NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public Developers v
« Previous 1 … 12 13 14 15 16 … 93 Next »
Roku & GBPVR

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roku & GBPVR
pvruser
Offline

Member

Posts: 230
Threads: 42
Joined: May 2007
#1
2010-11-30, 06:43 AM (This post was last modified: 2011-10-16, 08:26 PM by pvruser.)
I've decided to get on the Roku/Netflix bandwagon and found a simple way of using it as a GBPVR frontend too. The script should work for both GBPVR & NPVR. I'm hoping it will help someone enjoy their Roku even more!

*** NOTE: the attached file contains a bundle of my latest setup with brief instructions ***

first follow the instructions here, setup apache and prepare to load the application onto the Roku: http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/ROKU_HD_Frontend

next set up perl and copy roku.pl & RokuSettings.pm into the cgi-bin folder of the apache (see attached zip file). Update RokuSettings.pm with your DB path & version.

enable apache to execute scripts in the httpd.conf:
Quote:Options Indexes FollowSymLinks ExecCGI

create an alias for your DVR directory in apache:
Quote:Alias /dvr "O:/temp/dvr"


<Directory "O:/temp/dvr">
Options All
AllowOverride Options
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>

for multiple ROKU boxes you need to install the h264_streaming_module in apache to allow multiple streams:
Quote:LoadModule h264_streaming_module modules/mod_h264_streaming.so

in the mime section add:
Quote: AddHandler h264-streaming.extensions .mp4

if you want subtitles and BIF ("trick") files then update file mythtv.brs from roku.zip in function GetEpisodeDetail like this:

Quote: item.StreamFormat = "mp4"

item.SubtitleUrl = records[0]@srt_url
item.HDBifUrl = records[0]@bif_hd_url
item.SDBifUrl = records[0]@bif_sd_url

item.IsHD = true

finally update the config.brs in the roku.zip to point to your apache/gbpvr server:
Quote:Function GetScriptURL() As String
return "http://192.168.x.x/cgi-bin/roku.pl"
End Function

update the roku.zip archive from the above wiki page with this config file, load the application onto the Roku and make sure you have appropriate mp4 files to play.

set up a scheduled task with makebifsub.bat (edit for the correct paths). this will make the bif index files which allow forward/rewind.

if no files are found make sure you have apache (httpd) running and you set up a firewall exception on port 80 for your LAN only like this: 192.168.0.0/255.255.0.0 and test it from another PC on your network (if available)

Enjoy!Smile
GBPVR 1.4.7
3 x HVR-950Q USB OTA ATSC HD TUNER
T2250 @ 2.5 GB RAM + ASUS Moca-AR Calcite
Roku HD + XD
Azimuth
Offline

Member

Posts: 225
Threads: 47
Joined: Oct 2006
#2
2010-12-02, 04:05 AM
This is AWESOME! I must say I am far less than impressed with the entire NMT platform and if I could run NPVR from some other hardware, I'd drop my NMT's in a heartbeat. A Sony BD-Live plugin would be the cool too.
[SIZE="1"]SuperMicro PDSME+ Core2Duo 2.40GHz 6.0GB Ram | HD Homerun | (4) NMT | GB-PVR v1.5.21 | Windows 7 Enterprise x64[/SIZE]
pvruser
Offline

Member

Posts: 230
Threads: 42
Joined: May 2007
#3
2010-12-02, 04:15 AM
Azimuth Wrote:This is AWESOME! I must say I am far less than impressed with the entire NMT platform and if I could run NPVR from some other hardware, I'd drop my NMT's in a heartbeat. A Sony BD-Live plugin would be the cool too.

i've been bored for a few days and was looking for a way to play my DVR on my Roku...
GBPVR 1.4.7
3 x HVR-950Q USB OTA ATSC HD TUNER
T2250 @ 2.5 GB RAM + ASUS Moca-AR Calcite
Roku HD + XD
pvruser
Offline

Member

Posts: 230
Threads: 42
Joined: May 2007
#4
2010-12-02, 04:42 AM (This post was last modified: 2010-12-22, 05:54 AM by pvruser.)
Since i got a second ROKU now i made some changes to accomodate both of them. One box is running SD for an old TV, the other is HD so i've updated the perl script in the first post.

Also here are my settings for conversion to mp4:

* Re-encode my existing avi files:

Quote:".\Third Party\HandBrakeCLI\HandBrakeCLI.exe" -i %1 -o "%~dpn1.mp4" -b 1500 -B 128 -R 48 -w 720 -Y 480 -O -r 29.97 --crop 0:0:0:0 --loose-anamorphic

* Transcode new recordings while keeping the orginal broadcast aspect ratio (16:9, 4:3)
Quote:".\Third Party\HandBrakeCLI\HandBrakeCLI.exe" -i %1 -o "%~dpn1temp.mp4" -b 1500 -B 128 -R 48 -w 720 -Y 480 -O -r 29.97 -d --crop 5:5:0:0 --loose-anamorphic >> "logs\%~n1handbrk.log" 2>&1

* Transcode new 720p and remove the side bars to end up with SD (4:3)
Quote:".\Third Party\HandBrakeCLI\HandBrakeCLI.exe" -i %1 -o "%~dpn1temp.mp4" -b 1500 -B 128 -R 48 -w 720 -Y 480 -O -r 29.97 -d --crop 5:5:165:165 --loose-anamorphic >> "logs\%~n1handbrk.log" 2>&1

* Transcode new 1080i and remove the side bars to end up with SD (4:3)
Quote:".\Third Party\HandBrakeCLI\HandBrakeCLI.exe" -i %1 -o "%~dpn1temp.mp4" -b 1500 -B 128 -R 48 -w 720 -Y 480 -O -r 29.97 -d --crop 5:5:250:250 --loose-anamorphic >> "logs\%~n1handbrk.log" 2>&1

* Transcode new 480i and remove the upper/lower bars when a widescreen movie is broadcast on an SD channel to end up with a (fake) HD-looking (16:9) picture that shows better on the roku (obviously the resolution won't be HD)
Quote:".\Third Party\HandBrakeCLI\HandBrakeCLI.exe" -i %1 -o "%~dpn1temp.mp4" -b 1500 -B 128 -R 48 -w 720 -Y 400 -O -r 29.97 -d --crop 60:60:0:0 --loose-anamorphic >> "logs\%~n1handbrk.log" 2>&1

I'm quite happy with the result, although i do miss the ability to see the guide and watch/timeshift live tv or even delete recordings using the ROKU.
GBPVR 1.4.7
3 x HVR-950Q USB OTA ATSC HD TUNER
T2250 @ 2.5 GB RAM + ASUS Moca-AR Calcite
Roku HD + XD
mvallevand
Offline

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,865
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#5
2010-12-02, 10:19 PM
Azimuth Wrote:This is AWESOME! I must say I am far less than impressed with the entire NMT platform and if I could run NPVR from some other hardware, I'd drop my NMT's in a heartbeat.

I wish people would help other NMT users by posting questions and logs in the mvpmcx2 forums rather than making these drive-by remarks. After all I do consider users part of the testing and Q/A team.

The NMT's are certainly not perfect, neither is a $1500 PC, but you should not have too many problems playing back HD or SD recordings or live tv when things are configured properly.

Martin
pvruser
Offline

Member

Posts: 230
Threads: 42
Joined: May 2007
#6
2010-12-12, 10:02 PM (This post was last modified: 2011-10-16, 08:42 PM by pvruser.)
if you want to create BIF trick files (used when going into FF/REW mode on the Roku) here's my sample batch file. this will give you a "Netflix" like experience. you'll need to download the free SDK from ROKU in order to get biftool, i can't publish it here due to copyright...

Quote:@echo off
set gbpvr_dir=%ProgramFiles%\devnz\gbpvr

pushd %1

rem get mp4 files but exclude temp files
for /F "tokens=*" %%i in ('dir /a:-d /b /s /o:d %1\*.mp4 ^| findstr /v /i /r /c:"temp\.mp4$"') do call :makebif "%%i"
rem for /F "tokens=*" %%i in ('dir /a /b /s /o:d %1\*.mpg') do call :reencode "%%i"

popd


:makebif
rem avoid touching directories or other non-mp4 stuff
if "%~x1" NEQ ".mp4" (
echo NOT an extension!
goto end
)

if exist "%~dpn1_sd.bif" if exist "%~dpn1_hd.bif" (
echo already processed bif exist
goto end
)

mkdir "%~dpn1_sd"
mkdir "%~dpn1_hd"

start /wait "sd conv" /belownormal /i "%gbpvr_dir%\Third Party\ffmpeg\ffmpeg.exe" -i %1 -r .1 -s 240x180 "%~dpn1_sd\%%08d.jpg"

start /wait "hd conv" /belownormal /i "%gbpvr_dir%\Third Party\ffmpeg\ffmpeg.exe" -i %1 -r .1 -s 320x240 "%~dpn1_hd\%%08d.jpg"

pushd "%~dp1"

"%gbpvr_dir%\Third Party\Roku\biftool.exe" -t 10000 "%~dpn1_sd"
"%gbpvr_dir%\Third Party\Roku\biftool.exe" -t 10000 "%~dpn1_hd"

popd

rmdir /s /q "%~dpn1_sd"
rmdir /s /q "%~dpn1_hd"

ping -n 3 127.0.0.1

goto end

:end
GBPVR 1.4.7
3 x HVR-950Q USB OTA ATSC HD TUNER
T2250 @ 2.5 GB RAM + ASUS Moca-AR Calcite
Roku HD + XD
pvruser
Offline

Member

Posts: 230
Threads: 42
Joined: May 2007
#7
2010-12-12, 10:02 PM (This post was last modified: 2011-10-16, 08:41 PM by pvruser.)
** placeholder, code was obsolete **
GBPVR 1.4.7
3 x HVR-950Q USB OTA ATSC HD TUNER
T2250 @ 2.5 GB RAM + ASUS Moca-AR Calcite
Roku HD + XD
Snooze
Offline

Posting Freak

Posts: 905
Threads: 26
Joined: Feb 2009
#8
2010-12-16, 03:03 AM
So what Roku did you do this with... the HD? I bought my Dad an XD and wondered if it should work on that too?
[SIZE="1"]Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R, Win8, Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz, 6 GB (2GBx2, 1GBx2) DDR2 800, GIGABYTE GV-N220OC-1GI Video, CM Real Power Pro 550 Watt PS, HVR-2250 & HVR-1600 analog/Clear QAM, Realtek S/PDIF, Harmony 880 in MCE remote mode w/ Gestion LM Remote Keymap.
NPVR 2.5.9 (SAF6) Cyberlink video & LAV/ffdshow Audio Filters. Skin=Default Horizontal
Plugins: Weather
External Apps: XBMC, Hulu, Boxee, Winamp
Utilities:Comskip[/SIZE]
pvruser
Offline

Member

Posts: 230
Threads: 42
Joined: May 2007
#9
2010-12-21, 03:49 AM
Snooze Wrote:So what Roku did you do this with... the HD? I bought my Dad an XD and wondered if it should work on that too?

i have both the HD and XD, one is set to output SD on my old tube TV, the other is set to HD on my HDTV. the handbrake transcoding formulas in my post will set the correct final size for the Roku to display on both TVs.
GBPVR 1.4.7
3 x HVR-950Q USB OTA ATSC HD TUNER
T2250 @ 2.5 GB RAM + ASUS Moca-AR Calcite
Roku HD + XD
mkenyon2
Offline

Senior Member

Posts: 715
Threads: 208
Joined: Dec 2006
#10
2011-01-06, 07:06 PM
Wow... I accidentally ordered a Roku, and like it. However, I can't get my local music and pics. This might do the trick.
Currently Running: 1.4.7
[SIZE="1"]HTPC:
Motherboard: ASUS P5LD2 Mobo w/ 945P chipset / CPU: Intel P4 3.0GHz
RAM: 3GB RAM / Video: ASUS Radeon X300SE 128Mb PCIx 16
Tuner(s): ATI TV 650 Dual (PCIx)
OS: Win XP Pro SP3[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"]Feeding:
2 - Wired MVP[/SIZE]
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Pages (2): 1 2 Next »


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  TitanTv Remote Schedule For GBPVR UncleJohnsBand 51 33,597 2015-08-20, 05:11 PM
Last Post: sub
  Roku channel for NPVR with Search & Schedule ioan 12 11,638 2013-03-31, 01:34 AM
Last Post: btpoole
  (Yet Another) Rename Helper script for GBPVR & NPVR pvruser 2 2,707 2011-07-22, 01:27 AM
Last Post: pvruser
  Live GBPVR CD/DVD/Thumb drive :D pBS 101 28,324 2010-01-03, 06:22 AM
Last Post: pBS
  some help on basic gbpvr plugin code Etacovda 12 4,609 2009-06-14, 08:24 PM
Last Post: Etacovda
  Linking gbpvr.db3 to Access 2003: get readonly tables Khurram 5 3,907 2008-09-11, 08:35 AM
Last Post: Khurram
  UAC and Vista with GBPVR systemshark 2 1,921 2008-08-03, 07:20 AM
Last Post: systemshark
  Controlling an Audio Receiver with the GBPVR remote erik 7 2,675 2008-06-01, 08:31 PM
Last Post: erik
  SkipTool, do you use the GBPVR SQLite database? mkenyon2 1 1,572 2008-04-21, 07:30 PM
Last Post: pastro
  GBPVR.Public.EventTypes ACTCMS 4 2,031 2008-04-11, 01:02 AM
Last Post: ACTCMS

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode