NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public NextPVR Support Legacy (v4.x and earlier) v
« Previous 1 … 159 160 161 162 163 … 433 Next »
PostProcessing failing

PostProcessing failing
Quaraxkad
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2013
#1
2015-05-20, 04:38 AM
I've just finished setting up a fresh install of Windows and all my HTPC software, I have one new problem that didn't occur before. I'm not sure if it's my configuration or the new version of NPVR (I was using 3.3.8, now 3.4.8). Roughly 50% of my recordings do not make it to PostProcessing.bat. NRecord.log *does* show "Starting: C:\Users\Public\NPVR\Scripts\PostProcessing.bat" for all of the episodes it did not run for. It appears that NRecord.log is just saying it's *going* to run it or *tried* to run it, but there's no indication of whether or not it actually ran or what the exit code was so it doesn't seem to be monitored in any way. Ideally, it'd be nice if NPVR itself logged the output of the bat files or at the very least an exit code so there would be no question of whether the issue was with the batch file contents or NPVR failing to launch it. To "debug" this, I changed my PostProcessing.bat file to a single line that simply runs the "real" batch and saves the output to a log file. Both batch files do work. But it's consistently every other recording that finishes does not get processed, I'm keeping an eye on the logs to see if it really is exactly every-other completed recording that fails to run PostProcess.
sub
Offline

Administrator

NextPVR HQ, New Zealand
Posts: 106,627
Threads: 767
Joined: Nov 2003
#2
2015-05-20, 06:51 AM
Quaraxkad Wrote:NRecord.log *does* show "Starting: C:\Users\Public\NPVR\Scripts\PostProcessing.bat" for all of the episodes it did not run for. It appears that NRecord.log is just saying it's *going* to run it or *tried* to run it, but there's no indication of whether or not it actually ran or what the exit code was so it doesn't seem to be monitored in any way.
If you've got this, then I'm absolutely sure it has run it. You must be missing something in the logic you're running, or limitations of the utilities you're using in there. If it had encountered a problem starting the process, it would have logged an error. (anything that happens in that batch file is up to you)

I'm also doubly sure because I'm not aware of any issues with NextPVR not calling PostProcessing.bat, and this logic very simple, and hasn't changed in years.
martint123
Offline

Posting Freak

UK, East Yorkshire
Posts: 4,658
Threads: 208
Joined: Nov 2005
#3
2015-05-20, 09:36 AM
I got caught by something similar when I changed over to a new server.
I had videoredo running in the batch file and forgot that everything runs as the SYSTEM user and VRD needs special treatment to work under this userid.
Reddwarf
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 6,629
Threads: 230
Joined: Mar 2007
#4
2015-05-20, 10:32 AM
One solution is to run the recording service as your own user, I'v done that for years and it works just perfect.

"I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"
HarryH3
Offline

Posting Freak

U.S.A
Posts: 925
Threads: 56
Joined: Mar 2006
#5
2015-05-20, 07:33 PM
What, exactly, is not being accomplished by your PostProcessing.bat file? I have had a few shows that launch ComSkip, but ComSkip NEVER finishes scanning the file. It just runs and runs until the nightly reboot that I have scheduled on the server. I only allow one instance of ComSkip to run at a time, so once ComSkip gets stuck on a recording, then ALL of the other recordings waiting in the queue get dropped when the system reboots. Sad This can make it look like PostProcessing.bat didn't run, until I look in the recordings directory of the show that ComSkip couldn't process properly and see that it never created a .edl file.
i3-3570k, 8GB RAM, Win10 Pro, Nvidia GT710, HDHomeRun (OTA), NPVR 6.x
On a clear disk, you can seek forever...
Reddwarf
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 6,629
Threads: 230
Joined: Mar 2007
#6
2015-05-20, 08:35 PM
HarryH3 Wrote:What, exactly, is not being accomplished by your PostProcessing.bat file? I have had a few shows that launch ComSkip, but ComSkip NEVER finishes scanning the file. It just runs and runs until the nightly reboot that I have scheduled on the server. I only allow one instance of ComSkip to run at a time, so once ComSkip gets stuck on a recording, then ALL of the other recordings waiting in the queue get dropped when the system reboots. Sad This can make it look like PostProcessing.bat didn't run, until I look in the recordings directory of the show that ComSkip couldn't process properly and see that it never created a .edl file.
That's strange, can you post the output from your failing Comskip?

"I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy"
Quaraxkad
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2013
#7
2015-05-20, 10:43 PM
Since the original post last night, 8 batch files have failed to run and 10 succeeded. The batch file is as simple as it could possibly be to avoid any other potential issues while debugging this.

PostProcessing.bat:
C:\Users\Public\NPVR\Scripts\RenameIt.bat "%~1" >> "C:\Users\Public\NPVR\Scripts\PP.log" 2>&1

RenameIt.bat:
echo %1
@nircmdc wait 30000
"C:\Programs\Renamer\renamer.exe" /rename RenamePVR "%~1"

If this were a logic error, I would expect every recording to not be renamed. If it were a ReNamer.exe error, PP.log would still show the echo of %1 and the command line that executed ReNamer. ReNamer is not a command line program so it never returns any output anyway. Just does its thing and exits. But PP.log would still show the execution. Anybody else see a potential for logic error that I'm not seeing? I'm going to add an echo line to PostProcessing.bat that will write to another log file *before* it calls RenameIt.bat. Maybe PostProcessing.bat is running but RenameIt.bat isn't. I'm 99% sure that isn't the issue because I had the same problem prior to splitting this up into two batch files which was done entirely for logging/debug purposes.

martint123 Wrote:I got caught by something similar when I changed over to a new server.
I had videoredo running in the batch file and forgot that everything runs as the SYSTEM user and VRD needs special treatment to work under this userid.

I have had that issue with VRD in the past as well, and was able to solve it the same way. However I am no longer using VRD on the HTPC. I did also try switching the account of nrecord but I haven't restarted the service. I don't imagine that to be the issue because it'd likely cause all attempts to fail.
mvallevand
Online

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,794
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#8
2015-05-21, 12:56 AM
Quaraxkad Wrote:PostProcessing.bat:
C:\Users\Public\NPVR\Scripts\RenameIt.bat "%~1" >> "C:\Users\Public\NPVR\Scripts\PP.log" 2>&1

I could see a potenial pp.log file lock failing from another postprocessing.bat because of that 30 second wait you use.

Martin
HarryH3
Offline

Posting Freak

U.S.A
Posts: 925
Threads: 56
Joined: Mar 2006
#9
2015-05-21, 03:56 AM
Reddwarf Wrote:That's strange, can you post the output from your failing Comskip?
There's one in the first post of this thread: http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php...e-to-3-4-8
i3-3570k, 8GB RAM, Win10 Pro, Nvidia GT710, HDHomeRun (OTA), NPVR 6.x
On a clear disk, you can seek forever...
Quaraxkad
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2013
#10
2015-05-21, 04:45 AM
mvallevand Wrote:I could see a potenial pp.log file lock failing from another postprocessing.bat because of that 30 second wait you use.

I *think* multiple cmd processes can write to the same log file at once... Even if not, that wouldn't have explained what was happening in the beginning before I wasn't doing any logging at all. If that is in fact the current issue though, I may have already solved the original issue by changing the user account that the NRecord service runs under.

In any case, sub, any chance of getting NRecord to log the output of the batch files itself? That would make writing and debugging scripts infinitely easier.
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Pages (3): 1 2 3 Next »


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  NextPVR - Failing with HDHomeRun Quatro guyinco6nito 3 1,835 2020-01-10, 01:10 AM
Last Post: guyinco6nito
  postprocessing batch to escape special characters donbrew 3 1,687 2019-11-06, 11:29 PM
Last Post: JavaWiz
  PostProcessing.bat not executing MiyoshiSaki 13 4,541 2019-09-03, 10:36 PM
Last Post: sub
  IPTV Recordings failing jlquinn 5 1,981 2019-02-02, 03:46 AM
Last Post: sub
  recording keeps failing mdw402 6 1,949 2018-11-06, 09:36 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  free sat failing to start channel scan spudjg1 2 1,150 2018-10-31, 07:46 PM
Last Post: spudjg1
  PostProcessing and PostCancel.bat being triggered but not working antenna 4 1,772 2018-08-05, 07:40 PM
Last Post: antenna
  Late night recordings failing moorman 1 965 2017-08-05, 08:08 PM
Last Post: sub
  Recordings Failing with "No Errors but no Data Delivered" message BrettB 28 7,636 2017-05-30, 01:14 PM
Last Post: Kong
  Bulk mapping of channels is failing glugglug 6 2,617 2017-01-24, 01:02 AM
Last Post: sub

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode