It also has the ability to exclude programs by name or channel from comskip, which is something I like because there aren't commercials on PBS channels, so there is no reason to comskip them.

I had added the MaxRecordings function before it was native to GBPVR, so it is not all that necessary and can be disabled if desired.

Finally, the RenameRecording functionality basically scans all of the recorded files in your library and renames them according to two formats, one if there is an episode name available and one if the episode name is not available. It is very resilient as it makes sure that it can get full control of the recording before it attempts to rename it. This allows you to do actual processing of files after recording without worrying about trying to passed the renamed file to something, the recording will eventually be renamed. It also updates the recording database with the new name and does this in a transaction around the actual renaming of the files.

All configuration is done via editing XML, I don't have a GUI for this yet. This is all done in .Net 3.5 and should definately work fine on x64.

So, is there any interest in this? I haven't done much with GBPVR recently, but if there is, I will get it packaged up and release it, and hopefully put a GUI on it.
JimF
Offline

Member

Posts: 217
Threads: 19
Joined: Oct 2005
#299
2008-11-01, 10:48 AM (This post was last modified: 2008-11-01, 11:59 AM by JimF.)
ZaDDaZ Wrote:So, is there any interest in this? I haven't done much with GBPVR recently, but if there is, I will get it packaged up and release it, and hopefully put a GUI on it.
It sounds like just what I need, though I don't use ComClean, but do my editing with VideoReDo. But the fact that it runs in the postprocessing.bat file is nice, since I can then avoid DirMon2 to invoke ComSkip. DirMon2 works fine, but it is rather inconvenient in Vista because you have to turn off UAC in order to make any configuration changes, which requires a reboot. It would be much easier, and a little faster, to run it via postprocessing.bat, though I have found that the resulting VPrj file no longer points to the renamed recording, but that is no big deal to fix.

I don't mind editing an XML file, though a GUI would be nice. But GUIs sometimes have problems of their own, so better something that works reliably. It really wouldn't have to be changed once set up anyway.
ZaDDaZ
Offline

Member

Posts: 96
Threads: 6
Joined: Mar 2005
#300
2008-11-03, 03:20 AM
Just want to be sure you understand how it runs ComSkip. The tool is invoked in PostProcessing.bat, but it does not perform the rename and return or anything. That is just to get it started. The process will stick around while it is running ComSkip. It can also be configured to run ComSkip on currently recording programs with a total max number of ComSkip processes to be executing. I don't use ComClean myself either. I have had difficulty, but I wanted at one point to make it automatically clean commercials out of the kids shows as those always detect perfectly and I sometimes burn their shows to DVD for trips. Do you think I should clean out the unused stuff or just publish as is with the ability to disable the unused stuff?
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)

Pages (31): « Previous 1 … 27 28 29 30 31 Next »
Jump to page 


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Custom recording tomx 2 398 2025-02-07, 09:14 AM
Last Post: tomx
  API call for Recording Complete linustorvalds 1 273 2025-01-19, 02:11 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  Manual recording API mvallevand 2 909 2023-11-09, 02:14 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  Recording direct to GPhotos API rgonzalez 0 1,394 2020-06-29, 04:45 AM
Last Post: rgonzalez
  Recurring Recording URL Parameters jcole998 2 2,882 2019-09-19, 01:08 PM
Last Post: jcole998
  Get recording length from stream skogl 46 13,417 2019-08-15, 09:34 PM
Last Post: sub
  Unexpected result when deleting a pending recording scJohn 5 3,631 2018-05-06, 10:09 PM
Last Post: sub
  How to best verify success when adding a recurring recording drmargarit 1 2,724 2017-03-02, 03:13 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  Change recording filename programmatically immediately before recording starts? craigrs84 5 5,972 2015-07-13, 09:28 PM
Last Post: patco444
  Recording a specific episode based on season and episode number cbgifford 26 9,980 2014-12-19, 10:28 PM
Last Post: cbgifford

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode