NextPVR Forums
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public Hardware v
« Previous 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 … 261 Next »
Improve reliability of STB channel changing?

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Improve reliability of STB channel changing?
jksmurf
Offline

Posting Freak

HK (DMBTH)
Posts: 3,590
Threads: 410
Joined: Jul 2005
#21
2019-03-17, 01:41 PM
Graham Wrote:I'm not sure what you are doing with batch file names ... You give examples of files called bat1.bat and bat2.bat but the batch file "start"ed by bat1.bat is called GXPC4312H_UUTX.bat
true but that notation was simply for expedience in this explanation; I have the names correctly configured on my NPVR server.

Will try your other suggestions too

Cheers Graham,

k.
ASUS STRIX X470-F AMD 2700x 4GHz | Win10Prox64 | 32GB | NVIDIA GEforce GT1030 Fanless | WinTV DMB-TH | WinTV HVR-1280 | Hauppauge Colossus | AC86U/AC68U | USB-UIRT | RPi4 Libreelec | Sony Bravia LCD X9000F Android TV |
jksmurf
Offline

Posting Freak

HK (DMBTH)
Posts: 3,590
Threads: 410
Joined: Jul 2005
#22
2019-03-17, 01:45 PM
mvallevand Wrote:Since -f means filename and you don't change directories in your batch file you would need to add the path before the filename when you call this

-fGXPC4312H.ir

Martin

Code:
C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\uutx.exe -r3 -s50 -fC:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\GXPC4312H.ir %ChDigit1%

Assuming the ir def file is the chanChg dir something like this?
Or in quotes ?
Code:
C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\uutx.exe -r3 -s50 -f”C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\GXPC4312H.ir” %ChDigit1%
ASUS STRIX X470-F AMD 2700x 4GHz | Win10Prox64 | 32GB | NVIDIA GEforce GT1030 Fanless | WinTV DMB-TH | WinTV HVR-1280 | Hauppauge Colossus | AC86U/AC68U | USB-UIRT | RPi4 Libreelec | Sony Bravia LCD X9000F Android TV |
Graham
Offline

Posting Freak

UK
Posts: 4,060
Threads: 102
Joined: Dec 2005
#23
2019-03-17, 01:50 PM
jksmurf Wrote:
Code:
C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\uutx.exe -r3 -s50 -fC:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\GXPC4312H.ir %ChDigit1%

Assuming the ir def file is the chanChg dir something like this?
Or in quotes ?
Code:
C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\uutx.exe -r3 -s50 -f”C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\GXPC4312H.ir” %ChDigit1%

It might be simpler to put ... CD C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\ ... at the top of any and all batch files (immediately after the ECHO).
jksmurf
Offline

Posting Freak

HK (DMBTH)
Posts: 3,590
Threads: 410
Joined: Jul 2005
#24
2019-03-18, 02:19 AM
sub Wrote:No.

When you setup a blaster in NextPVR you can specify the executable to run and any command line parameters to pass to the executable. You can make that command line anything you need to. Before running the executable though, NextPVR replace {channel} in the parameters with the channel number, and it'll replace {channel_d1}, {channel_d2}... {channel_d4} with a digit. The executable never actually sees these {token} type parameters, they are replaced by numbers prior to the executable being run.

Thank you all and I have amended the batch files to take these into account.

Hi sub,

While I feel it is close, it seems to be struggling with the input, associated with my earlier query about {channel_d1}{channel_d2} etc above. In the command window I can make the channel change work with GXPC4312H_StarterUUTX.bat calling (starting) GXPC4312H_UUTX.bat as along as I put spaces between the numbers i.e.

GXPC4312H_StarterUUTX.bat 3 2 5.

If I do not put spaces i.e. just GXPC4312H_StarterUUTX.bat 325 then nothing happens (in the command window), same behaviour as in NextPVR.

I understand {channel} would pass the executable the number (Ch.) 325. However I thought that {channel_d1}{channel_d2}{channel_d2} would pass the executable 3 discrete numbers? If my bat wants 3 parameters, %1, %2, %3 these have to be separated as arguments. In my situation {channel_d1}{channel_d2}{channel_d3} do not seem to have been passed to the batch file as separate arguments whereby {channel_d1}=>%1, {channel_d2}=>%2,{channel_d3}=>%3. Is my understanding that these are separate arguments correct?

If so, how would I make them 3 discrete numbers, rather than the single number 325?

Apologies for pestering you again sub, but I have read a truckload about arguments being passed to batch files, here I just need to understand what NextPVR is doing as the parameter-passing behaviour is not as I understood.

Cheers

k.
ASUS STRIX X470-F AMD 2700x 4GHz | Win10Prox64 | 32GB | NVIDIA GEforce GT1030 Fanless | WinTV DMB-TH | WinTV HVR-1280 | Hauppauge Colossus | AC86U/AC68U | USB-UIRT | RPi4 Libreelec | Sony Bravia LCD X9000F Android TV |
sub
Offline

Administrator

NextPVR HQ, New Zealand
Posts: 102,401
Threads: 741
Joined: Nov 2003
#25
2019-03-18, 03:05 AM
jksmurf Wrote:I understand {channel} would pass the executable the number (Ch.) 325. However I thought that {channel_d1}{channel_d2}{channel_d2} would pass the executable 3 discrete numbers?
Yes, but you'd need space between them.

if you set the args to:
{channel_d1} {channel_d2} {channel_d2}

then you'll get:
3 2 5

If you use no spaces
{channel_d1}{channel_d2}{channel_d2}

then you'll still get the separate digits, but with no spaces between them:
325
jksmurf
Offline

Posting Freak

HK (DMBTH)
Posts: 3,590
Threads: 410
Joined: Jul 2005
#26
2019-03-18, 03:53 AM
Success!

Oh my goodness. Thank you sub, champion. (I had to use d2 d3 d4 without d1 but that's all good).

btw thanks for that Import Channels function to import from XML as I can do a Search Replace in the XML to test the Channel Changer arguments :-).

k.
ASUS STRIX X470-F AMD 2700x 4GHz | Win10Prox64 | 32GB | NVIDIA GEforce GT1030 Fanless | WinTV DMB-TH | WinTV HVR-1280 | Hauppauge Colossus | AC86U/AC68U | USB-UIRT | RPi4 Libreelec | Sony Bravia LCD X9000F Android TV |
Graham
Offline

Posting Freak

UK
Posts: 4,060
Threads: 102
Joined: Dec 2005
#27
2019-03-18, 11:07 AM
jksmurf Wrote:Success!

We have been left hanging Smile

Please show us the finished batch file(s).
jksmurf
Offline

Posting Freak

HK (DMBTH)
Posts: 3,590
Threads: 410
Joined: Jul 2005
#28
2019-03-18, 11:52 AM
Graham Wrote:We have been left hanging Smile

Please show us the finished batch file(s).

GXPC4312H_StarterUUTX.bat
Code:
REM
CD C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\
REM
start "" /REALTIME /B GXPC4312H_UUTX_Priority.bat %1 %2 %3
REM EXIT
REM

GXPC4312H_UUTX_Priority.bat
Code:
@echo on
REM
CD C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\
REM
uutx.exe -r2 -s10 -fGXPC4312H.ir %1
uutx.exe -r2 -s10 -fGXPC4312H.ir %2
uutx.exe -r2 -s10 -fGXPC4312H.ir %3
@echo off
REM EXIT
REM

But the success was all down to that setting in the ChannelChanger

Exec: C:\Users\Public\NPVR\ChanChg\GXPC4312H_StarterUUTX.bat
Arguments: {channel_d2} {channel_d3} {channel_d4}

Note:

  1. The SPACE between {channel_d2} {channel_d3} {channel_d4} - it did NOT work with NO Space.
  2. The use of d2 d3 and d4 for a 3 channel number set

k :-)
ASUS STRIX X470-F AMD 2700x 4GHz | Win10Prox64 | 32GB | NVIDIA GEforce GT1030 Fanless | WinTV DMB-TH | WinTV HVR-1280 | Hauppauge Colossus | AC86U/AC68U | USB-UIRT | RPi4 Libreelec | Sony Bravia LCD X9000F Android TV |
mvallevand
Offline

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 45,343
Threads: 867
Joined: May 2006
#29
2019-03-18, 04:10 PM
From the looks of things you should skip GXPC4312H_StarterUUTX.bat altogether, it does nothing except cause problems. Using the start command to run another batch file makes no sense for tuning. The first batch file will complete and report back to NRecord that it is finished when it may not have. Running with realtime priority should be avoided too but you probably did this to reduce the chance of the "start" problem.

Martin
Graham
Offline

Posting Freak

UK
Posts: 4,060
Threads: 102
Joined: Dec 2005
#30
2019-03-18, 05:06 PM
mvallevand Wrote:From the looks of things you should skip GXPC4312H_StarterUUTX.bat altogether, it does nothing except cause problems.

Agreed ... uutx.exe is doing something so trivial that it is not likely that it will benefit from the "realtime" (or any other) boost that comes from the START command.
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Pages (4): « Previous 1 2 3 4 Next »


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Add Colossus as a Single Channel source txinga 4 909 2022-01-04, 08:51 PM
Last Post: txinga
  Global Cache Channel Changer (IR Blaster) Executable jksmurf 0 1,686 2019-03-18, 08:07 AM
Last Post: jksmurf
  Channel export/import with capture device change ga_mueller 9 3,457 2016-10-24, 01:07 AM
Last Post: sub
  Channel changing a UK SKY HD+ (sky make) via hauppauge colossus 2 IR Blaster TheWiFiWizard 13 6,714 2016-09-13, 09:06 AM
Last Post: martint123
  AutoIt3 program to change channel with WinLIRC drake3 0 1,926 2016-03-02, 03:47 AM
Last Post: drake3
  Copy-Once and Copy-Freely by stream/program or channel? Lone_Stranger 10 5,348 2015-09-13, 12:15 AM
Last Post: sub
  HDPVR cannot change channel adc 8 4,123 2014-07-27, 02:40 AM
Last Post: sub
  Direct TV & IP Channel Changing smajor 2 1,543 2013-11-13, 03:12 PM
Last Post: smajor
  Channel changer? (which are good and small). SFX Group 2 1,460 2012-06-13, 11:06 PM
Last Post: JonnyCam
  Changing channels on a Motorola box via serial ls2 45 12,703 2012-03-29, 07:56 PM
Last Post: Jie

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode