NextPVR Forums
  • ______
  • Home
  • New Posts
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
  • Register
  • Login
  • Home
  • Wiki
  • Members
  • Help
  • Search
NextPVR Forums Public NextPVR Support Windows v
« Previous 1 … 81 82 83 84 85 … 101 Next »
Extras device no longer works since upgrading to most recent NPVR build

 
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Extras device no longer works since upgrading to most recent NPVR build
gdogg371
Offline

Member

Posts: 149
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2018
#1
2020-06-08, 12:44 AM
As per the thread https://forums.nextpvr.com/showthread.php?tid=59499 I have set up an extras device that calls a batch script to encode raw video from a capture card using VLC. This has all been working fine, however since upgrading to the most recent version of NPVR, I cannot get a stream to play. The blaster part of my code is still functioning fine, however my VLC commands are no longer being called. I have a quick look through the logs and I kept seeing references to FFMPEG. 

The logs can be found here:

 https://filebin.ca/5PGRWjdWojRu

My batch file looks like this:

Code:
"G:\Visual Studio 2017\C++ Projects\SkyQChannelChanger\Release\SkyQChannelChanger.exe" %1

taskkill /f /im vlc.exe /t

"G:\VLC\vlc" --ffmpeg-hw --avcodec-hw=any dshow:// :dshow-vdev="Video (00 Pro Capture HDMI 4K+)" :dshow-adev="Audio (2- 00 Pro Capture HDMI 4K+)" :dshow-threads=8 :dshow-aspect-ratio=16\:9 :dshow-size="3840x2160" :dshow-pixel_format=yuv444p16le :dshow-tune=film :dshow-preset=lossless :dshow-profile=main10 show-vcodec=x265 :dshow-fps=50 :dshow-crf=0 :dshow-acodec=mp4a :dshow-stereo-mode=5 :dshow-force-surround-sound=0 :dshow-ab=128 :dshow-samplerate=44100 :no-dshow-config :live-caching=300 --sout "#transcode{venc=ffmpeg,vcodec=mp2v,threads=8,aspect=16:9,width=3840,height=2160,fps=50,acodec=a52,ab=1500,channels=2,samplerate=48000,soverlay}:standard{access=file,dst=-,mux=ts}"


And my extras file looks like this:

Code:
<extras>
<channel name="{channel-name}">
    <command>cmd</command>
    <args>/c C:\Users\Public\NPVR-data\scripts\ProCapture.bat {channel}</args>
</channel>
</extras>


Can someone please tell me what the issue is? If I've put all this effort in to get my extras device to work and now it suddenly won't I will be very upset...

Thanks
mvallevand
Online

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,823
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#2
2020-06-08, 12:51 AM
Your non standard choice of output for your extra is going to be a real problem for many players.

2020-06-08 01:31:31.251 [DEBUG][206] [FFMPEG]: Stream #0:0[0x64]: Video: mpeg2video (Main) ([2][0][0][0] / 0x0002), yuv420p(tv, progressive), 3840x2160 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 50 fps, 50 tbr, 90k tbn, 100 tbc
2020-06-08 01:31:31.251 [DEBUG][206] [FFMPEG]: Stream #0:1[0xc8]: Audio: ac3 (AC-3 / 0x332D4341), 48000 Hz, stereo, fltp, 640 kb/s

Consider h264/aac

Martin
gdogg371
Offline

Member

Posts: 149
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2018
#3
2020-06-08, 12:53 AM
...to expand upon this, previously as im still using VLC and not cVLC whilst in the development phase, when I'd select a channel on my extras device, three things would happen:

1 - The blaster .exe would change the channel on my STB
2 - Any open sessions of VLC would be killed.
3 - A new VLC session would open to encode the raw video from my capture card. This was then picked up by NPVR and appeared as a channel feed.

The last part is now no longer happening at all. VLC is not opening.
gdogg371
Offline

Member

Posts: 149
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2018
#4
2020-06-08, 12:58 AM
(2020-06-08, 12:51 AM)mvallevand Wrote: Your non standard choice of output for your extra is going to be a real problem for many players.

2020-06-08 01:31:31.251 [DEBUG][206] [FFMPEG]:    Stream #0:0[0x64]: Video: mpeg2video (Main) ([2][0][0][0] / 0x0002), yuv420p(tv, progressive), 3840x2160 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 50 fps, 50 tbr, 90k tbn, 100 tbc
2020-06-08 01:31:31.251 [DEBUG][206] [FFMPEG]:    Stream #0:1[0xc8]: Audio: ac3 (AC-3 / 0x332D4341), 48000 Hz, stereo, fltp, 640 kb/s

Consider h264/aac

Martin

I don't understand why VLC is no longer being opened. What now seems to happen is NPVR is playing a channel every now and again when it feels like it without VLC. The rest of the time nothing is happening. I don't get what is going on...
mvallevand
Online

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,823
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#5
2020-06-08, 01:01 AM (This post was last modified: 2020-06-08, 01:19 AM by mvallevand.)
NextPVR is seeing the media stream so you either sent the wrong logs or you aren't understanding how your extra is working or perhaps before you weren't running as a service before

Martin
gdogg371
Offline

Member

Posts: 149
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2018
#6
2020-06-08, 01:01 AM
(2020-06-08, 01:01 AM)mvallevand Wrote: NextPVR is seeing the media stream so you either sent the wrong logs or you aren't understanding how your extra is working or perhaps before you weren't running as a service.

Martin

What do you mean running as a service?
mvallevand
Online

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,823
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#7
2020-06-08, 01:03 AM
If you installed NextPVR with the installer it runs a service. If you are used to seeing VLC popping up that might be hidden.

Martin
gdogg371
Offline

Member

Posts: 149
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2018
#8
2020-06-08, 01:11 AM
(2020-06-08, 01:03 AM)mvallevand Wrote: If you installed NextPVR with the installer it runs a service.  If you are used to seeing VLC popping up that might be hidden.

Martin


Previously there was no installer. It was simply download a file, unpack it and then double click the npvrserver.exe. When I try that with this version via the installer I get an error. I can also see now that looking at task manager that VLC is now opening, but hidden. However it now only seems to play channels when it feels like it. How can I revert back to the old set up?
mvallevand
Online

Posting Freak

Ontario Canada
Posts: 52,823
Threads: 954
Joined: May 2006
#9
2020-06-08, 01:15 AM
Disable the NextPVR Service and start the old way.

Your personal project is taking too much of my time so I am not going to provide any more help. Good luck though

Martin
gdogg371
Offline

Member

Posts: 149
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2018
#10
2020-06-08, 01:28 AM
Before you withdraw factory support, I've uninstalled the new version of NPVR and rolled back to the old one and old way of working and it now works again. Are you saying on the new version if I kill the NPVR service in task manager and then run NPVRserver.exe as before, it should still work via this method?
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Pages (3): 1 2 3 Next »


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  NPVR Windows recordings folder cleanup.... Colincam 21 2,840 2025-04-16, 07:38 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  NextPVR client no longer works Rich A 13 605 2025-03-30, 10:04 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  Freezing/Buffering on Windows 11 (NPVR app only) nextpvrnoob 64 7,624 2025-02-21, 07:52 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  EPG No Longer Working - zap2xml SamM 11 1,462 2025-02-13, 11:00 PM
Last Post: SamM
  Help. IPTV audio. 1ch works. 1ch doesn't. w/examples+logs snard 6 435 2025-02-02, 10:11 PM
Last Post: snard
  NPVR No Longer Acessible From LAN 4zm4r3d02 2 274 2025-01-26, 04:35 PM
Last Post: 4zm4r3d02
  Starting Device:please wait JohnMark 14 813 2025-01-19, 02:24 PM
Last Post: mvallevand
  NPVR NOT in system tray now RichU 4 385 2025-01-05, 10:20 PM
Last Post: RichU
  Device does not start kevin939 2 490 2024-12-29, 05:52 PM
Last Post: kevin939
  cannot add new device sebjoan 13 861 2024-12-20, 09:05 PM
Last Post: sub

  • View a Printable Version
  • Subscribe to this thread
Forum Jump:

© Designed by D&D, modified by NextPVR - Powered by MyBB

Linear Mode
Threaded Mode