NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public NextPVR Other Clients Old Stuff (legacy) MVP & NMT MVPMCX2 and other NMT stuff v
« Previous 1 … 13 14 15 16 17 … 37 Next »
fixing overscan

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
fixing overscan
steveum
Offline

Member

Posts: 244
Threads: 43
Joined: Feb 2007
#1
2009-12-30, 08:31 PM
I am trying to understand how to use the MVPWidth/MVPHeight/MVPOffsetX/MVPOffsetY settings in the config.xml file to correct an overscan issue. My current settings are as follows:

Code:
<MVPWidth>1280</MVPWidth>
      <MVPHeight>720</MVPHeight>
      <MVPOffsetX>0</MVPOffsetX>
      <MVPOffsetY>0</MVPOffsetY>

I am using the built in slick skin on a 16x9 TV that has a 1080i native mode. It is an older rear projection TV. The text on some of the menus is being cut off. For example, on the video library, the first character in each video name is trimmed off.

I gather from search posts that these settings need to be multiple of 4s. The part that is not clear to me if I set each of the offsets to 20, would I need to reduce the height and width by 20 too?
Windows 7 Premium 32-Bit, Intel i5 750, ASUS P7P55D, 4gb ram, ATI RADEON HD 4550, 5 sata drives, HVR2250, HDPVR, COMSKIP, PCH A100, EGreat 34a, VideoReDo, SA 4240HDC
mvallevand
Offline

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,850
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#2
2009-12-30, 10:50 PM (This post was last modified: 2009-12-30, 10:56 PM by mvallevand.)
Hi, steveum, unfortunately this is one of those undocumented pieces of GBPVR that I've had to guess at, and sub's examples for the MVP don't make it any clearer.

The rule of 4 is absolute (one byte each for RGBA) and I think it is best to double the X and Y offset and subtract that from Width and Height to centre the screen.

For the past week I've puzzled over how to do this and the following method seems to best way to determine how much overscan you have. You would have to edit the baseline.xml file that is in the root of the blue skin and look at the title on the GBPVR screen as your guide.

The key one for me is the loc="5,5" in this setting.

Code:
<DrawText text="@screenName" loc="5,5" size="100,100" TextStyle="ScreenNameStyle" align="Left"/>

Say the title in the TV guide is getting cut off on the top or left, keep adding 1 to the values until you can see it perfectly. Subtract the original origin of 5 to get the percentage value to set adjusting for the 4x rule.

As an example if you find that "8,6" works you need to have an offset of 3% of 1280 and 1% of 720 (put loc back to 5,5 too).

This values for this are

<MVPWidth>1200</MVPWidth>
<MVPHeight>704</MVPHeight>
<MVPOffsetX>40</MVPOffsetX>
<MVPOffsetY>8</MVPOffsetY>

This assumes that the skin developers followed sub's lead of assuming 5% overscan.

Martin
ACTCMS
Offline

Posting Freak

UK
Posts: 2,730
Threads: 101
Joined: Jun 2007
#3
2009-12-30, 11:33 PM
steveum Wrote:The part that is not clear to me if I set each of the offsets to 20, would I need to reduce the height and width by 20 too?
You would need to reduce the height and width by 2*20.

mvallevand Wrote:As an example if you find that "8,6" works you need to have an offset of 3% of 1280 and 1% of 720 (put loc back to 5,5 too).

This values for this are

<MVPWidth>1200</MVPWidth>
<MVPHeight>704</MVPHeight>
<MVPOffsetX>40</MVPOffsetX>
<MVPOffsetY>8</MVPOffsetY>
From Martin's example you can see that 1200 + 2*40 = 1280 and 704 + 2*8 = 720

Alex
pBS
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 4,829
Threads: 182
Joined: Aug 2005
#4
2009-12-31, 01:26 AM (This post was last modified: 2009-12-31, 02:18 AM by pBS.)
that's a great explanation... Big Grin
i like the title adjustment key too..thanx for that tip.
[my tv has about 10%! overscan...grr...can't adjust it, but timeline etc. just fits..]
even the video is overscanned by 10%...

SSteveum, what tv do you have? i bet it's like mine..toshiba 55" 1080i with no hd tuner in it..
Hardware: HDHR Prime, HDPVR 1212, Raspberry pi2, VFD display w/LCDSmartie
OrakelJos
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 621
Threads: 17
Joined: May 2005
#5
2009-12-31, 03:54 PM
The MVPScreenPosition plugin still works also on the NMT's! That is what I use to get the right values.
[SIZE="1"]LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch[/SIZE]
pBS
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 4,829
Threads: 182
Joined: Aug 2005
#6
2009-12-31, 08:20 PM
my problem is, when i go past a certain point, my tv magically resizes entire screen to a different mode..so i can't go very far without a complete resolution change..

but i'm ok with how it is now...just enough to see all the important stuff..
Hardware: HDHR Prime, HDPVR 1212, Raspberry pi2, VFD display w/LCDSmartie
steveum
Offline

Member

Posts: 244
Threads: 43
Joined: Feb 2007
#7
2010-01-01, 08:04 PM
Thanks for the explanation. It makes better sense to me now. I can't try it out yet, but I will in the next few days. I like the fact this setting is on per NMT client basis. I have two NMT units now (PCH A100 and now a egreat m34a), adjusting it here should not affect my other TV which does have an overscan issue.

In regards to my TV, it is 6 year 46" sony. It is a CRT rear projection without any HDTV tuner. It is really heavy.
Windows 7 Premium 32-Bit, Intel i5 750, ASUS P7P55D, 4gb ram, ATI RADEON HD 4550, 5 sata drives, HVR2250, HDPVR, COMSKIP, PCH A100, EGreat 34a, VideoReDo, SA 4240HDC
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)



  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode