NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public Add-ons (3rd party plugins, utilities and skins) v
« Previous 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 … 20 Next »
hy is there a way to use an LCD or VFD (2x16 or 4x40 chars) in NPVR

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
hy is there a way to use an LCD or VFD (2x16 or 4x40 chars) in NPVR
tto
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 3
Joined: Feb 2016
#1
2016-02-10, 09:11 PM
Is there a way to use an LCD or VFD (2x16 or 4x40 chars) in NPVR

I want to see the actions made by NPVR whitout to start my TV.

So it would be fine to see the recording that was ongoing, or see how many tuners are used....


Thanks and Regards tto
mvallevand
Offline

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,768
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#2
2016-02-10, 09:46 PM
tto Wrote:Is there a way to use an LCD or VFD (2x16 or 4x40 chars) in NPVR

I want to see the actions made by NPVR whitout to start my TV.

So it would be fine to see the recording that was ongoing, or see how many tuners are used....


Thanks and Regards tto

Does this from NEWA help http://127.0.0.1:8866/public/services/InfoXML.aspx help? If your need more info maybe it could be expanded upon by UJB

Martin
stustunz
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 5,111
Threads: 112
Joined: Oct 2006
#3
2016-02-11, 05:34 AM
Have a look at LCD smartie, it may not be exactly what you want
[SIZE="1"]Specs[/SIZE]
[SIZE="1"]Server:Cpu-Intel i3,ATI Radeon HD 5670 ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram. 2xHvr4400,Nova-s plus(dvb-s SD),hvr2210(dvb-t HD)[/SIZE]
[SIZE="1"]Client:Cpu-AMD am2,Gpu-Ati HD2100 integrated ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram[/SIZE]
[SIZE="1"]Client:Cpu Intel 2 gig ram ,Nvidia 9400[/SIZE]
[SIZE="1"]ClientTongueopcorn Hour A110[/SIZE]
[SIZE="1"]Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2012]BD-E5900x2 [/SIZE]
[SIZE="1"]Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2013]BD-F6500 [/SIZE]
mvallevand
Offline

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,768
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#4
2016-02-11, 12:21 PM
mvallevand Wrote:Does this from NEWA help http://127.0.0.1:8866/public/services/InfoXML.aspx help? If your need more info maybe it could be expanded upon by UJB

Martin

Sorry for my earlier post it got truncated, I somehow skipped my first line telling you to look for iMONVFD plugin which I believe works with NextPVR. I think I compiled something for pbs. I mentioned NEWA if you wanted to expand on it


Martin
liteswap
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 713
Threads: 70
Joined: Aug 2006
#5
2016-04-28, 11:19 AM
Good luck if you get it working. I've had a number of goes at this over the years and it's safe to say that it's complicated: nothing works as you expect, or even as whatever documentation exists suggests it should. I gave up in the end - more hassle than the outcome was worth. But if you get it working, be sure to let us know!
- Silent client PVR: HDPlex HS.1 aluminium fanless case / Thin-ITX ASRock H81TM-ITX motherboard / Intel Celeron 1850T CPU / 4GB RAM / 120GB SSD / TBS6982 DBS-S2 [SIZE=1]dual-tuner card / Win10+nPVR+Plex Media Player feeding LG OLED55B6V + Anthem MRX510 AV Receiver / PMC GB1 / B&W / REL speakers.
- Noisy NAS: Xeon / Intel mobo / 16GB RAM / FreeNAS + Ubuntu VMs on VMware ESXi + 12TB RAID
[/SIZE] running Plex Media Server

W3bbo
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 49
Threads: 16
Joined: Jan 2014
#6
2016-05-03, 11:12 AM
I used to use LCDSmartie to populate a VFD on my old Antec Fusion case to display what was currently being recorded by NPVR which worked quite well. This was achieved using the parallelprocessing, postprocessing and postcancel batch files to update a text file that was picked up by LCDSmartie.

Not sure if I still have the files as I lost the VFD when I moved to an Intel NUC as a server but will have a look this evening and post if I can find them.
W3bbo
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 49
Threads: 16
Joined: Jan 2014
#7
2016-05-05, 10:07 AM
Unfortunately I no longer have a copy of the scripts as I have completely rebuilt the server since I changed case but from memory the process was something like as shown in the code snippets below. Note that I've re-created these from memory so some debugging and customising for a specific VFD would be required.

Very, Very crude and there are much better ways of doing it - but it did work!

parallelprocessing.bat
Code:
@echo off
set show=%5
set show=%show:"=%
echo "Temp" >"c:\scripts\rec\%show%.`"
call c:\scripts\vfd.bat

postprocessing.bat
Code:
@echo off
set show=%5
set show=%show:"=%
if exist "c:\scripts\rec\%show%.`" del "c:\scripts\rec\%show%.`"
call c:\scripts\vfd.bat

postcancel.bat
Code:
@echo off
set show=%5
set show=%show:"=%
if exist "c:\scripts\rec\%show%.`" del "c:\scripts\rec\%show%.`"
call c:\scripts\vfd.bat

VFD.bat
Code:
@echo off
if exist c:\scripts\list.tmp del c:\scripts\list.tmp
if exist c:\scripts\rec\*.* dir /b c:\scripts\rec\*.* >c:\scripts\list.tmp
set VFD=Recording:
if not exist c:\scripts\list.tmp goto norec
for /f "delims=`" %%i in (c:\scripts\list.tmp) do call :process "%%i"
if "%VFD%"=="Recording: " goto norec
goto updatevfd

:norec
set VFD=Idle
goto updatevfd

:updatevfd
:: Insert Code Here to Update specifc VFD using text in %VFD%
echo %VFD%
goto end

:process
set prog=%1
set prog=%prog:"=%
set VFD=%VFD%  %prog%
goto end

:end

The only other bits I can think to add is a nightly job to clear out the "rec" folder to prevent orphaned entries from a crash persisting and also a filter to remove any potential illegal characters in the show title that could cause issues as a file name.
jdauthre
Offline

Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2015
#8
2016-06-19, 01:38 PM
I am also wanting to use a LCD diplay via LCD Smartie, it seems I need a imonvfd utility/plugin, however whilst there are threads about it, none seem to have it for download, the most recent being:
http://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php...ease/page2 in 2011 which says the download is at the bottom of the page but it isn't, and a very old GBPVR one:
http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Utility/IMONVFD 2007 which has a download link but can't be used unless you log in to GBPVR but there is now way to register on that forum now, and the NEXTPVR login doesn't work on that.
the other plugin that crops up is externaldisplay, but I cant find a download link for that either! (or am I missing something?)
Hope someone can help!
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Update NPVR Database with UniqueID element using NextTool ChrisHammond56 7 1,940 2022-08-18, 03:29 AM
Last Post: sub
  VideoConduit - Standalone App to Import Lost TV Recordings into NPVR 27InchSony 54 23,767 2021-12-29, 10:08 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  Npvr and IR Blaster Buddha B 11 5,858 2018-11-13, 06:16 PM
Last Post: sub
  System Plugin Confused by New NPVR Naming Scheme Lao Pan 1 2,641 2016-09-25, 08:26 AM
Last Post: imilne
  Unified Remote (Android) NPVR custom remote. fuzzweed 5 7,543 2016-08-10, 01:52 AM
Last Post: baj1
  Network Recorder with more than 1 NPVR (how to)? SFX Group 9 5,924 2016-03-03, 05:57 PM
Last Post: UncT
  NPVR to XBMC File Renaming Utility craigrs84 6 4,688 2014-10-03, 02:59 PM
Last Post: tron999
  mc2xml data changing channels (frequencies) cause nPVR TV Guide discrepancies eskimoquin 3 3,730 2014-09-19, 02:14 AM
Last Post: mvallevand
  what comskip file does npvr use? jam_zhou 1 1,876 2014-08-19, 06:15 PM
Last Post: mulletback
  System Plugin EPG update crashes NPVR Lao Pan 3 3,699 2014-02-23, 04:40 PM
Last Post: imilne

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode