NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public Wishlist v
« Previous 1 … 172 173 174 175 176 … 193 Next »
Info from plugins on the main menu?

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Info from plugins on the main menu?
nkh
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 418
Threads: 14
Joined: Jan 2004
#1
2004-08-11, 06:48 PM
Just a suggestion for the future [Image: smile.gif]

It would be nice if you could choose to show short pieces of information from the plugins on the main menu, so at the place where the task image should be you could have a line showing the current weather, the subject of the latest email, the free disc space, the name of the mp3 file playing and the next recording GBpvr is going to make.

Maybe it could be put into the skin file so you can define areas for each plugin to show it's information.

Of course, the plugins would have to support this so they can supply GBpvr with strings of text (or a pointer to what image to show or something). There would be the risk of cluttering up the screen, but it'll be up to the user to limit oneself [Image: smile.gif]
Nicolai [SIZE="1"]- http://www.nk-h.dk
Current htpc - Asus N4L-VM DH, Core Duo 2GHz, 2GB RAM, Hauppauge PVR-500 mce, Twinhan DVB-C CI, TerraTec Cinergy 1200 DVB-C, nVidia 8800 GTS (using S-video tv-out), decoding dvb-c with ACamd 0.5.0.9, Yanksee and a Viaccess card from YouSee.[/SIZE]
dottore
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 986
Threads: 44
Joined: May 2004
#2
2004-08-11, 09:13 PM
i think, this could work in the actual release.....we just need to update the task-image. i'll take a look at the function...
---------------------
www.sitecomposer.de
sub
Offline

Administrator

NextPVR HQ, New Zealand
Posts: 106,627
Threads: 767
Joined: Nov 2003
#3
2004-08-11, 09:31 PM
Yes, this is something I'd like to do. I'd probably allow the plugins to supply a small panel that could contain text or graphics (picture current weather logo etc).

I havn't really spent much time thinking about it, but wasn't really sure where they should sit on the screen. Would they all potentially show in the same rectangle, with the system cycling between the various panels. Or would it be better to say, email is at location A, weather at this location B, currently playing song at C etc?
nkh
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 418
Threads: 14
Joined: Jan 2004
#4
2004-08-11, 09:43 PM
That sounds great [Image: smile.gif]

I guess it would give the most freedom if it was defined the same way as the task image and task description, so you'd have:

<SpecialElement name="TaskDescription" visible="true" loc="350,375" size="300,100"/>
<SpecialElement name="TaskImage" visible="false" loc="260,100" size="300,300"/>
<SpecialElement name="Weather" visible="true" loc="260,100" size="300,200"/>
<SpecialElement name="MP3" visible="true" loc="260,300" size="300,50"/>

but I'm not a programmer, so I don't know if that's the most practical way to do it [Image: wink.gif]
Nicolai [SIZE="1"]- http://www.nk-h.dk
Current htpc - Asus N4L-VM DH, Core Duo 2GHz, 2GB RAM, Hauppauge PVR-500 mce, Twinhan DVB-C CI, TerraTec Cinergy 1200 DVB-C, nVidia 8800 GTS (using S-video tv-out), decoding dvb-c with ACamd 0.5.0.9, Yanksee and a Viaccess card from YouSee.[/SIZE]
dottore
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 986
Threads: 44
Joined: May 2004
#5
2004-08-11, 10:06 PM
sub, would it then be possible to develop plugins without a menu-button? i think, the actual time or a newsticker could be interesting.

just a thought.
---------------------
www.sitecomposer.de
sub
Offline

Administrator

NextPVR HQ, New Zealand
Posts: 106,627
Threads: 767
Joined: Nov 2003
#6
2004-08-11, 10:09 PM
Yes, I was thinking that would be a good idea also. Could be used for Caller ID etc.
sub
Offline

Administrator

NextPVR HQ, New Zealand
Posts: 106,627
Threads: 767
Joined: Nov 2003
#7
2004-08-12, 06:59 PM
This has now been implemented. Plugins wanting to display an information panel on the main menu need to implement the IInfoPanel interface.

<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Code Sample </td></tr><tr><td id="CODE">using System;
using System.Drawing;

namespace GBPVR.Public
{
/// <summary>
/// IInfoPanel can be implemented by plugins to show a small panel of information on the GB-PVR main menu
/// </summary>
public interface IInfoPanel
{
/// <summary>Returns the panel name. This is used for looking up its placement in skin.xml files</summary>
string getPanelName();

/// <summary>Called every second or so when the panel is visible</summary>
bool panelNeedsRendering();

/// <summary>Is called by GBPVR to render the image shown to the user (180x80 is a good size)</summary>
Image renderPanel();
}
}
[/QUOTE]

These panels can be positioned in the skin.xml using

&lt;SpecialElement name=&quot;Panel&quot; panelName=&quot;weather&quot; visible=&quot;false&quot; loc=&quot;500,100&quot; size=&quot;180,80&quot;/&gt;



nkh
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 418
Threads: 14
Joined: Jan 2004
#8
2004-08-12, 08:54 PM
Great [Image: tounge.gif] how about the 'build in' things in GBpvr? MP3 / Netradio / FM radio (maybe all could be reffered to as an &quot;Audio panel&quot;?) / Upcomming recordings / Current use of the recording device?
Nicolai [SIZE="1"]- http://www.nk-h.dk
Current htpc - Asus N4L-VM DH, Core Duo 2GHz, 2GB RAM, Hauppauge PVR-500 mce, Twinhan DVB-C CI, TerraTec Cinergy 1200 DVB-C, nVidia 8800 GTS (using S-video tv-out), decoding dvb-c with ACamd 0.5.0.9, Yanksee and a Viaccess card from YouSee.[/SIZE]
nkh
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 418
Threads: 14
Joined: Jan 2004
#9
2004-08-20, 04:57 PM
I see it's been included in v20, but are there a list of the panels that are included? is there a &quot;now playing&quot; panel or is the comics panel the only panel in this release? I know that the plugin panels are depending on the plugins, but I was thinking that you might have made some internal panels [Image: smile.gif]
Nicolai [SIZE="1"]- http://www.nk-h.dk
Current htpc - Asus N4L-VM DH, Core Duo 2GHz, 2GB RAM, Hauppauge PVR-500 mce, Twinhan DVB-C CI, TerraTec Cinergy 1200 DVB-C, nVidia 8800 GTS (using S-video tv-out), decoding dvb-c with ACamd 0.5.0.9, Yanksee and a Viaccess card from YouSee.[/SIZE]
sub
Offline

Administrator

NextPVR HQ, New Zealand
Posts: 106,627
Threads: 767
Joined: Nov 2003
#10
2004-08-20, 05:09 PM
I wanted to do some of my own panels, but knew I was going to busy at work the next few days and didnt want to hold the release up any longer. I'll add some panels for the next release.
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)

Pages (2): 1 2 Next »


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Menu for recent recordings LeGrandZombie 0 817 2021-09-06, 02:02 AM
Last Post: LeGrandZombie
  Web Client info VCR58 0 912 2021-01-26, 10:05 PM
Last Post: VCR58
  Additional Info on Channel Map Screen brainfryd 0 892 2020-10-03, 09:35 AM
Last Post: brainfryd
  install change-startup and start menu shortcuts paulc 0 917 2020-10-03, 06:13 AM
Last Post: paulc
  Context Menu via remote TK978 5 2,600 2019-04-19, 12:21 AM
Last Post: TK978
  Videos - Eliminate Menu Delays due to Slow USB Disk Drives meccano 4 2,202 2017-12-07, 04:04 PM
Last Post: meccano
  Archive a Series and/or Batch of Shows in recordings from root menu? jksmurf 25 14,029 2017-09-21, 12:14 PM
Last Post: BrettB
  Delete Menu to jump out of Delete Cycle, so multiple deletes are avoided? jksmurf 3 2,376 2016-05-24, 08:34 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  Devices Info Option to show only those with channels. GuruSR 0 1,687 2016-04-06, 07:19 PM
Last Post: GuruSR
  Settings Menu Item! GuruSR 0 1,734 2016-04-06, 01:20 PM
Last Post: GuruSR

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode