NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public Add-ons (3rd party plugins, utilities and skins) Old Stuff (Legacy) GB-PVR Support (legacy) v
« Previous 1 … 46 47 48 49 50 … 1231 Next »
No wake up after custom hibernation

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
No wake up after custom hibernation
gkovacsp
Offline

Member

Posts: 62
Threads: 15
Joined: Mar 2007
#1
2007-10-04, 06:14 PM
Recently I worked out a system to prevent my family switching off the computer while it is recording:

paralellprocessing.bat creates a C:\lock.txt file
postprocessing.bat removes the C:\lock.txt file

The computer can be turned off with a BAT file:
-it checks if the lock.txt is present
-if it is there, then it waits and re-checks every minute
-if it is not there, then hibernates the computer with the

Code:
rundll32 powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState 1,0,0

command in the BAT file.

Unfortunately, if the computer is switched off using this command, then it won't wake up for the next recording.

If I switch it off with the Hibernate button, then it wakes up.

Any idea how to make these two things work together?
Hibernate from a BAT file, but schedule the wake-up for the next recording?

Thanks in advance,

Gabor
mkenyon2
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 715
Threads: 208
Joined: Dec 2006
#2
2007-10-04, 07:41 PM
I think your button is actually doing a Suspend.
A suspend is not as deep as hibernate, and fans will continue to run, but it will wake up to record and update EPG.

However, I would be interested in your batch solution... to keep myself from shutting down during a record (like I did yesterday). Does it prevent the button from switching off the PC?
Currently Running: 1.4.7
[SIZE="1"]HTPC:
Motherboard: ASUS P5LD2 Mobo w/ 945P chipset / CPU: Intel P4 3.0GHz
RAM: 3GB RAM / Video: ASUS Radeon X300SE 128Mb PCIx 16
Tuner(s): ATI TV 650 Dual (PCIx)
OS: Win XP Pro SP3[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"]Feeding:
2 - Wired MVP[/SIZE]
sub
Offline

Administrator

NextPVR HQ, New Zealand
Posts: 106,666
Threads: 767
Joined: Nov 2003
#3
2007-10-04, 07:49 PM
Quote:However, I would be interested in your batch solution
Quote:Hauppauge 150 MCE + AverMedia 150 (both have MPEG2 encoding Hw)
Keep in mind that this sort of solution wouldnt work for multi-card setups.
gkovacsp
Offline

Member

Posts: 62
Threads: 15
Joined: Mar 2007
#4
2007-10-04, 09:14 PM
mkenyon2 Wrote:I think your button is actually doing a Suspend.

It is definitely a hibernate. I can tell the difference.
It depends what on what is set in your power settings in control panel.

mkenyon2 Wrote:However, I would be interested in your batch solution...

paralellprocessing.bat:
Code:
echo Hold > C:\lock.txt

last line of prostprocessing.bat:
Code:
DEL C:\lock.txt

hibernate.bat - I use this command to switch off the computer

Code:
echo off

::Check if computer is locked from hibernation


:loop3
    IF NOT EXIST C:\lock.txt (
        goto continue
    )

    cls
    @echo.
    @echo.
    @echo The computer is waiting for the end of the recording, then it switches off automatically
    @echo.
    @echo.
    @echo Closing this window will prevent switch off

    c:\CHOICE /N /C:12 /T1,30
    set /a COUNT=%COUNT%-1


goto loop3


:continue

::There is no lock file, start countdown
set COUNT=60

:loop

    cls
    @echo.
    @echo.
    @echo The computer will hibernate soon
    @echo.
    @echo.
    @echo If you don't want to hibernate close this window in %COUNT% seconds

    c:\CHOICE /N /C:12 /T1,1
    set /a COUNT=%COUNT%-1

if %COUNT% GTR 0 goto loop

::Check if recording started during countdown
IF EXIST C:\lock.txt (
    goto loop3
)

@ECHO The computer can be hibernated
rundll32 powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState 1,0,0

I know it is not the most beautiful code, but is still a work in progress...

You will also need the choice.com file (attached)
Just put it into c:\

Let me know your opinion

Gabor
gkovacsp
Offline

Member

Posts: 62
Threads: 15
Joined: Mar 2007
#5
2007-10-04, 09:15 PM
Sub,
is tehre any option to hibernate using pvrx2 command line, so it schedules the wake-up?

Or any other idea?

Thanks,
Gabor
gEd
Offline

Posting Freak

London
Posts: 3,514
Threads: 100
Joined: Jan 2005
#6
2007-10-04, 09:53 PM
i believe that gbpvr adds the wake events to the bios so going into standby with pvrx2/gbpvr shouldn't be necessary.

My pc is set to go into standby after 20 mins idle (using "hibernator") and it always wakes up to record shows.

it looks like the SetSuspendState method is behaving as though you have the last flag set to 1, which disables scheduled events. Maybe it is a bug in this method.
“If this is the way Queen Victoria treats her prisoners, she doesn't deserve to have any.”
K.S.
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 526
Threads: 12
Joined: Oct 2006
#7
2007-10-05, 07:29 AM
gkovacsp Wrote:
Code:
rundll32 powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState 1,0,0

...

Unfortunately, if the computer is switched off using this command, then it won't wake up for the next recording.

If I switch it off with the Hibernate button, then it wakes up.

get rid of that command Wink
i've needed some time to identify that as the culprit in my own machine. i've got the same effects as you're describing above while i used setsuspendstate... i've switched to using another tool (psshutdown from sysinternals/microsoft) & never had any problems waking up since then.
sub Wrote:Yep, what he said.

curiosity killed the cat Big Grin
gkovacsp
Offline

Member

Posts: 62
Threads: 15
Joined: Mar 2007
#8
2007-10-05, 08:11 AM
K.S. Wrote:get rid of that command Wink
i've needed some time to identify that as the culprit in my own machine. i've got the same effects as you're describing above while i used setsuspendstate... i've switched to using another tool (psshutdown from sysinternals/microsoft) & never had any problems waking up since then.

This looks promising, I'll give it a try.

Thanks.
replaytv
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 352
Threads: 22
Joined: Oct 2004
#9
2007-10-05, 06:09 PM
http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?t=28125


try pvruser method in this thread. It will handle multi-recordings.
Dell Dual Core 6400 XP Pro, PVR500, HVR-1600, MVPs on Belkin wireless bridge
gkovacsp
Offline

Member

Posts: 62
Threads: 15
Joined: Mar 2007
#10
2007-10-06, 08:21 AM
gkovacsp Wrote:This looks promising, I'll give it a try.

Thanks.

Seems to work like a charm, thanks a million.
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Pages (2): 1 2 Next »


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  GBPVR will not wake up XP computer from sleep keith_leitch 8 4,770 2011-10-10, 08:26 PM
Last Post: keith_leitch
  custom task overlay issue robert2011 13 5,337 2011-04-15, 08:06 AM
Last Post: stustunz
  Zero byte recordings on wake up to record bcchgeneral 3 1,989 2010-07-16, 07:20 AM
Last Post: bcchgeneral
  Wake.cmd and fse with Win7 shrek 2 1,566 2010-05-24, 09:31 PM
Last Post: shrek
  NAS/Disk hibernation/spindown NZ_DAC 6 2,490 2010-04-16, 07:43 AM
Last Post: NZ_DAC
  PC doesn't wake up sometimes aesn5 15 4,271 2010-03-18, 09:52 PM
Last Post: aesn5
  Some Custom Tasks don't hide GBPVR ydekmekji 6 2,063 2010-01-19, 04:58 PM
Last Post: ydekmekji
  Hiding the cmd window from wake.cmd Stargrove1 7 2,345 2009-12-04, 06:00 AM
Last Post: Stargrove1
  GBPVR not scheduling PC to wake up from Sleep twinfrey 1 1,187 2009-11-29, 02:22 AM
Last Post: sub
  How to get EPG from DVB-S by automatic wake up houndini 4 1,801 2009-11-23, 10:31 PM
Last Post: houndini

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode